We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly and quick service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly and quick service”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We ate at the restaurant here and the food was very good. The service friendly and prompt. The pizza (ham, cheese and tomato) was surprisingly good. It's located in a nice piazza across the street from the lake. It's also next to Gelateria Edo (excellent gelato). I was happy with this choice of restaurant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GEO_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    59
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
22
93
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
289 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The situation of this small hotel by the the Como Lake is great. Smack in the middle of Mennagio at the corner of the square and the lake. The service at the hotel is polite and personal. The cleanliness is perfect. Our room was like a bodouir - very red - including the carpet (we do not like carpets at hotel rooms) We ordered a lake view room and got one at the first floor - just over the bar. There are 2 rooms just above the bar: 101 and 102. Do not accept these rooms if you are disturbed by noise. The windows of the bar rools up - into the wooden panels under the windows in the room. They have not be insolated against the noise form the bar below and they have resultet in the french balconys to be shut off at these two rooms. We could - staying at 101 step out of our room to the stairway and enter a nice balcony place out side our room - a semi good soulution - resulting that anyone could stand at the balcony looking into your room. Above the street is the lake and the taxistation - that includes a taxi phone that is being called at any time a day or night. The bar opens for breakfast at 7 - meaning rattling with chairs at 6:30. Apart from these two rooms should have awarning about noise - our stay was quite good. And we were offered to move to another room witout lake view or to a hotel next door - with limited lake view. - As a compensation the receptionist gave us a bottle of sparkling wine at our check out. Nice folks - but noisy room

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great choice in Menaggio as hotel is located on the lake in the main square. Rooms are decent size, clean and comfortable. Hotel has a garage a block away that can be used for a small fee. Wifi works well too. Great for lakeside drinks but eat elsewhere, including for breakfast as there are much better options within a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STALF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 night stay in Menaggio, Italy at this hotel. Such a quaint neighborhood square and view of the lake. Our room was a two bedroom suite and was newly remodeled and very nice. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel's Cafe Centrale' also. If there is more than one person staying in the room. Make sure you get two keys. You don't have electricity in the room if the key is not in the wall switch. So if someone leaves the room they have to take the key to unlock the gate downstairs and the room is left without power.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carolc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Although we did not stay at this hotel, we went there each evening for a drink. We sat outside on the square at one of their many tables and watched the world go by. With the drink they served a dish of olives and a dish of crisps. Its in a nice setting near the lake and great for 'people watching'. Also had a lunchtime pizza there which was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twentytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We did not stay in the Hotel but had lunch seated in the outside area on two occasions. The first time the food was good and service friendly and reasonably efficient, but on the second visit my wife's Lasagne had obviously been cooked much earlier and re-heated, making it fairly unpleasant. Suggest if you lunch there you go in early to get food that is freshly cooked. One other minus point is that wine was also served in half bottles only, putting up the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here 2 nights while on a European road trip with some friends. The location is amazing, right on the lake, which, I might add, is one of the most beautiful places I've been in Europe. We stayed in a building not actually connected to the hotel, but the rooms and the views and the bathrooms were stunning, in an ornate way. Menaggio has great pizza, crazy putting and the world's greatest public swimming pool (Menaggio Lido, get yourself down there now), so you will not be bored. Some other great restaurants and espresso bars nearby for the authentic Ital experience. The hotel had garage facilities for our 3 vehicles. No issues there. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NotBorisBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#3 of 10 in Menaggio
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#7 of 10 in Menaggio
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
305 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
794 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 27, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Menaggio
Hotel Du Lac Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing