We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish couple- Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punta Campanella Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Irish couple- Great holiday”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just returned from a ten day stay at Punta Campenella Resort Hotel, on arrival was a bit surprised at the distance from Sorrento but after a day spent in Sorrento this tuned out to be the biggest advantage. We had a lovely 10 days in this hotel, the staff were really friendly especially the young girl on reception I think she is a sister of the owner, she had a pleasant greeting and was very helpful at all times, the night Manager was also extremely pleasant and helpful with a great sense of humour. Our room was to the back it was a little bit dark but was a nice room, we did enquire about changing for a sea view but it would have been€35 a night extra, we used the beautiful roof terrace instead in the evening. We had breakfast in hotel which was fine cereals, fruit, eggs, bacon, breads and cakes. We only had dinner on the last night, the restaurant manager went to a lot of trouble and even cooked jacket potatoes for us,the meal was lovely, the hotel however didn't always have the menu in English. The beach across the road is just perfect and we were able to hire two sun beds and shade for €10 a day because we were residents of hotel. We took the boat to Capri from the jetty and had a wonderful day with a super guide who made sure we got to see all the sites. The local bus stops in front of hotel and we used it to travel into Sorrento, the only problem is the last bus back from Sorrento leaves at 6pm so if you want to spend an evening there it would cost €80 back in a taxi, the bus is €2.20. The bus stops at train station in Sorrento and we took the train from here to Pompeii, a wonderful place to visit. The local restaurants had a good choice some a little expensive I would check the menu prices before taking a seat. The bar on the beach serves snacks and delicious ice cream and is run by lovely girl called Monica we spent many a good night here. I would recommend this hotel and area for a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    89
    49
    31
    45
See reviews for
82
201
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I visit Italy ever year with my family as it is beautiful country which we have fallen in love. It has given us so many fantastic memories however I wish I could forget my time at Punta Campanella, it was a truly awful experience on so many levels.

Firstly at every opportunity additional costs are added as they try to fleece you out of all your holiday money. 20 Euros a day to park your car, a bar with rip-off prices, costs to use the swimming pool (which is grubby), additional taxes and a bill on your departure that has multiple items you never ordered/received – oh the joy of staying at the Punta Campanella!! This is where I guess the staff bonuses must come from, but it leaves a very sour taste in my mouth. The only reason I picked up on the creative billing was because the couple checking out before us were arguing about the bill, so I double checked ours and it was double what it should have been– can’t believe they think they can get away with it. Looking back at previous comments now on trip advisor, this doesn’t seem to be a new practice on their behalf.

Furthermore, one thing that makes Italy so special is the service we receive everywhere we go, always professional, smiling and keen to please, I love the Italians they are wonderful hosts. The service industry is a true career and the quality reflects that everywhere you go. However this is not the case at Punta Campanella where waiter/waitresses were always rude during service, the wine waiter was a horrible aggressive man who disliked me asking for a price list (who smirked at my wife and laughed as if to imply my lack of wealth) and a young inexperienced manager that is obnoxious and blasé when I raised any issues, and trust me there were many.

Other issues which are not as serious but all add up to a poorly run hotel include very noisy air con, dirty rooms (my daughter spotted a cockroach in the bathroom), doors that don’t lock properly, safe didn’t work, lights no working, awful breakfast and the lack of basics i.e. no iron or ironing board (they can iron for you but at a cost – see earlier comment!),

It is a real shame because Marina del Cantone is a lovely bay, and our time spent outside the hotel was great – the drive along the Amalfi coast is incredible, it was just we all dreaded coming back to the hotel each evening.

My family go on holiday once a year, and the staff at the hotel did there best to ruin it for me a my family- thanks for nothing!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Peter_TBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro_SalesDPT, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Punta Campanella Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are very upset and disappointed with your views. We try everything possible to make sure everyone is happy with their stay in our hotel. During the summer, we have around 120 persons stay here every week and nobody has made such accusations, which are indeed not true, hurtful and are written without substance or proof. Whilst you were staying at the hotel, we did have a conversation and I believe this is the reason why you have written such a comment, which is without foundation. Should you wish to communicate with me further please contact me at info@puntacampanellaresort.it and I will be pleased to answer all the issues you have raised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Massa Lubrense hotels

St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a very relaxing time at this Hotel, we stayed in a junior suite (204) on a B & B basis which had plenty of room for us and our two boys. The balcony had recliners and a table set and was well used by us. The WiFi was reliable if a little slow. The breakfast was enjoyable. The aircon was a little noisy and we alternated between using it and keeping the windows open. We had a few problems with the room but these were sorted as soon as we reported them. The reception staff were helpful. The resort was ideal for a relaxing family holiday and we found plenty of great family restaurants for pizza and pasta. The swimming was great bring a snorkel and mask, however we were stung by jellyfish on a couple of occasions. We found the beds and umbrella hire expensive if you weren't going to stay the whole day on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comfy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Having taken my firm booking for 7 days bed and breakfast and my substantial deposit weeks in advance, the hotel announced a few days before I went that unless I paid the full cost of the stay in advance and upgraded to half board they would relet the rooms to others. For that reason alone I must warn against using this hotel.
Apart from that, the hotel is pleasant, quite adequate rooms, not luxurious but pleasant, clean and well kept, many with nice balconies overlooking beautiful sea views. It is situated in a small village with a number of very good reasonably priced bars and restaurants in easy walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful. Prices generally were reasonable. The large restaurant has very good sea views and tables both inside and outside. On one very busy evening the service was erratic due to there being too few staff. The food was generally good, fresh, local produce, well cooked, attractively served, fish predominating. There were some problems with the orders, we did not all always get what we ordered and some dishes were barely warm when they arrived.
The breakfast selection is very limited, and heavy geared to the German market, mainly cheese, cold meats and sweet cakes. The bakery items, rolls, croissants etc were not fresh and were unappetising. Coffee was tepid. At the end of our stay we discovered that fresh toast was available on demand but this was not advertised.
The general area is very attractive, rocky cliffs, small villages, views to Vesuvius but remote and hard to get around, the roads are very narrow and winding, even in May the whole area was crowded and driving is hard and stressful work. There is some public transport but it is limited, The hotel offered little in the way of trips and excursions but was good at getting taxis and minibuses when asked. Parking in the village is very limited and expensive, the hotel will provide for €20 a day, the going rate. The beaches are small and stony, water crystal clear but when we were there in May jellyfish much in evidence.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Watch what they do with your credit card they left a pre- auth of $653 on my card that was tied up until I returned home and filed a complaint. Mold in bathrooms. No air in the rooms. Wifi hit or miss in reception area after I learned they gave us a wrong access location to sign on. No cell service at all in the area. Terrace not set up at all. Fitness equipment in the picture had to be photo shopped. There were three pieces of rusted equipment under plastic covers. Not near anything to do. Cost us $240 for a cab to Sorrento for something to do

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank caracad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro_SalesDPT, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Punta Campanella Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame, at Check-in we make a pre-authorization of the total booking.
And payment at check-out.
If paying with a different credit card we unlock to check out the amount of the reservation. Nothing so strange!.
Our fitness area, is only open in the summer, becouse is outside sea view terrace.
You've never been able to see the machines for fitness because they are in our deposit
The taxi if you asked at reception costs about € 80 and not $ 240 as you said.
The WI-FI is working perfectly throughout the property, and each area has its own repeater.

Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Obviously, something gets lost in translation. In it's heyday, Punta Campanella " Resort and Spa" may have been nice, but it is in dire need of a renovation. Rooms are comfortably sized and clean except for the bathroom, which smelled of mold (which was visible in the shower) and there was a rancid smell coming from the bathroom sink drain. Apparently, the "resort" closes for the winter and had re-opened several weeks before we arrived. As my sister and I were sharing a room and she has severe asthma and allergy issues, at night we needed to close everything up and put on the air. No air conditioning. Called down to the desk and was told it hadn't been switch over to cold because "the older guests like it warm and are still cold". (we are 52 & 56 years of age). So, we had to sleep with the balcony door open to cool it down. Thank goodness, our room was on the end and family members were staying in the room next door, because the balconies only have a short "wall" dividing them. Not a safe feeling having to sleep with the door open, knowing anyone in the row of rooms on this floor could easily jump from balcony to balcony entering any room they wanted that had their door open. Also, there is no exercise area, although their website displays one. There are a few rusted out machines covered up on an upper patio area, but they were not available for use. In fact, when we inquired about the workout area, the desk clerk had no idea what we were talking about. The "spa" area was dark and closed up and looked like it wasn't used much. It appeared to consist of a very small indoor pool and perhaps a sauna. Spa services were never offered upon check in. Neither room had a hotel services book to show what they offered. The restaurant was very bright, clean, open and airy. Breakfast buffet offered a delicious array of croissants, pastry, etc as well as made to order omelettes and French toast from the kitchen. Service was extremely efficient. Most importantly....if you plan on staying at this hotel, make sure you do not need cell phone service! Due to the location, There is none in the hotel...you can sometimes get a signal if you walk across the street towards the beach, but it's a gamble. Also, you'll have to go down to the lobby in order to make use of the Wi-Fi. The beach across the street charges 6 euro for a chaise lounge, but dropped it down to 5 for guests of the hotel. This may be why the hotel didn't even have any lounges out on their terrace. Beware of the neighborhood restaurants...we went to several and got the same feeling from all of them: swindlers just waiting to take advantage of tourists. Overall, the location and view is absolutely gorgeous, but if you can find somewhere else to stay for around the same price, I'd do it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BPerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from a lovely family holiday and wanted to write about how welcoming this hotel was after an initial blip which was sorted out very quickly and professionally We stayed here for a week and could not recommend it more highly. The staff were fab especially Alfonso who made our breakfast a personalised experience giving my husband two tea bags every time after just once of him asking. The room we stayed in had amazing views. A big thank you to all the staff who looked after us so well. See you next time we visit

Room Tip: We chose a family suite and were given a small room with two double beds- this isn't a suite. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhona27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
0.0 mi away
Torre Turbolo Appartamenti
Torre Turbolo Appartamenti
#19 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
52 reviews
2.5 mi away
Francischiello Hotel & Spa Bellavista
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Certosa
Hotel La Certosa
#20 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quattro Passi Restaurant Relais
Quattro Passi Restaurant Relais
#26 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
418 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#4 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Campanella Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Campanella Resort & Spa

Property: Punta Campanella Resort & Spa
Address: Piazza delle Sirene 2 | Marina del Cantone, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#12 Luxury Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Punta Campanella Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Resort & SPA on the Amalfi Coast Punta Campanella Resort & SPA is located within the beautiful beach resort of Marina del Cantone, which is situated along the Amalfi Coast between the golf of Sorrento and Positano. The name of our hotel is gained from the special Marine Nature Reserve of "Punta Campanella", which is a Conservation area protected by the FAI (Italian Environment Fund). Our hotel has recently been restored and redeveloped by architects from Campania Region and incorporates Italian Mediterranean style and ultimate comfort. Most of our rooms and our la carte restaurant Li Galli Restaurant overlook the Nerano Bay, which serves fresh, local Mediterranean food inspired by our chef. Our Spa and indoor pool will rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. The Blue Flag beach is just 40 metres from our hotel where you can relax, sunbathe and swim safely. Here you will find a selection of bars, cafes and restaurants. From the pier, you can take a boat and visit Capri, Positano, Amalfi and Li Galli Islands. Within a short distance of our hotel, there are over one hundred restaurants to be sampled - some have Michelin Stars. A rooftop garden is available with deck chairs and umbrella and a shower to cool off. Activities: Trakking exursion, Diving, Water Sport, boat rental, tipical food tour, to fish and eat in the sea. Nearby to visit : Massa Lubrense, Positano, Capri, Sorrento, Pompei ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punta Campanella Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Campanella Hotel Massa Lubrense
Punta Campanella Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing