We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is more a bar with rooms than a hotel”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Anybody expecting full hotel service is going to be disappointed. Rather it is a bar with some rooms upstairs and a dependance across the square.We stayed four nights in the hotel itself and have no complaints.

The room was comfortable and the bathroom adequate, a little old fashioned but warm (it was snowing outside) and clean. We were in a corner room and had a fabulous view of the lake from both windows. The hotel could scarcely be better situated close to lake, ferries and buses, and right in the heart of Menaggio with shops and restaurants all within easy walking distance.

The parking costs an extra €10 over the room rate. It is situated a short walk from the hotel, about 5 minutes. I dropped off and picked up the luggage from the hotel, and took the car empty to and from the car park, rather than take the luggage to and from the car park. This did involve some slightly "Italian" parking on one occasion, if you are lucky there is space to stop next to the hotel, but it is frequently full up.

The bar is very much a locals bar. Busy in the morning with adults going in on their way to work, and students on their way to school. We were there out of season, the bar closed at seven, so we had to let ourselves in with the key provided. There is no full time reception, in fact scarcely a reception at all, more a corner of the bar serving area. Breakfast is the typical coffee and a brioche style, not a cooked breakfast. We were always able to get a table in the bar. In the morning we could hear some noise from the bar, but not at a level which disturbed us.

The hotel met my expectations, I would not say it was particularly cheap but I think we are paying for the location. I would stay there again, and would recommend it as long as there is no expectation of hotel facilities, it is more like a B&B, with breakfast being limited to coffee and cakes. It had complimentary WIFI which worked well both in the room and in the bar. I was happy, with the hotel and the location would be hard to beat. I cannot comment on the dependance. We found the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: View of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinKABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

The hotel claims to be a three star hotel. Our experience was that it would be lucky to get one star. When we arrived it was raining. We were not greeted but had to find the concierge. He was not welcoming or friendly and shouted at some of the female staff to help us to our room. We then witnessed these three or four women argue loudly about which one of them would be unfortunate enough to have to take us to our room in the rain. Finally one of them begrudgingly agreed to take us. It was then we realised that our accommodation was not part of the larger hotel but it was adjacent to the hotel in separate lodgings. We walked over in the rain (the unlucky female staff member was fortunate enough to have an umbrella which was not offered to us) and then caught a very small lift to the floor we were staying on. To our horror, we realised that the toilets were a share facility and stunk of male urine and were not clean. There was also no soap or toilet paper provided. The rooms were without TV's and were cold. After waking in the morning hoping it had all just been a nightmare, we found that we were covered in bites from the bed bugs and were stiff and sore after having rolled into the middle of the bed during the course of the night. Close to tears we decided to check out immediately and try and find any other accommodation. My husband went to tell the concierge who said that a much better room had become available for us to stay in. When my husband refused and told him that our experience was ruining our honeymoon, he rudely replied that we had booked for three nights, not one and should pay for three nights even if we were checking out. My husband had to become quite loud in expressing his disgust in front of other hotel patrons before the guy backed off and agreed to only charge us one nights stay. It really was the worst hotel either of us have EVER stayed including all back packers and camping grounds. Do not go there! P.S. For those people who are reading this review and wondering whether we are just up ourselves and snotty, I assure you we are not. We have stayed in many places across the world and in very simple surroundings. It was the shear rudeness, lack of hygiene and bed bugs that have lead to us giving this review. Do yourselves a favour and steer clear of this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We spent 2 nights at this delightful lakeside hotel, we paid 130 euro per night for a 2nd floor lake view room ,( yes there is a lift ) including breakfast,wifi and parking. The room was really nicely appointed in old world, simple charm, the bed was comfortable, the shower had lots of hot water and the people were friendly. Breakfast was served downstairs in their cafe, fresh squeezed orange juice, any type of coffee you want, fresh hot croissant, fresh rolls, jam and yoghurt . The location was perfect, right on the water , minutes to the ferry to Bellagio and the towns quaint stores and restaurants are all in walking distance. Parking was a small walk , but secure, very good wifi connectivity. A great place to stay in a fabulous town

Room Tip: Get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

A small hotel in Menaggio situated directly by Lake Como with lovely views. Very comfortable, relaxing and unpretentious (needs no pretensions) with friendly pleasant and helpful staff. Well appointed room. Easy drive from north, south and west from Lugano. Only criticism rather restricted sweet breakfast. Spent two nights, would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwardreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Wow, what an unexpected surprise. Great location, on a Piazza, walking distance from the Lake Como water transportation, their own garage, nice staff, room overlooking the lake (window, street, sidewalk, the lake). We were there for the weekend and they had a blues group the first night, the second afternoon a parade honoring some WW2 vets, and later another band. Even without the entertainment, just sitting there enjoying the area was nice. Rooms were clean and pleasant, the standard breakfast a bit pricy. Transportation up and down the lake was a snap. Stay here when visiting Menaggio.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking street and piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLFSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We only dropped in for a drink or two and we met some great people, enjoyed a time which crossed wide age ranges and widely different cultures. We were made so welcome we wish we had stayed at the hotel here rather than where we had booked!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Beside the small harbour, on the edge of the town square, with the "shuttle train" (really a dressed up tractor towing dressed up carriages) stop in sight this is a prime location and for a few drinks (hot or cold, alcoholic or not) then this the place to rest your feet. The cakes and pastries on display for sale looked fabulous but we resisted (not sure how we managed that) but we did give in and have an ice cream cone from the shop about 4 doors up in the square. Lovely views of both the lake and the mountains behind it.

Note, we found several "Hotel du Lac" rstaurants around Lake Como but this one in Menaggio was the only one we tried during our visit.

Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
2.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
472 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
435 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonenga
Hotel Sonenga
#10 of 10 in Menaggio
57 reviews
12.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 27, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: £107 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Menaggio
Hotel Du Lac Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing