We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic nice hotel of high standards”
Review of Hotel Adler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Adler
Certificate of Excellence
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic nice hotel of high standards”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This year was our 4th stay and we will come back. Our two children of 9 and 12 years loves to come to this very friendly little place with Giagomo and his wife.

Vi er en dansk familie på 4 som kommer på dette dejlige lille familie drevne hotel. Vores børn føler sig hjemme, og nærmest bor i poolen og selv betjener sig med is. Super mad og meget rent hotel af høj standard til prisen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed on May.

Hotel is really clean and comfortable. The couple who run it are extremely nice & helpful.

Few minutes driving to the center, and about 20 minutes walk.

Breakfast was good, great coffee..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohmegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Can only echo what everyone else has said about this hotel. It's such a lovely welcoming place and the owners are what make this hotel a special one. The room was large, bright and clean and a lot of them have great views. There isn't any air-con and you can hear the traffic (and the church bells!!) if you leave the window open but we survived with the window closed and the fan that was provided switched on low. I would imagine heat will only be a problem in the height of summer and even then it cools down greatly at night. It really wasn't a problem for us all the same. The pool area is nice and the view spectacular. There is car parking and if you don't get a space, as they are limited, there are some public ones right beside the hotel which are free at night. We took the car down to Menaggio as the hill is VERY steep and it's relatively far. We considered walking (briefly!) but in the heat, the thought of climbing back up wasn't the most appealing!
I honestly can't recommend this hotel enough. I was sad to leave and would definitley stay there again. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brgn, No
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

A fantastic family run hotel where you felt welcome from the moment you crossed the doorstep. The hotel showed flexibility and friendlieness to two families of 5 and all requests were answered with a "nulla problema" attitude! Even though the hotel is a steep walk from Menaggio centre, it is an excellent starting point for exploring both Lake Como and Lake Lugano and at night it was a perfect retreat from the "busy" downtown area

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the main road, busy from 0530!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32DFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

The family run hotel is a gem. The warm and welcoming hosts made sure we had a wonderful holiday. The breakfast is very nice, but try to have dinner there - it is truly a great experience. Everything is home cooked and tastes delicious. And the wine was excellent. There is a very nice pool area.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EvaLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just left hotel Adler after 3nights in menaggio. We loved the delicious buffet breakfast, and the way the owners treat you as family. We booked online for the cheapest room and when we arrived as it wasn't peak season he had the best room of the hotel free and gave it to us no extra charge and it has such a beautiful view! We would recommend if you stay here to have dinner which is cooked by the owner and is not only really good value it is absolutely delicious! Reminds me of my Nonnas cooking. The only downfall is it can be a bit noisy if your a light sleeper and it is a bit of a walk to the lake ( it took us about 15-20 minutes.) I wouldn't let this stop you from staying here as there is parking at the lake and also a bus line but we walked up and down everyday no problem. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in menaggio, customer service is so important and these people go above and beyond!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_mia_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

When we first arrived at this hotel we were hot and exhausted! The location was difficult for us to find; but once we knew where it was located, it was easy to find. It's on one of the main, long roads into town. I was somewhat disappointed that the advertised view of Lake Como was at a great distance from our room. Also, we had to step out on our balcony to enjoy this view.

The next surprise was that the hotel is located right next to a church, which rings their bells until 11PM daily. The bells are rung every half hour. The bells are nice to listen to, but not when you are sound asleep!

The couple that runs this hotel are very friendly and willing to please with each request. The wife doesn't speak English very well, but her husbsand makes a decent attempt at it. He was more than willing to meet our requests (like a large glass of ice in our room). They were also both helpful in dealing with bus schedule. It was super convenient that the bus (C12) stopped within 25 feet of the hotel. The stop to return was located right across the street from the hotel. This was very convenient. What wasn't convenient was the reliability of bus schedules in town. Sometimes we had to wait over one hour past the scheduled time.

The location of the hotel in Menaggio was great. We were convenient to the ferries that went to the other cities. You should always check with an employee as you board the ferry that they are heading for your destination..

This hotel offered a very nice breakfast, which is included in your room rate. Also, for an additional charge, they will prepare a nice dinner for you. This is an extra charge, but well worth the convenience and quality of food. All of the employees were very friendly and helpful, even if they spoke little English.

The hotel was spick and span and kept that way. The rooms are not overly decorated, but they are more than adequate. The shower was also clean.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel; and we would gladly stay there if we returned to Lake Como. The city is very central to the others on the lake. After our stay out of the main city of Menaggio, we liked the quiet setting. In town, it is more crowded and noisy. There was also a swimming pool on the premises. Our stay at this hotel added to our fond memories of Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of Lake Como.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacajeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menaggio hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#3 of 10 in Menaggio
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#9 of 10 in Menaggio
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#7 of 10 in Menaggio
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Property: Hotel Adler
Address: Via Luigi Cadorna 91, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adler 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Adler Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing