We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Victoria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Where do I start? My wife and I wanted to have a small 6-day getaway to Lake Como from Germany, and because of the last-minute nature of our plans - we had limited hotel options. When I found out that there would be a lake-side room available at the GHV, I was thrilled!! We didn't book the breakfast with our room, because the price of 13Euro per person seemed a bit steep. However, upon checking in, the hotel offered us the "deal" of 10Euro per person for breakfast - so we ran with it. Let's roll down the list of Pros and Cons:

PROS
- The view of the lake from our room was incredible!!! We stayed on the 3rd floor and had one of the middle rooms, which gave us an unimpeded view of Como. I cannot praise the view enough. Waking up each morning, opening the windows, and standing in awe became our morning tradition before breakfast. Fantastic!
- The staff of the hotel was always friendly, helpful, and the maids did a fine job of cleaning up the room each day.
- The location of the hotel in Menaggio is pristine. It is a very short walk to the main town square, and just a bit further walk to the ferry station.
- Parking for the hotel is fantastic. The town (like most Italian towns) doesn’t have many options when it comes to parking, but the hotel has plenty of space.

CONS
- This is not a 4-star hotel. The room was definitely old, and needs some renovation. The carpet was coming up in places, the bed was extremely hard, and the shower was actually just a tub with a shower head. There was not a shower curtain, so beware of anything in the direct vicinity of your tub while showering! The television was a joke. We didn’t watch any television while there, but a 4-star hotel ought to have more than a 13-inch screen placed on the desk. Mount it on the wall at the very least!
- The internet connection is shoddy. There were times that it worked well, and there were times (at night when you needed it most) that it did not work at all.
- The breakfast is a joke. A hotel of this caliber ought to have a better breakfast than what was provided. I could’ve just as easily gone to the store and grabbed some bread, canned fruits, and marmalade myself – and it would have cost FAR less than the 10Euros we spent per person (20 Euros per day). If you wanted anything fresh, you had to pay. Sure you could have scrambled eggs, but you’ll have to pay a premium!

Another note that I would like to add, but won’t use for the purpose of this rating: there was a wedding held during one of the nights that we were staying. We are not usually prone to complain about noise, but when the wedding venue is right below your window with a live band and fireworks well into the night – it becomes a bit of a nuisance. We would have liked at least a heads-up from the staff, so that we could’ve planned that evening as one of our nights out.

We did enjoy our trip, and made the best of the weather! We rented a boat and even took a trip out to Milano, and it was definitely a wonderful time. However, we were constantly disappointed with the hotel. Dropping over a thousand Euro to stay at a “4-star” hotel on Lake Como, you would expect a bit more. The hotel was clearly the star of Menaggio in its hey-day, but it seems like without proper renovations and changes in the breakfast policy – that hey-day has come and gone. We will return to Lake Como, but likely will not return to GHV.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a middle room if you're paying for the view. Otherwise your view might be obst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tyler105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Having just come from a true 4 star hotel in Florence( Villa Olmi) this place came as a bit of a shock. The good points ; reception staff are polite and helpful , housekeeping is clean with friendly staff , front bedrooms do have a lovely view of the lake even if blocked by magnificent trees , reception does have some old world charm .The view over the lake from the dining room was beautiful . The bad points ; the rooms and corridors lack any soul or charm , almost institutional in their feel . Pillows were of a very poor quality . One got the feeling of the whole thing being done on the cheap, cheap toilet paper, no tissues, poor lighting , no flowers or pictures beyond photographs in ill fitting clip frames. Rooms not overlooking the lake overlook the car park and then the pool . Breakfast was the worst I've ever had in a hotel , dreadful coffee, tinned fruit in Italy in August ! no toast making machine , cooked bacon and eggs 8 euros extra (on top of the 13 euro charge,) cheap jams and pastries .All served by miserable staff with barely a buongiorno between them. All in all disappointing and quite expensive. A place living on past glories.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ged H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We got the last available room which was a loft room. Old and bad beds, especially the pillows. Small boxy tv. Beautiful on the outside and pool area. Not a good selection at breakfast. Missed more fresh fruits, cucumber and tomatoes (am a vegetarian). Would have expected more for the price we payed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HFG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel was recommended to us by our travel agent whose decisions we accept without question. Located on the edge of the lake in the small town of Menaggio, elegant in the old style, no frills but spotlessly clean. Family owned for 30 years, the owner Alberto has a wine bar a few villages away he may take you there for a tasting, (if you ask nicely). We stayed half board and although the menu was limited, four courses every evening were very acceptable and in the week we were there they they were not repeated. Breakfast as some other reviewers have mentioned was not extensive, hot items, fried eggs etc available as a supplement, the addition of a toaster would have been very welcome. Dining area almost in the open, with full length windows that folded back to give the illusion you were sitting in the garden. We had a large bedroom with balcony at the front and paid extra for the "lake view", which bordered on defying the Trades Description Act, (if they have one in Italy), as the large 60 feet high trees block most tof the view of the water. In the words of Basil Fawlty (when the client says she wanted a room with a sea view) "the lake is between the sky and the land".
Summing up we had a good holiday, we liked the hotel and the little quaint town/village of Menaggio.

Room Tip: Rooms a the front get morning sun and "lake view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vexillologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have stayed at GHV 8 times previously and generally liked the albergo. It is in a converted ‘old world’ villa with little change and ancient furniture that makes it easy for one to imagine what it was like to stay in a grand hotel in the 1950’s. Other than the TVs, don’t expect top find anything new and definitely not any frills or extras of any sort The hotel fronts Lago di Como with a wonderful view (partially blocked by old evergreen trees) and is an easy walk to the piazza with restaurants and shops, lake boat docks, and 2 groceries. There is a quite nice swimming pool in back with plenty of room for sunning. The reception staff is quite pleasant, responsive and mostly helpful. Housekeeping does a great job and our chamber maid kept the room sparkling. Bathroom amenities are sparse and no Kleenex is provided. The breakfast is the most basic of the 8 hotels we stayed this travel: juice; cereals; breads, rolls and croissants; more jams and jellies than you care to look at in the morning; yogurt; mostly canned fruit; 2 types of processed meats and 2 kinds of cheese; deserts that apparently are left over from the previous night’s dinner. The woman who handles breakfast is most pleasant and cheerful and all the hotel staff were very amiable.

The serious problem arose the last afternoon we were at the hotel when (apparently) an intern employee allowed some unknown woman to enter our suite unescorted so she could see what it was like. Fortunately we were in and the woman quickly exited but had we not been in she could have wandered around and done or taken anything she wished and we might never have known she had been in there. Never mind there was a “Do Not Disturb” sign on the door and that there was no knock on the door and only the sound of the lock being turned. It certainly freaked us out! The hotel manager apologized to my partner and although my privacy had been violated (I was lying on the bed naked!) he uttered not a word of regret to me even though he had the opportunity to do so.

Finally, because our train was leaving quite early the next morning we arranged for the hotel to provide box breakfasts to take; at the appointed 6:00 departure time the night porter was nowhere to be found and we had no opportunity to eat anything until very late in the afternoon.

All else aside, THE CRITICAL CONCERN IS WHETHER THIS HOTEL WILL ENSURE THE SAFETY AND SECURITY OF GUESTS’ PRIVACY AND POSSESSIONS.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank RLWx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel must have the best location on Lake Como. Unlike many it is not on the busy lake road nor next to a ferry terminal. It is situated on a small peninsular with only a very minor one way road between you and the lake. . Despite the peace and quiet it is only a few minutes walk to the centre of Menaggioo and a few minutes more to the ferry terminal
The rooms are quite large,clean and comfortable. There is a sheltered pool behind the hotel with both sunny and shady places
The food and service is excellent. My only small complaint is the coffee - could be better. Also we were on a half board arrangement and The choice is limited. Having said that there was always something my wife and I liked. No doubt we could have chosen from the al la carte At a supplement
Do not hesitAte to stay here. You will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Choose a Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuppetKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I have no words to describe this Hotel which maintains an ancient allure almost forgotten everywhere else on the lake, an allure only true lineage can fully understand. The genius loci is kept by the family running this jewel with an incredible sense of measure, Italian courtesy and cosmopolitan savoir faire. I rent a room for an entire summer (week ends) and I had never been disappointed: when something went wrong it was immediately fixed. Make sure you include Hotel Victoria in your Grand Tour of Italy. I can also see this Hotel great potential for business events.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank simolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
644 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
472 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,137 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Victoria

Address: Via Benedetto Castelli 9, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: £186 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Victoria Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing