We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable period hotel with charming views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Victoria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Victoria in mid May this year, we were very pleased with our choice, the location was excellent, 100m walk from the old town centre and right on the lake front. The views were simply breathtaking.
We were accommodated at the rear of the hotel with mountain and partial lake view and it proved to be a great allocation as the views were lovely and it was rather quiet, no busy roads to the rear of the hotel.
We loved our evening meals ( we went for the half board option ), the food was always lovely, fresh and there was a good choice. Breakfasts also had a good variety of food.
The staff were just ever so friendly, helpful and with excellent english.
We would like to go back to Lake Como and when we do, we'd like to, again, stay there.
It was an amazing long weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

We can certainly recommend The Grand Hotel Victoria.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

We have just returned after a week's stay at this beautiful old hotel. After reading previous reviews we were not sure what to expect but can report that we found it to be a delightful place to stay. The evening meals were excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and everywhere was kept very clean. If you are looking for old fashioned charm then this is the place for you. Yes, the walls are thin and you can hear noises from the adjoining rooms but we were fortunate enough to have an empty room next door. Our bathroom only had a hand held shower which was disappointing and there was no shower curtain. We needed extra pillows for the bed and these were provided as soon as we asked for them. We had a lovely view of the lake through the beautiful, mature trees which add to the grand appearance of the frontage to this hotel. After checking out of the hotel, our sat-nav broke and we needed to buy a new lead. Paolo, the manager spotted us outside the electrical shop in Menaggio and came to our rescue. He couldn't have been more helpful, even taking us to his garage to arrange for a new fuse to be fitted to the cigarette lighter so that we could plug in the lead. Now that's service for you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelaM885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed here for a week on a walking holiday. I had to pay extra for a lake view, and yes, if you were stood at the window, you could see the lake, but from inside the room, all I could see was a tree. The room was clean with plenty of storage space. The single bed felt narrow, but was comfortable. The shower had good water pressure and I was pleased to have a shower after a day's walking and not a bath with a handheld showerhead, which other guests had. The room also had a fridge, good for storing one or two bits for the following day's picnic. However, the walls were very thin, but I was lucky to have quiet neighbours..
I found the wifi at reception reliable, but other guests reported problems.
The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a well-stocked bar. Breakfast was varied - cereals/fruit/cheese/ham/(hard) boiled eggs/bread/yoghurt. Dinner was plentiful, but I wouldn't go back there to eat. Starters were ok, but the mains were boring, uninteresting, uninspired and I generally left most of them.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath or a shower if you have a strong preference. Lake view rooms mean that they are on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We celebrated our wedding here in September 2012, and we were extremely pleased with the choice of venue. The food, venue, staff, organization and value for money was all first class. Absolutely nothing to complain about on that front. We did also spend the night here, and although the rooms are OK a renovation wouldn't hurt. If I were reviewing the rooms only, I would not give them a lower mark, but given our very positive experience with the wedding reception, I cannot give anything but praise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babarmumrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

A true nightmare of a hotel- enlarged beyond its capacity and unable to live up to its promises. The position on beautiful Lake Come is wonderful but that is it. It is shabby' overcrowded and the drains are very evident. It has been very grand indeed but health and safety are not a priority. It is understaffed and front of house are very young, harrassed and need training in customer service. The dining room staff were superb and great fun but obviously underpaid as everywhere there were notices asking guests to tip them. The rooms were poorly furnished with one chair and nowhere to put a suitcase for unpacking. The corridors had never made the acqaintance of a vacuum cleaner! we are presently awaiting some compensation from our travel agent who is dealing with Shearings from whom they buy these trips (and whose brochure is largely a figment of the imagination).

Room Tip: Don't go there. No spa and no fitness centre. The pool is over the road and open to the public w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solo187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We had booked at another hotel and when my husband didn't want to stay there to move he discovered the Grand Victoria. I was reluctant to move.The room was small and did not have a lake view. What I did come to appreciate was that the back view over the city, pool and mountainside was gorgeous! Actually probably much more interesting than looking at the lake. It was also a corner room with windows that opened so we had a wonderful cross breeze at night.

The staff were extremely helpful, especially Paulo at the front desk.

There is no internet access in the rooms but it is quite pleasant to sit in the lobby and if you're lucky meet some new people to share ideas with.

The breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: corner room at the back had beautiful views and cross breezes. small though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scrap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here on a driving tour of Europe with 14 other aussies. We were very happy with this hotel. Its in a grand old building with all the splendor of the last century. The service was great, the location was fantastic and the meals in the hotel restaurant were excellent. Our tour party was very impressed on the second night by the flambe display at our table in the restaurant. We'd certainly recommend this hotel to anybody intending staying in the Lake Como area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourdeEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
642 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
13.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,082 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Victoria

Address: Via Benedetto Castelli 9, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: £191 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Victoria Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing