We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
SanJose
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Wow, what an unexpected surprise. Great location, on a Piazza, walking distance from the Lake Como water transportation, their own garage, nice staff, room overlooking the lake (window, street, sidewalk, the lake). We were there for the weekend and they had a blues group the first night, the second afternoon a parade honoring some WW2 vets, and later another band. Even without the entertainment, just sitting there enjoying the area was nice. Rooms were clean and pleasant, the standard breakfast a bit pricy. Transportation up and down the lake was a snap. Stay here when visiting Menaggio.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking street and piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLFSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    59
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
22
93
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We only dropped in for a drink or two and we met some great people, enjoyed a time which crossed wide age ranges and widely different cultures. We were made so welcome we wish we had stayed at the hotel here rather than where we had booked!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Beside the small harbour, on the edge of the town square, with the "shuttle train" (really a dressed up tractor towing dressed up carriages) stop in sight this is a prime location and for a few drinks (hot or cold, alcoholic or not) then this the place to rest your feet. The cakes and pastries on display for sale looked fabulous but we resisted (not sure how we managed that) but we did give in and have an ice cream cone from the shop about 4 doors up in the square. Lovely views of both the lake and the mountains behind it.

Note, we found several "Hotel du Lac" rstaurants around Lake Como but this one in Menaggio was the only one we tried during our visit.

Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and were very happy with our room. It was spacious and had a nice view of the lake. I had been thru hiking the Pyrenees High Route and had periodically sent some items to the hotel to hold for me until we arrived which they said they would do. When we checked in, the staff was very friendly and told me that all of my packages were waiting for me in the room which was very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel is situated in a delightful town right on the lake. The service is what one would expect from a hotel of this type: reasonable. I had an attic bedroom and it was large, very well appointed, clean and comfy. It was on the same floor as the roof terrace where we watched the night life and lights over the lake. We parked in the secure covered car park (get your luggage out at the hotel because it's a good walk back with cases) but were informed that the gate was broken (after we'd discovered that we couldn't shut it but having been told which key to operate it with). This meant that the car was actually away from all prying eyes overnight and therefore an easy target for a break-in without disturbance. When we queried this the next morning we were told that it had been locked from 10 to 6. The gate could not be closed at 10am so I am inclined to believe the first story we were told ie that the gates were broken. Parking by the hotel on the street overnight would, I think, have been more convenient and, ironically, more secure (and free).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a truly lovely hotel. From the welcome we received at check in, the lovely room with the great views of the lake and the easy relaxed atmosphere of the cafe downstairs. I would recomend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view, truly lovely to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Good position. Clean bedrooms. Just stayed 6 nights here. If you like the same breakfast everyday,(no fruit/cereal) this is for you. If you do not want to make friends with the Hotel staff, this is for you.( only good morning is said) If you wish to pay 2euros for Como map when you can walk 2mins to Information shop for it free, this is for you. If you wish to sleep with windows closed and air-con on,( rooms are above and a very busy loud bar,) this is for you. Hope you have only cash in your pocket if you eat and drink with Hotel du Lac, (no cards taken if you do so) this is for you. If you wish to stay and share your next rooms' weak bladder problem,( walls quite thin) this is for you. Garage facility @10euros per day (2euros above the top hotels near by) this is for you. Last but by no means least when checking out, passing your hard earned cash over to Reception. Not a word of concern regarding your stay, if you enjoyed visit or hoping to see you again. None of this is typical of our 20 years experiences on Lake Como. A word of advice. One can get a room here for 100euros a night without breakfast, take it as the breakfast is not worth 45 euros for two every day. This Hotel is not for us.

Room Tip: Avoid Room103
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#3 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#7 of 10 in Menaggio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 27, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Menaggio
Hotel Du Lac Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing