We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Adler
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sonenga(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Merloni(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Royal(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Lac(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garden(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
40
27
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
27
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic staylake comohotel restaurantvillageviewsmountainseuros
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Can only echo what everyone else has said about this hotel. It's such a lovely welcoming place and the owners are what make this hotel a special one. The room was large, bright and clean and a lot of them have great views. There isn't any air-con and you can hear the traffic (and the church bells!!) if you leave the window open but we survived with the window closed and the fan that was provided switched on low. I would imagine heat will only be a problem in the height of summer and even then it cools down greatly at night. It really wasn't a problem for us all the same. The pool area is nice and the view spectacular. There is car parking and if you don't get a space, as they are limited, there are some public ones right beside the hotel which are free at night. We took the car down to Menaggio as the hill is VERY steep and it's relatively far. We considered walking (briefly!) but in the heat, the thought of climbing back up wasn't the most appealing!
I honestly can't recommend this hotel enough. I was sad to leave and would definitley stay there again. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

A fantastic family run hotel where you felt welcome from the moment you crossed the doorstep. The hotel showed flexibility and friendlieness to two families of 5 and all requests were answered with a "nulla problema" attitude! Even though the hotel is a steep walk from Menaggio centre, it is an excellent starting point for exploring both Lake Como and Lake Lugano and at night it was a perfect retreat from the "busy" downtown area

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the main road, busy from 0530!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32DFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The family run hotel is a gem. The warm and welcoming hosts made sure we had a wonderful holiday. The breakfast is very nice, but try to have dinner there - it is truly a great experience. Everything is home cooked and tastes delicious. And the wine was excellent. There is a very nice pool area.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank EvaLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just left hotel Adler after 3nights in menaggio. We loved the delicious buffet breakfast, and the way the owners treat you as family. We booked online for the cheapest room and when we arrived as it wasn't peak season he had the best room of the hotel free and gave it to us no extra charge and it has such a beautiful view! We would recommend if you stay here to have dinner which is cooked by the owner and is not only really good value it is absolutely delicious! Reminds me of my Nonnas cooking. The only downfall is it can be a bit noisy if your a light sleeper and it is a bit of a walk to the lake ( it took us about 15-20 minutes.) I wouldn't let this stop you from staying here as there is parking at the lake and also a bus line but we walked up and down everyday no problem. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in menaggio, customer service is so important and these people go above and beyond!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_mia_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

When we first arrived at this hotel we were hot and exhausted! The location was difficult for us to find; but once we knew where it was located, it was easy to find. It's on one of the main, long roads into town. I was somewhat disappointed that the advertised view of Lake Como was at a great distance from our room. Also, we had to step out on our balcony to enjoy this view.

The next surprise was that the hotel is located right next to a church, which rings their bells until 11PM daily. The bells are rung every half hour. The bells are nice to listen to, but not when you are sound asleep!

The couple that runs this hotel are very friendly and willing to please with each request. The wife doesn't speak English very well, but her husbsand makes a decent attempt at it. He was more than willing to meet our requests (like a large glass of ice in our room). They were also both helpful in dealing with bus schedule. It was super convenient that the bus (C12) stopped within 25 feet of the hotel. The stop to return was located right across the street from the hotel. This was very convenient. What wasn't convenient was the reliability of bus schedules in town. Sometimes we had to wait over one hour past the scheduled time.

The location of the hotel in Menaggio was great. We were convenient to the ferries that went to the other cities. You should always check with an employee as you board the ferry that they are heading for your destination..

This hotel offered a very nice breakfast, which is included in your room rate. Also, for an additional charge, they will prepare a nice dinner for you. This is an extra charge, but well worth the convenience and quality of food. All of the employees were very friendly and helpful, even if they spoke little English.

The hotel was spick and span and kept that way. The rooms are not overly decorated, but they are more than adequate. The shower was also clean.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel; and we would gladly stay there if we returned to Lake Como. The city is very central to the others on the lake. After our stay out of the main city of Menaggio, we liked the quiet setting. In town, it is more crowded and noisy. There was also a swimming pool on the premises. Our stay at this hotel added to our fond memories of Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of Lake Como.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacajeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews