We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic food, a bit pricey”

Il Ristorante di Paolo
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Basic food, a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The restaurant is nice, staff professional and food good but it's not something that sticks out as the high point of your trip.
Slightly pricey, I was a little underwhelmed by the food. Meh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reetta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    121
    40
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
600 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 752 helpful votes
“Great place on the square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this by our taxi driver - sometimes a good thing, sometimes a bad one! This was a good one. We spent a sunny afternoon having some lovely Italian cuisine served by a friendly team looking at great views over the lake. Of particulaar mention was the stunning home made gelato.

Helpful?
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous 50th Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a lunch and then the birthday dinner here. For the lunch my husband and son had the veal ravioli and said it was the best ravioli they ever had. So then we booked the 50th birthday dinner. The staff were wonderful. They suggested a birthday cake and candle. I chose a Tiramisu - my husbands favourite desert. We sat in the wine room which has such a great ambience. The meal was fabulous. I had the risotto with goats cheese and black truffle. The most amazing dish I have ever eaten.
Great food, great service - a must do

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juleshPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
207 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good food, atmosphere, and great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We ate here twice during our three days in Menaggio. We had a group of seven and had quite a few of the menu entrees between us. We enjoyed all of them. Ask for Niko he does a great job serving. Best meal and service we had in Menaggio.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The view from this restaurant is just lovely. However the food is very average. My tuna was over salted to the point I could not taste the fish. The pasta pomodoro was very good. I was less than impressed to see a hole in the tablecloth. Not something you would expect form a restaurant trying to sell itself as an upmarket eatery.

Don't go out your way

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Ristorante di Paolo also viewed

 
Menaggio, Lake Como
Menaggio, Lake Como
 

Been to Il Ristorante di Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing