We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Victoria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Two weeks spent end June - July. All round excellent. Gluten free diet was especially well catered for at breakfast and evening meal (we stayed half board). Our room on 4th floor overlooked the lake and although was "lake view" it had a small balcony. The impressive, mature trees reduced the lake view a little but the trees are magnificent. Our room/bathroom was spotlessly clean throughout our stay. The carpet looked new, the bedroom furniture looked new, the paint was virtually unmarked. Whilst no inconvenience to us, our bathroom was only fitted with a shower head - no fixed shower, some rooms have a shower. Air conditioning kept the room cool. Breakfast is typical continental and perfectly satisfactory. Note that there is no toaster and bacon and egg is available at 8 Euro extra. Alcohol prices are, we expect, typical of Italian 4 star - wine from 23 Euros a bottle, bottle of beer 7 Euros and gin and tonic 10 Euros. Great care is taken of the appearance of the garden and the swimming pool area. All staff were friendly and helpful and we thought that there was no evidence of the hotel having a tired look. Location was very good for us - it was quiet - no significant road noise and a few hundred yards walk along the very pleasant lakeside to the centre of town. Menaggio hasn't the tourist feel of Bellagio but has some good cafes and regular summer entertainment in the main piazza. Overall an excellent hotel in a very good and convenient location.

Room Tip: Fourth floor lake view have a good view and small balcony but no separate shower.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Famseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent a week from 30th June 2012 in this hotel, the setting was superb,very romantic.The rooms were very nice,modern and clean.The food was 1st class and the staff brilliant. It really made our stay in Como the most romantic setting which is just what we wanted for our engagement holiday to each other. Well worth a visit. Everyone has an opinion, but would suggest some of the other reviews are a tad unjust..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Excellent location with lovely views back and front. Gardens with mature trees giving shade around the swimming pool,where tea will be served on a tray with china and silver tea pot.
Paolo the manager and staff make every effort to make the holiday special, nothing is too much trouble.
The preparation, presentation , and quality of the food for the 4 course dinner are all excellent.
The public rooms are stylish, quiet, and comfortable.
We stayed here for 14 days in June 2012 and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Nicely positioned on the shore of Lake Como.Smallish Room probably was Grand but is in need of refurbishing. Bathroom just OK..Service was OK. Internet only available in the foyer. Has a good pool at the back of the hotel. Meals at the restaurant were acceptable without being exceptional. This included the breakfast. I would look around Menaggio for something a bit more interesting.

Room Tip: try to get a room with lake views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Visited Lake Como for a week's holiday at the Hotel Victoria ,Menaggio with Titan Tours. Menaggio is a jewel and we would most definitely return but not to the hotel which was satisfactory overall but where the food was very ordinary and somewhat disappointing and not what you would associate with Titan Travel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the swimming pool
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geofffarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here for 11 days in June 2012. The staff were excellent as so very helpful. Our room on the top floor faced the town of Menaggio and also the garden and pool, as it was dual aspect we had views of the lake as well. We had full board. The breakfast was standard fair buffet style with plenty of choice. The dinner was 4 corses and was excellent, the waiting staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was was well presented and comfortable. The public rooms were very stylish, clean with lots of space and extremely comfortable

Room Tip: Some lake view rooms have trees in front of them. Lake view rooms have good balconies. The rear room...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksPetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for five nights after a two day visit to Milan. The Hotel building is very impressive and its location in Menaggio is perfect. Our room overlooked Lake Como and is worth paying extra for. The bathroom could have done with some updating, but over all the room was very comfortable and clean. We stayed half board and the evening meal was very good albeit with a limited choice. Breakfast was a cold buffet with a reasonable choice but fresh orange/grapefruit juice would have been nice rather than the sickly sweet juice out of a machine. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and I would certainly stay her again.

Room Tip: Choose a Lake view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
625 reviews
13.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
817 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
438 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Victoria

Address: Via Benedetto Castelli 9, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: £132 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Victoria Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing