We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the extra for a class above the rest”

Il Ristorante di Paolo
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“worth the extra for a class above the rest”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The inside and outside dining seemed equally popular, but the music from the lavender stand in the square overlooking the lake was not to my taste so put up with this to enjoy the view, but food and service equally good inside and out. The standard is set by the linen tablecloths and the most expensive cover charge we came across, but the home baked bread and variety of it was better value than the breadsticks in others. We saw some chefs being trained and the kitchen is always busy. The menu is extensive and demonstrates the Italian versatility, although rack of lamb seemed the most popular main course. The specials are worth asking about and ate here twice and enjoyed these, duck and steak. The first courses vary and the pasta dishes can be quite filling. Look carefully at the pudding descriptions as ordering rice pudding based did not quite turn out as expected, but was a tasty morsel - least good value part of the menu, but the creativity is apparent. The wine list goes from moderate to pricey, but good value is to be had with discerning selection. This was the best place of the several where we ate in the town and would choose this if could only go to one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank iwantmysausages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    132
    44
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wormer, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“You pay for the view, but good food”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Restaurants with a great view (in this case, on the Como lake) often serve bad food for outrageous prices. At this restaurant the prices are higher than in a comparable restaurant without the view (but not outrageous) and the food is like any good Italian restaurant. And so this is actually a good choice in Menaggio. Good service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan_Boer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Truly superb 10/10”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had the best meal of our holiday here, superb food, attentive service and a fantastic view of the lake.
Starters of Lasagne and Tomato/mozzarella were excellent but the goats cheese risotto with black truffle and scallops in bacon with mussels were to die for!!
I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough and if you are in Menaggio its a must, make sure you book as we couldn't get a table the next time we just turned up.
10/10...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in a great setting”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this excellent restaurant in the main square and got the last outside table without a reservation. We had a very tasty meal, excellent scallops and bass and great puddings. Well worth a visit but probably best to book!

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Basic food, a bit pricey”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The restaurant is nice, staff professional and food good but it's not something that sticks out as the high point of your trip.
Slightly pricey, I was a little underwhelmed by the food. Meh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reetta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Ristorante di Paolo also viewed

 
Menaggio, Lake Como
 

Been to Il Ristorante di Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing