We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Victoria
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We had booked at another hotel and when my husband didn't want to stay there to move he discovered the Grand Victoria. I was reluctant to move.The room was small and did not have a lake view. What I did come to appreciate was that the back view over the city, pool and mountainside was gorgeous! Actually probably much more interesting than looking at the lake. It was also a corner room with windows that opened so we had a wonderful cross breeze at night.

The staff were extremely helpful, especially Paulo at the front desk.

There is no internet access in the rooms but it is quite pleasant to sit in the lobby and if you're lucky meet some new people to share ideas with.

The breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: corner room at the back had beautiful views and cross breezes. small though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scrap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    75
    47
    23
    6
See reviews for
28
132
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here on a driving tour of Europe with 14 other aussies. We were very happy with this hotel. Its in a grand old building with all the splendor of the last century. The service was great, the location was fantastic and the meals in the hotel restaurant were excellent. Our tour party was very impressed on the second night by the flambe display at our table in the restaurant. We'd certainly recommend this hotel to anybody intending staying in the Lake Como area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourdeEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel, supposedly a 4-star (by Italian standards, OK) is old. Now, don’t misunderstand me : there are old hotels all over the world, some of them wonderfully preserved, lovingly restored, carefully and efficiently modernized. The Victoria is still grand but lacks the comforts one expects of a 4-star hotel today. It’s not only old, it’s dated.

First of all, and contrary to the building itself, Reception personnel is quite young —read : inexperienced, not overly polite nor overeducated nor inclined to bend over backwards to accommodate tired, arriving guests. The lobby is large and adequate, but the first room we were given was smallish, even though we had reserved one of the lake view rooms, which are supposedly (and expectedly) the best. It would have been more or less OK, though, if it hadn’t been for the air conditioning which was so weak that we slept very little during our first night (it was August, and very hot and humid).

The next day I complained with the senior manager (a much better educated, more respectful and more professional person) and was offered to visit another room : same problem, air conditioning very weak, not even cool (let me specify here that, being French, we’re not at all used to the super-cold temperatures our American friends seem to enjoy, we catch a cold whenever we spend more than a weekend in New York, and therefore we are not at all demanding in terms of air conditioning performance). After that, I was offered a third room, that one on the first floor (not the ground floor) ; maybe because it was lower, it seemed that the air conditioning was functioning marginally better… but frankly, the reason we kept that room was (1) that the manager admitted the airco system in the rooms was quite old and needed overhauling (in the lobby, it was working fine) so we surmised we wouldn’t get much better treatment in yet another room, and (2) that third room was a corner room, much larger, with 3 big windows and a balcony. We came to terms with the fact that we would never have a cool room (no choice there), but it was a disappointment , especially as no discount was to be expected on the final bill!

The bathrooms (I visited three, remember) were all not very large, windowless, and somewhat cavernous, as is often the case in lower-class hotels. I expected better lighting in a 4-star. The fixtures were generally clean but antiquated, and in the first one there wasn’t even a shower screen on the side of the tub : splashes ahead! Furthermore, one of the cabinets was not spotless (that’s an understatement) and there was that faint, dreaded smell of drain that you encounter in hotels where plumbing is not well maintained. Luckily, this problem did not occur in the room where we ended up spending the rest of our week at the Victoria.

The beds were good but we were issued only one flat pillow per person and had to request a couple more (they should have been sitting in the wardrobe in the first place). Closet space was spacious enough, but all around us was and looked old, from the faded greenish paint on the walls that had seen better days, particularly in their pockmarked bottom part, to the white pottery glass in the bathroom (I much prefer the wrapped, single-use plastic ones, even if they are flimsy).

The lake view was nice, but you can’t have grand-looking trees in the little garden in front of the hotel, and… an unobstructed view! In our case, well, we had the grand trees. And some little bit of lake in between thick foliage. Having a drink on our own balcony (not wide at all, but adequate) was very nice, however. Be careful : there are flying things around that bite viciously ; not mosquitoes, much smaller insects, black round things that profess a distinct preference for female flesh. Not nice at all on denuded arms, shoulders and legs. We found no weapon against them, and saw identical bites on other people, so it wasn’t just us.

The pool in the back garden (towels provided free of charge) is nicely sized (some not so nice smells there too at certain times of day), but as usual, not enough loungers, so you have to get up early to stake out your claim and then hold on to it forcefully. A good dozen more loungers would have settled the issue easy enough.

Finally, a major drawback was that Internet was only available in the lobby, not in the rooms. OK, it was free, which is a lot more than most Italian hotels offer at this time, but in the evening, you had to compete for lobby armchairs almost as ferociously as for those lounging chairs by the pool in order to read your emails or visit your favorite web sites… I spoke with several other guests who, like me, thought that a couple of wifi routers on the very wide and long landings couldn’t possibly have broken the bank… On the other hand, as the hotel’s Internet proved very unreliable (was down for two full days in a one-week stay!), it was almost a pleasure to have it back, even if only in the lobby.

Overall assessment : the Victoria is expensive, but not so outrageously expensive by Lake Como standards. That is what saves the “Average” grade I will award it. But the air conditioning in the rooms really needs to be completely redone (with user settings which it sorely lacks), and the bathrooms could do with an update… as could the place, except for the lobby which did look nice and appropriately impressive (although you get used to it after a day or two, this is not a genuine palace). Install a good and reliable Internet/wifi network throughout, and the Victoria will begin to look like a bargain.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blue_439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Excellent service, staff were really helpful booking restaurants or taxis. Beautiful building overlooking the lake, good location. Rooms small and no frills but decent shower and clean. Only negatives are the trees block the lake view, they should consider a good trimmer! Overall highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KSadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent ten wonderful days here with our wedding party (20) and everyone agreed it was the most amazing place they had been to. The hotel and facilities (especially the excellent pool area and waiter service !) couldn't have been more perfect and we were blown away with the setting on arrival - our room with its balcony lake view was worth every penny !

Paolo ,the manager , and his staff couldn't be more helpful and went out of their way to assist with all matters - even making arrangements for other friends of ours in Menaggio who were not staying at the hotel.

Ok, its not the cheapest but in my book it was worth every penny - this is Lake Como after all ! We will definitely be returning here - as I think everyone else in our group will be too !

If you are going to Lake Como , book the Grand Hotel Victoria - you will not regret it

Room Tip: if you want to spend that little extra go for the lake view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thetko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

what a grand hotel.all our needs were catered for.we stayed a full week with friends as part of a wedding group.very expensive for drinks and snacks but it was worth every penny to be waited on by the pool.the hotel faces lake como with fantastic views of the lake.all staff were friendly and eager to help.if you have the money then treat yourself to a relaxing luxurios time. i would definetly return to this magical place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbydony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Two weeks spent end June - July. All round excellent. Gluten free diet was especially well catered for at breakfast and evening meal (we stayed half board). Our room on 4th floor overlooked the lake and although was "lake view" it had a small balcony. The impressive, mature trees reduced the lake view a little but the trees are magnificent. Our room/bathroom was spotlessly clean throughout our stay. The carpet looked new, the bedroom furniture looked new, the paint was virtually unmarked. Whilst no inconvenience to us, our bathroom was only fitted with a shower head - no fixed shower, some rooms have a shower. Air conditioning kept the room cool. Breakfast is typical continental and perfectly satisfactory. Note that there is no toaster and bacon and egg is available at 8 Euro extra. Alcohol prices are, we expect, typical of Italian 4 star - wine from 23 Euros a bottle, bottle of beer 7 Euros and gin and tonic 10 Euros. Great care is taken of the appearance of the garden and the swimming pool area. All staff were friendly and helpful and we thought that there was no evidence of the hotel having a tired look. Location was very good for us - it was quiet - no significant road noise and a few hundred yards walk along the very pleasant lakeside to the centre of town. Menaggio hasn't the tourist feel of Bellagio but has some good cafes and regular summer entertainment in the main piazza. Overall an excellent hotel in a very good and convenient location.

Room Tip: Fourth floor lake view have a good view and small balcony but no separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
13.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#9 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Victoria

Property: Grand Hotel Victoria
Address: Via Benedetto Castelli 9, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Victoria Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing