We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST DO....fun day!”
Review of AC Boat

AC Boat
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We rent 40Hp motorboats to drive by yourself without any license. Our boats are endowed with 2 wide sundecks and the awning is included into the rate as well the fuel and the basic insurance.Our rental company offers also sit-on-top Kayaks (single or double). At request we also offer delivery service in Bellagio, Varenna, Cadenabbia and Tremezzo.
Shillington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“MUST DO....fun day!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family rented a boat for 3 hours on one of the final days of our vacation. My kids ( adults too) rated it as one of the best afternoons of the trip. We drove to the area of the lake which we had not seen much in our travels-saw some more beautiful sights---then stopped in a cove to swim! The swim stop was a great recommendation from an AC employee. It was a quick, no hassle transaction. Our only regret was not getting a boat for more than one afternoon!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    23
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AC Boat Menaggio Lake Como”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a must do adventure. My husband and I spontaneously rented a boat on a very beautiful day. We rented it for two hours and went from Menaggio down to George Clooney's home and back. The villas and the mountains were spectacular. It is wonderful to see the towns, homes, and gardens from the water. The lake is deep and easy to navigate. The boat was clean and well kept up. We would highly recommend this adventure. We were staying in Bellagio and had taken a ferry to Menaggio to walk around. We rented in Spring; in the summertime, it may be better to reserve in advance.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank madcity5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Must do in Menaggio”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were slightly reluctant to part with €110 euros for 2 hours on a boat (€120 peak season), especially as we had previously rented a similar 40hp boat in Corfu for €90 for the whole day, however it was too tempting to resist and we were happy that we did.

We saw three boat rental companies in Menaggio, but chose AC because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed.

We booked 2 days in advance, which the lady at the small counter advised, and there was a €20 deposit which we were told was refundable for bad weather. My boyfriend actually went back later in the day and changed the day and this was no problem for them.

The staff spoke good English and were friendly, but didn't mess around when showing you the boat and how it worked - you were out on the lake in a matter of minutes.

The boats are in great condition - really clean and comfortable, and so easy to drive - a child could do it (though not sure this would be allowed!), and very nippy - you could get out of the way of ferries with ease.

The boat had a full tank of petrol included which was obviously more than enough for 2 hours, and the €110 included a sun top and basic third party insurance for if you damaged someone else's boat (€10 extra for full insurance for damage to the boat itself). All in all while expensive for just two people, I think this would be good value for a family as the smallest boat could fit up to 6 people, and also did not have extra charges for sun roof, petrol and insurance as other boat rental companies did.

In our two hours we managed to take a trip down to Laglio and back (to George Clooney's famous villa), with a few short stops to just float around and admire the quietness of the lake. I would recommend taking some water and snacks or some mini bottles of Prosecco, as we did, especially if you will be out for a few hours.

We would have loved to have stayed for longer, kept the boat for the day, and been able to moor up to go for lunch in another town, but it just wasn't that good value for 2 young people.

You can also rent sit on top kayaks for €10 an hour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jp8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best way to see the Lake”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Just finished our 2 hour boat hire with AC. We had come to AC and not others after seeing all the reviews on TA. The people were very friendly, helpful and the process was quick and simple. We had a beautiful day to go round the Lake. The boat was big enough for more than the 2 of us so we had lots of room, it was easy to drive (for a first timer) and we found a quiet spot, turned the engine off for a bit and chilled out on the Lake. The best way to see it. Highlight of our trip and worth every penny.
I highly recommend AC boat hire.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best part of holiday”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is thoroughly recommended and I found it to be one of the highlights of our holiday on Lake Como. We had the boat out for 3 hours and travelled all over the central lake area. It is very easy to drive, and the owner (who speaks good English) gave us all the information we needed. Life jackets were provided for the children.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank paulW6478AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AC Boat also viewed

 
Cernobbio, Lake Como
 

Been to AC Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing