We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo Il Vapore
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sonenga(Menaggio)
US$122
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Garni Corona(Menaggio)(Great Value!)
US$1,111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$396
US$383
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Lac(Menaggio)(Great Value!)
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
US$200
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Merloni(Menaggio)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal(Menaggio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garden(Menaggio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riviera(Cadenabbia di Griante)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
51
46
16
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
46
16
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationlake comostar hotelhotel restaurantsimoneaubergesquareboats
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed here with my family (we are all adults now!) for a week. We took over three double rooms. All were at the front of the hotel, and had incredible views of the lake and mountains.

This is a charming place, which is family-run by a very welcoming mother and son team! They gave us some great local tips on swimming and walking locations.

We ate in the hotel restaurant several times- the food is traditional and home-made Italian fare- just what we needed after a long day touring the lakeside villages!

The rooms are basic, but exceptionally clean and charming.

We had a simple breakfast everyday of fresh bread and good, strong Italian coffee!

Menaggio is the perfect base for exploring the region. It is less touristy than Bellagio, and more outdoorsy than Varenna. It is easy to access all the central lake area by boat, and explore Lake Lugano. From the back of the village, there are numerous walking trails, with something to suit all levels.

The only downside to Menaggio is that there is only a tiny beach. But with a little effort there are plenty of gorgeous places to swim nearby!

We would love to return to Albergo il Vapore sometime soon!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have beautiful views! Some have small balconies (25/26), others have french doors
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dochols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

First things first: Mi dispiace!!! To Simone and his mother. We were still half asleep when we departed yesterday morning and, yes, forgot to leave a tip for the housekeeping staff...we will do that when we go back - who could come up with a better reason?!

And now to the good bits:
We found this hotel only by searching for an affordable place to stay for the four nights we wanted to stay in Menaggio. The reviews were all raving and so we thought we should give it a try.

Very quickly after booking the room, Simone emailed to let us know that a lake view room was available (we had put this in as a request, if possible), at a small supplement. We decided for it, and that was the right decision. There is hardly anything better than opening your shutters in the morning and taking in a deep breath of lake air!

The room was basic, but impeccable. We had to get shampoo & shower gel from the supermarket, but were prepared for this, as another review already pointed this out. It was only a five minute walk. And really: try to find a hotel in Britain at this rate that includes these little extras.

We managed dinner on the terrace (with lake view) on the first night, and that was excellent. Unfortunately, we didn't make it again, as the good old vino made us forget the time...We had some of it on the terrace, though, over the days.

Simone and his mum both were extremely friendly and hospitable and made the stay very pleasant.

All in all:
Great hotel
Great location
Great value
Great short break

Thank you! And see you again soon to give you that tip.

Regards,
Stefanie & Andrew

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed voor 5 nights in Albergo Il Vapore. It was a very pleasant stay. Basic but very clean rooms with a beautiful terrace looking over the amazing lake Como. The family who own's the hotel is very friendly and there's a relaxed atmosphere. We had two dinners in the restaurant of the hotel, very tastefull and the restaurant has a nice terrace a the piazza.
If you consider to go to Menaggio, which is a very lovely and nicely situated place at the lake, Albergo il Vapore is a very good choice. And I do not say this only for my love for Italy but also because it's worth to try!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 346Alexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a pretty hotel just off the main square. We chose it because it was one of the few we could afford in the area so we did not have high expectations. We were welcomed by the friendly owners and found everything we needed in our room. Yes it was small and basic - could do with a coat of paint but, our bed was clean and comfortable and we were provided with clean towels each day. Rooms 25 and 26 have a small balcony with room for table and chairs and from here we enjoyed a lovely view of the lake over to Bellagio. We paid for breakfast which consisted of coffee with bread and a selection of jams - by day no 7 we were ready for something different! There was the smell of cooking fat in the entrance lobby but nowhere else.
I would recommend this hotel for its location , good value and the friendly owners. It is not luxury but we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms 25 and 26 have a pretty blacony overlooking the lake
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justloveitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

What a cute place from the outside and what a great location but I am afraid that's where it stops! Room very small and basic which is fine but extremely noisy coming from other rooms and it wasn't the cleanest , also always smelt of cooking fat so we didn't eat here, wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eatlivego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews