We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food with great view to the lake”
Review of Pizzeria CO.RI

Pizzeria CO.RI
Ranked #20 of 43 Restaurants in Menaggio
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with great view to the lake”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just up to the road to Plesio there is Co.Ri, a restaurant & Pizzeria where I and my wife enjoyed fantastic diners for 2 times. The antipasti, primi and secondi are just delicious. The mussels were just great as the pasta with Salmon. Pizza is also good
Personell is very friendly and the service is good. One of our favourite restaurants we have been eating during our stay at como lake. We were offered limoncello or another drink free at the end of our meal. I can recommend this place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBusybee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with great staff”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were staying nearby and I called in for takeaway pizza during a bit of a storm! Pizzas were excellent and we decided to try the restaurant later that week and we were not disappointed.
Really friendly attentive staff, great food and drinks and a lovely view.
The chef came out to talk to us and gave us a free drink as a thank you for eating there.
If you are in Menaggio, take a trip up the mountain, you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank eddie8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to try Cori on our first night in Menaggio as we were staying nearby.

I can't fault the attentiveness or friendliness of the staff but the food wasn't up to much.

We'd been travelling since 3am so only had 1 course each and drinks so I can't comment on the starters or desserts.

I had prawn and mushroom papedelle from the specials menu, the one king prawn was delicious but the smaller prawns throughout were fishy, overdone and gritty! The mushrooms were ok, sauce was pleasant but over salted.

My husband had a cappricuosa pizza and said it wasn't great, both the mushrooms and artichokes were quite mushy and the olives again were gritty. Unsure why things were gritty possibly not cleaned properly?

We wouldn't have stopped for desserts even if we weren't half asleep!

We went to the trattoria la vecchia magnolia the following night which is only 2 minutes away down the path into the little village and it was amazing, so much better than cori

Helpful?
1 Thank hlking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
271 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice Pizzeria with beautiful view”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you are up on the hill about Menaggio, this pizzeria is a great stop. The food is very good and the view is outstanding. The service was very good too. Worth a stop if you are based on the hill. They also gave us a Limoncello for afters.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RATMANDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food with a superb terrace view”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We ate here a number of times whilst staying locally and found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful - despite our limited Italian.

We were offered coffee, limoncello or another drink free at the end of our meal and greeted like good friends when we returned. On a number of visits we were given delicious free garlic bread whilst waiting for our meal made with a pizza base.

We tried a number of the pizzas which were delicious and well-cooked in a wood oven. We also had some of the shellfish and pasta dishes including a delicious pizzaceri and a couple of excellent risottos.

However, beyond the food, one of CO.RI's greatest assets is the view from the outside balcony as you look down over Menaggio and Lake Como - a truly awesome location - with great views of the mountains opposite.

A recent review commented on the house wine and whilst the house red wine was poor (sampled once and not again) the house white was pleasant, eminently drinkable and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brizzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria CO.RI also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria CO.RI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing