We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blind Booked this Hotel, the Reviews Made Us Nervous, GREAT Place”
Review of Baia di Puolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baia di Puolo
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Reviewed 19 May 2014

So we blind booked this hotel off from Hotwire, and when we got the name we looked up the reviews here. We were a bit put off by all the negative comments, but we were in for 3 nights.

The one one of the best hotels that we stayed in, and this trip included London, Paris, Venice, and Rome. I very seriously plan on coming back to this place in the future.

Now, its not a brand new Holiday Inn with all the exact same plastic items like every other one built. It is an old hotel with character and depth. We obviously didn't stay in every room, but i did go peek into several while the door were opened while they were cleaned. They all a fairly large well lit rooms with a view of the bay. We stayed in Room 608 which is outside the hotel up some stairs, and that room is great. You have double doors in the bedroom and bath that open on to your own balcony. Room has its own refrigerator and spacious bath.

Front desk is very friendly and excellent English, and will provide guidance if asked. Can't say enough about how welcoming everyone was.

Clean. Very clean. Even the bad reviews give them that.

The beach is a strip of black sand, fronted with pebbles. LIKE EVERY OTHER BEACH IN THE AREA. It is how they are. If you are looking for wide white sands you are geographically in the wrong place. I hate people who complain because they don't understand where they are. There are decks to sit on and changing rooms. It was early in the season when we were there, but I would guess it can get crowded judging by the amount of chairs that are available.

The only trick to this place is finding it the first time. Once you know where you are going, its like you are in on the secret and works to your advantage. We came at night, and had looked at Google Earth maps, but it can be tricky to get to. A nice couple of guys helped us out. The directions to get into the bay that you look up takes you down a small road. Then the road kinda dumps you into a parking area, and there is what looks like a sidewalk going down to the town. I reality, you drive down the path, there is NO room to turn, so you then reverse down the next path, then forward out at the town. The road through the town IS THE SIDEWALK. Not something to do at night in your rental car. The better approach is to continue about 1km further up the road, and turn through a big white arch just before a hotel. Ignore all the no trespassing signs, and twist down, till you come to a guard house in the middle of the road. Continue to ignore the no trespassing signs, and wind down the hill. Ignore the no trespassing signs when entering the yacht club, and continue forward until you come to a guardhouse. Roll your window down and tell the guard "Hotel Baia" and he will point to where you park. The hotel is right through a gate past the dock. I will add a picture of the place where you turn in to go to the hotel. Figuring this out at night was the worst part of our stay!

Beautiful setting, Clean, A/C, wifi, food, drinks, friendly..... hunt this place down.

Room Tip: Room 608 was HUGE and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

good hotel, great location, helpful and friendly people - I stayed with my son. The owner was very friendly. We had five good days here. Basic, clean. lovely food, but not cheap. It has a private bbeach and many locals go there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sconnolly40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were during Naples bay this summer, so we spent four days in Sorrento peninsula. We stayed this hotel, which is clear, which is well-equiped, but it is not a hospitable place. The stuff is surly, not friendly, the breakfast is totally simple and muzzy (and we have to ask everything we would like), the beach is grey, crowded and horrible expensive.

The location of the hotel would be suitable to reach Sorrento and the other side of the peninsula, but unfortunately EAVbus is totally unpredictable-of course I know, it is not hotel's mistake.

All in all, it is sure we will not go to there again..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The main advantage of this hotel is its private beach. Hotel offers free shuttle service to the city of Sorrento 3 times a day 9:00, 10:30 and 16:30 and takes you back 12:30, 17:00 and 21:00. It is very clean (we had our bedding changed and room cleaned every single day). Stuff is very friendly and helpful! Amazing view opens from the restaurant: sea and Vesuvius. Tip: there is a fridge next to the reception area, which is open for public use. For those who cannot live without internet - it is not a place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shoshana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

It's my second day here and I am loving it. Rooms are as expected. Basic but clean and good value for money. The welcome was lovely. Amazing food so far, fresh pizza for €4 huge glass of wine for €3 draught beer served in chilled frosted glass..private beach which is kept immaculate. Stunning views of versuvius and really helpful staff. Nothing seems too much trouble. Free shuttle to sorrento is provided as location is remote but if you are looking for a little piece of unspoilt heaven then this is it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We got room 202, no daylight except for a little light from a window with view on blind wall, not enough to light the room. Day and night the lights on! Black spots on wall from dead musquito’s and mould on the wall in the bathroom. Beds were no good, sheets were never changed in 7 days!
Food in the restaurant was not special, breakfast simple, never an egg, dinner: lots of pasta, not very tasty and vegetables from a can(carrot, mushroom). We got twice sour wine, after complaint they replace it for normal wine, but they do it again two days later.
The beach, the sea and the sun are lovely there, but we never go back to this hotel, we are very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and ask for clean sheets and good beds, maybe it will be better than our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The Baia Hotel is located several Kilometres from Sorrento on the beach at Massa Lubrense. Access is via a steep narrow winding road or by a footpath leading through the olive and lemon groves. It is a small no frills 3 star country hotel that appears to have been built in several stages and is a rabbit warren of various sized and shaped rooms and different buildings. Many of the rooms either look out onto a very small court yard or wall and have very little natural light. If this is a concern you should book a front facing room, several have balconies, or opt for the annex.

Housekeeping was excellent and the front of house staff friendly and helpful.

Meals including breakfast are served in the open air restaurant overlooking the beach, the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. If you are half board you may find the food basic with limited choice. However, at 10 Euros a day it was undoubtedly value for money. On the down side there was a very limited choice of wine and the restaurant didn't serve coffee. Also, although open, the bar was never staffed and in two weeks we only managed to get one drink! No problem though as there are several excellent snack bars and restaurants within 2 minutes walk.

The hotel is in a fantastic difficult to reach location with wonderful views. Massa Lubrense is a small but lively friendly community, bustling with local children and families. However, don't go for the night life, there isn't any. The hotel runs a courtesy bus service to and from Sorrento several times a day and if you are travelling independently will even provide transfers to and from the station. The private beach is well maintained, as is the adjoining public beach.

On the down side it is unsuitable for those with mobility problems, the car park is a five minute walk away down a dust track and many teenagers will die of boredom.

All in all it's a 3 star hotel in a 5 star location. Be realistic as to what a 3 star country hotel means and you will find, as we did, that you will have a value for money holiday in a fantastic setting. If you expect 5 star service and facilities, then pay five star prices and go to a five star hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ewen028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
3 mi away
Hotel La Certosa
Hotel La Certosa
#20 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lubrense
Villa Lubrense
#38 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
232 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#10 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Freedom Holiday Residence
Freedom Holiday Residence
#39 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
74 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Primavera
Hotel La Primavera
#15 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
96 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Caruso
Hotel Caruso
#37 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia di Puolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia di Puolo

Address: Via Marina di Puolo 10, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: £58 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baia di Puolo 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baia di Puolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Di Puolo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing