We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee they got!”
Review of Hotel Garni Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garni Corona
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great coffee they got!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

It's located just in front of the lake at menagio. Clean, simple hotel. They got nice coffee for breakfast, bread, cheese. Nice lake view while eating. You have to request for wifi password when you checked in the hotel, then only they will pass you the user name and password. The fan in the room is a bit noisy. And you may heard shower sound from the room next door. So, it's quite annoying when heard any weird sound. Other than that, everything is alright. But, I may choose staying at belagio instead if menagio in future, maybe belagio seems more shops or happening when we doing day trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choy_yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    119
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
264
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We requested a room with a lake view when we booked our room. Little did we know that our room also faced the road, the motor-bike parking area and the outdoor restaurants and bar seating areas. With no air-conditioning in June, it was warm enough to need the windows open at night and it was so noisy until midnight and later that it was difficult to sleep. The noise of delivery trolleys, leaf blowers and motor bikes leaving commenced around 7am in the morning which made sleeping in also difficult. If noise isn't an issue for you, this is a great hotel. The breakfasts are good, the room generous and comfortable, there is a lift and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is no parking on-site but we found a free parking spot on the street about 5 minutes walk away.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The location was lovely—situated on a quaint lake-front square in Menaggio. Our room didn't have a lake view, however it was clean although fairly basic. The breakfast was excellent. A perfect home base for exploring Menaggio and the other towns along the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calluna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed room 4 for 2 days , super clean room with a great lake view and has a balcony to relax any time of the day.Hotel has nice breakfast and friendly owners.Central location in Menaggio.
Highly recomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozgurbjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, UK
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have just come back after 4 nights at Hotel Garni Corona and enjoyed it immensely. We had a great room with balcony overlooking the Lake, complete with chairs and table. With the french doors open we were home from home. The location is fantastic being right in the square, a choice of bars, restaurants and an ice cream parlour literally within metres of the hotel door. Our room was light and airy with plenty of storage space and an enormous bed. If you want to explore Lake Como by ferry the main terminal is 5 minutes walk away and if you just want to sit in a bar and 'people watch' it couldn't be better placed. I liked the fact that you were in such a central position but by 10pm it was so quiet. We slept with the french doors undone as it was very warm when we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View Room. even if it costs more its worth every penny (Well Euro)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadian Lakes, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Hotel Garni Corona is beautifully situated on a small square fronting Lake Como. We had a room for three nights with two "French" balconies (We could open the french doors for the view and breeze, but there was no outside balcony.), and the views were spectacular. The room (#25) was simple and very clean, with a decent bathroom - no bidet, but a shower you can turn around in! Staff was courteous and pleasant, when answering our questions or dealing with a request.
We loved Menaggio. There are plenty of places to eat there, from restaurants to pizza places, and nothing beats being able to sit on the square in the evening and have an digestivo - we had lemoncellos at adjacent Cafe del Pess for 2 euros each - with a beautiful view of the lake and the people strolling the walkway along its edge.
The lake ferries are frequent on the Menaggio/Bellaggio/Varenna circuit and the station is less than a 10 minute walk away from the hotel. Bellagio and Varenna are a 15-20 minute enjoyable ride away. And Hotel Corona was a good value for us at 110 euros per night (with a 3-night discount). We definitely recommend this hotel and Menaggio as a base for exploring Lake Como.
Ferry note: the "fast" ferry takes an hour or so to go from Menaggio to Como and arrives a couple of blocks from the Como Nord station for trains to Milan. Fare is 13 - 16 euros, depending on day and discount.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is a basic, no frills hotel, a little worn, with average bedding and poor water pressure. The thing it's got going for it is a friendly staff and an unobstructed view of the lake. If you're fortunate enough to get a front-facing room, you probably won't mind its shortcomings.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichmondViaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#3 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Corona

Property: Hotel Garni Corona
Address: Largo Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 3, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Corona 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located family run hotel which offers to its guests a spectacular view on Lake Como. The hotel HAS BEEN TOTALLY RENOVATED. REDEVELOPMENT OF ROOMS AND BATHROOMS, FURNITURE, COMMON PARTS (RECEPTION AND BREAKFAST ROOMS) INTRODUCTION OF SELF-HEATING / AIR CONDITIONING, MINI-BAR & Wi-Fi CONNECTION IN EACH ROOM. TRANSITION from 2 to 3 stars - from 21 to 24 rooms. It is located in the pedestrian area in the main square of Menaggio and is within walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars, shops and one of the most beautiful promenades on the lake. It is the ideal accommodation for those who wish to come by public transport as both bus and boat stops are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It's on shore and mid mountain position makes it an ideal starting point for all kinds of excursions. The tourist office is conveniently located next door to the Hotel where information on the variety of itineraries are available. The spectrum of activities range from trail tracks day trips by car, by boat or mountain bike. If you are looking for a holiday that combines tranquility, pleasure and nature, than you have found it... WiFi is available in all hotel and is free of charge. The Hotel has not a private parking space but it is allowed to park for max 30 min in front of the hotel in the yellow spaces, or inside the street/square if the yellow spaces are alredy occupied, to unload/load Your staff. Driving along the lake side road you will find the first 200m. payment parkings; blu spaces 1 € per hour, 8 am – 8 pm. Than the white spaces, 24h free parkings. Max 400 meters away from the Hotel. THE HOTEL DOES NOT HOST GUESTS WITH SMALL CHILDREN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Garni Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Corona Hotel
Hotel Garni Corona Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing