We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Lac
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Garni Corona(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonenga(Menaggio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Merloni(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garden(Menaggio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alberghetto La Marianna(Cadenabbia di Griante)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
64
68
33
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
68
33
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarewatching the worldsecure parkinglake comocafe restaurantquaint hotelprivate balconythe water's edgeenjoyed our stayour room was spaciousferry portpiazzabellagioviewssnapeurosstrolling
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Our familyroom was in a building behind the hotel, nicely renovated, with windows keeping every sound out. The beds were a bit hard, but everything else was perfect :)
The reception was basicly in the Bar, and they gave good and efficient service. Breakfast was not included, but we had a nice 10-euro breakfast with good coffee in the bar in the morning, and was very pleased with it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conrad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

As the name suggests, right on the lake front in the main Piazza. Italian breakfast was included in the cafe. Comfortable beds. Balconies had views in all directions. A magical location to explore Lake Como.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Paul_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We chose this hotel mainly because we had left it a little too late to book anywhere else and this place looked like the best of the rest. We explicitly requested to be put on the 2nd floor and in no way to be put in a room above the bar, as previous reviews suggested this was a noisy area. We even got an email from the manager saying this would be fine and of course a lake view. When we arrived we were greeted by a very sullen looking girl who proceeded to embark on a long and laborious process of checking in, she obviously didn't have much of a clue and looked at us as if we were a total nuisance. When she finally gave us the room keys we found the room only to be on the 1st floor and above the bar - doh! I could write a long paragraph on what happened next but to cut a long story short, we were put in La Dependence which is a separate building literally next door to the hotel through a little alleyway. We were shown a room on the 2nd floor looking out over the lake which seemed nice. La Dependence had some quite negative reviews last year saying it wasn't very clean and it had shared bathroom facilities. Having been there (May 2013) I can honestly say they have made a very good effort in rectifying most if not all the problems. The room we were in (and I think this goes for all the rooms) was spotlessly clean, newly decorated and had new en-suite shower and bathroom facilities. The bedding seemed fresh as well and the room was tidied and cleaned every day. We were pleasantly surprised with this especially as the view over the lake was fantastic. The hotel itself which we had breakfast in was nicely situated and seemed clean but the big downside and I go back to the sullen girl at the start of this, is that most of the staff except Filippo who I think is the manager, were basically not very friendly. They didn't seem to want to help in anyway, yes they carried out their tasks but in a most dour way. There were no niceties about their demeanour and they seemed to revel in being thoroughly unhelpful. I don't know about anyone else but when I go on holiday and spend a considerable sum of money in doing so, I do expect my hosts to have a basic level of respect for their customers. So the upshot is, the Lake and surrounding areas were fantastic, the Hotel was clean and very nicely situated for all excursions around the area. But if you have a problem with politeness from your hosts then I suggest you stay somewhere else. Oh and if you get a chance, go to the top of the hotel where there is an outside bar area and good views of the lake. We didn't, weren't told about it!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room over the bar or over the restaurant. The 2nd floor of the main hotel is a good bet and La Dependence is now very nicely decorated and quite favourable.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Anybody expecting full hotel service is going to be disappointed. Rather it is a bar with some rooms upstairs and a dependance across the square.We stayed four nights in the hotel itself and have no complaints.

The room was comfortable and the bathroom adequate, a little old fashioned but warm (it was snowing outside) and clean. We were in a corner room and had a fabulous view of the lake from both windows. The hotel could scarcely be better situated close to lake, ferries and buses, and right in the heart of Menaggio with shops and restaurants all within easy walking distance.

The parking costs an extra €10 over the room rate. It is situated a short walk from the hotel, about 5 minutes. I dropped off and picked up the luggage from the hotel, and took the car empty to and from the car park, rather than take the luggage to and from the car park. This did involve some slightly "Italian" parking on one occasion, if you are lucky there is space to stop next to the hotel, but it is frequently full up.

The bar is very much a locals bar. Busy in the morning with adults going in on their way to work, and students on their way to school. We were there out of season, the bar closed at seven, so we had to let ourselves in with the key provided. There is no full time reception, in fact scarcely a reception at all, more a corner of the bar serving area. Breakfast is the typical coffee and a brioche style, not a cooked breakfast. We were always able to get a table in the bar. In the morning we could hear some noise from the bar, but not at a level which disturbed us.

The hotel met my expectations, I would not say it was particularly cheap but I think we are paying for the location. I would stay there again, and would recommend it as long as there is no expectation of hotel facilities, it is more like a B&B, with breakfast being limited to coffee and cakes. It had complimentary WIFI which worked well both in the room and in the bar. I was happy, with the hotel and the location would be hard to beat. I cannot comment on the dependance. We found the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: View of the lake.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinKABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The hotel claims to be a three star hotel. Our experience was that it would be lucky to get one star. When we arrived it was raining. We were not greeted but had to find the concierge. He was not welcoming or friendly and shouted at some of the female staff to help us to our room. We then witnessed these three or four women argue loudly about which one of them would be unfortunate enough to have to take us to our room in the rain. Finally one of them begrudgingly agreed to take us. It was then we realised that our accommodation was not part of the larger hotel but it was adjacent to the hotel in separate lodgings. We walked over in the rain (the unlucky female staff member was fortunate enough to have an umbrella which was not offered to us) and then caught a very small lift to the floor we were staying on. To our horror, we realised that the toilets were a share facility and stunk of male urine and were not clean. There was also no soap or toilet paper provided. The rooms were without TV's and were cold. After waking in the morning hoping it had all just been a nightmare, we found that we were covered in bites from the bed bugs and were stiff and sore after having rolled into the middle of the bed during the course of the night. Close to tears we decided to check out immediately and try and find any other accommodation. My husband went to tell the concierge who said that a much better room had become available for us to stay in. When my husband refused and told him that our experience was ruining our honeymoon, he rudely replied that we had booked for three nights, not one and should pay for three nights even if we were checking out. My husband had to become quite loud in expressing his disgust in front of other hotel patrons before the guy backed off and agreed to only charge us one nights stay. It really was the worst hotel either of us have EVER stayed including all back packers and camping grounds. Do not go there! P.S. For those people who are reading this review and wondering whether we are just up ourselves and snotty, I assure you we are not. We have stayed in many places across the world and in very simple surroundings. It was the shear rudeness, lack of hygiene and bed bugs that have lead to us giving this review. Do yourselves a favour and steer clear of this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews