We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and restaurant , wonderful lake view”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and restaurant , wonderful lake view”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We chose this hotel based on other reviews on tripadvisor and these were fairly accurate. Mario is the friendliest and best humoured matradee and hotel owner we have had the pleasure to meet. He speaks a number of different languages fluently including English, French and German and makes time to speak with all of the guests.
His son is the chef at the restaurant and the food is so good, we chose to eat here most nights.
The view from the hotel is wonderful and it is a huge asset having a pool and a lounge which we enjoyed using in the evenings after dinner. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. All in all an excellent experience and we can see why he has so much repeat business. Thank you Mario!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The rooms with terrace are very nice, especially the terrace with panoramic view. The only drawback is the absence of a minibar in the room and instead of one big bed we were provided twin beds, which was not comfortable.
For the rest - everything was quite good: the service, hospitality, staff very helpful, breakfast ok, the restaurant we couldn't try, as it was booked for a wedding. The lobby very cozy. The position quite up the hill, which allows to have nice panoramic views but a bit difficult for people who don't like walking up the hill, by car is fine. In my opinion the price is a bit high for a 3* hotel. In general we enjoyed our short stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We just spent four lovely days at the Hotel Royal and it is one of a kind. Mr Colombo is the perfect host and he and the staff go out of the way to make your stay memorable. As some writers have said, the rooms are small but Lake Como is such a lovely area that it draws one to be outside. The breakfasts were outstanding, the dinners gourmet and, again, the staff could not have been more helpful. It is a bit of a hike from town and it really helps to have a car to get there but to also get to many of the out of the way villages and hiking areas Lake Como has to offer. Mr Colombo and his staff could provide training to other places on how to run a hotel and make every guest feel welcome. A real gem.

Room Tip: The main building rooms are very good and the breakfast and dining area and bar are just a few steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Lovely little hotel overlooking lake como with views of the lake over to Belaggio and only a 10 minute walk into centre of Menaggio. Mr Colombo the owner made our stay special with help and advice delivered with great humour, even putting the welsh flag up for us, and all the staff are more than helpful. Food and wine were excellent. I dont think you can do better than this blend of location, price and quality on lake como.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lovely hotel set up in the Menaggio Hills with beautiful views of the lake.
Very much a family feel, friendly staff, clean rooms, and a excellent restaurant. The Gardens and pool area are top class as well.Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had a wonderful visit to Menaggio and Hotel Royal, we had a lovely room and balcony in main hotel overlooking swimming pool and Lake Como.Hotel/rooms very clean and all staff members during the day or in the evening were very helpfull and friendly.
Mr Colombo the owner was good fun and made our evening meals a `lovely event` with a true passion for his food and wine which was excellent quality,good value and first class service,we were more than happy to eat in the restaurant every evening which had a good atmosphere.
Car parking was safe and secure and enjoyed a private joke with Mr Colombo of how my car reminded him of a Fiat Cinquecento, so we would leave the car at the Hotel and walk down to Menaggio, which is 20 minutes to Ferry port.Easy going downhill but make sure you save enough energy for the end of the day, to walk back up the hill!
Would recommend and definitely go back to Hotel Royal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

When we drove into the Royal Hotel, after a long trip from Geneva, it just looked like heaven. My husband said, you've done it again to me! We had a fantastic view from our upstairs room down to the lake, just wonderful. The room was small but for a couple of nights we didn't mind. Mr Colombo who owns the hotel, knew who my husband was straight away, called him by his name and welcomed us. He wasn't there when we booked him, but he knew who we were.
The food was lovely, good evening meal and breakfasts. I did go in the pool, very cold, but it was nearly the end of September. But no worries, it was good.
Will recommend this hotel to friends as it is a little gem

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
244 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#7 of 10 in Menaggio
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Largo Vittorio Veneto 1 | Loveno di Menaggio, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing