We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Holiday wiyh a slight tarnish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Victoria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Memorable Holiday wiyh a slight tarnish”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Visited Lake Como for a week's holiday at the Hotel Victoria ,Menaggio with Titan Tours. Menaggio is a jewel and we would most definitely return but not to the hotel which was satisfactory overall but where the food was very ordinary and somewhat disappointing and not what you would associate with Titan Travel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geofffarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    80
    49
    25
    7
See reviews for
31
141
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here for 11 days in June 2012. The staff were excellent as so very helpful. Our room on the top floor faced the town of Menaggio and also the garden and pool, as it was dual aspect we had views of the lake as well. We had full board. The breakfast was standard fair buffet style with plenty of choice. The dinner was 4 corses and was excellent, the waiting staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was was well presented and comfortable. The public rooms were very stylish, clean with lots of space and extremely comfortable

Room Tip: Some lake view rooms have trees in front of them. Lake view rooms have good balconies. The rear room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksPetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for five nights after a two day visit to Milan. The Hotel building is very impressive and its location in Menaggio is perfect. Our room overlooked Lake Como and is worth paying extra for. The bathroom could have done with some updating, but over all the room was very comfortable and clean. We stayed half board and the evening meal was very good albeit with a limited choice. Breakfast was a cold buffet with a reasonable choice but fresh orange/grapefruit juice would have been nice rather than the sickly sweet juice out of a machine. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and I would certainly stay her again.

Room Tip: Choose a Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Wonderful location in central Menaggio in a beautiful building that clearly has a long history. The building and gardens are opulent and the rooms are clean although a little past their best. The buffet breakfast in the gardens is very good as is the service. We had a room overlooking the lake and it is well worth it with the morning views very special.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in early September and the location of Hotel Victoria is wonderful. We had a balcony room at the front and the view was superb. The room was large and clean, two beds pushed together was only adequate. The decor of the rooms is a little tired and needs an update. I think the hotel is a little overpriced. Unforntunately our neighbours were serious smokers and we were forced to close the doors everytime they were out on the balcony to smoke, which was often.
The reception areas of the hotel were lovelly, and we enjoyed sitting outside for drinks and time at the pool.
Breakfast was a huge disappointment, I think the juice was cordial concentrate which you were meant to dilute with the bottled water. The dishes were empty, fruit was probably tinned and there was no bread and very few pastries. The contintental selection was very poor and looked extremely tired. The Restaurant stafff were inefficient and indifferent, and as a result we declined from further dining at the hotel.
It was a short walk to the town square, and we enjoyed our time at cafes and restaurants nearby, check the menus before ordering to avoid confusion and overcharging.Great icecream shops.

Room Tip: The front balcony rooms are great and probably worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank spendingOKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

After two planes, two trains, a crazy taxi ride, a ferry ride and dragging our luggage approximately 750 feet, arriving at this beautiful hotel was a wonderful way to end our day. The reception staff was very helpful and our room overlooking the lake was very nice. The bartender made a great dirty martini, the restaurant staff worked very hard and the food was delicious. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake that is not obstructed by the beautiful trees in the front lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1961sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in one of their better rooms.(Balcony lake view). The room was positioned between the trees and the view of the lake was superb. The room was in need of redecoration but was functional with desk wardrobe (plenty of space) and mirrors and 2 doors onto the balcony. The bed was two singles joined together and was satisfactory. The bathroom had a shower (bit small) toilet and bidet.
The air-conditioning worked but seemed to loose effectiveness during the night, but by then the outside temp was lower and we opened the doors.
The staff were pleasant and helpful (loaned an umbrella).
3 minute walk to the center and 10 minutes to the ferry makes the hotel well positioned.
We ate in the dining room one night and the food was excellent. Breakfast is continental with plenty of variety. The dining/breakfast area is a modern add-on in the garden and has a wonderful ambiance. Wifi is complimentary in the foyer which has plenty of grand lounges.

Room Tip: pay extra for balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
607 reviews
13.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
793 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,009 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Victoria

Property: Grand Hotel Victoria
Address: Via Benedetto Castelli 9, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Victoria Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing