We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great View of the Lake”
Review of Hotel Garni Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garni Corona
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with a view of the lake, this is it! It sits right on the side of the lake with a small plaza in front. To sit on your balcony at night and wake up in the morning to the view of a gorgeous lake is something not to be missed. The rooms are very clean and modern; breakfast served in a cute little room with individual tables is included and offers great items such as ham, rolls, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice etc. The cappuccino is the best I have tasted. The staff is very helpful and really nice and friendly. They really take the time to help you find boat schedules, bus schedules, or whatever else you need. There are some restaurants right around the hotel with good food, so you don't really need a car, but if you do, the hotel is only about 2 blocks from the ferry. We had a front room with a very roomy balcony where we loved to sit. The plaza area can be a little noisy as night, so if you need a lot of quiet, ask for a room that doesn't over look the lake or the plaza.

Room Tip: Front Rooms have a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a delightful little hotel to stay in. Run by a lovely family, the staff is very kind and helpful. The breakfast Area is charming and the breakfast is very good. This hotel does not have air conditioning but it does have balconies with all the rooms and fans. There is an elevator and free parking nearby. Menaggio is a charming town our favorite of all the places we visited on the boat. The boat by the way will take you to all the towns in the center of Lake Como for only €15 per person. If you're a senior you can do it for €12 but be sure to ask. Best to carry identification to prove your age.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square and lake have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Well travelled friends reccommended we stay here and we are very glad we took their advice on board. Most people visiting Lake Como tend to stay in Bellaggio, however we found the smaller lakeside town of Menaggio (where the hotel is located) to be a far more relaxing and authentic experience.

The hotel is located on the lake in the main square in Menaggio, surrounded by great little cafes and restaurants. We had a gorgeous lake facing room with a balcony on the third floor. The rooms was clean and spacious. There was no air conditioning, but a fan was provided. The bathroom was clean but a little cramped.

Our only criticism was that the wifi didn't work in our room, only out in the hallways and restaurant, but that wasn't a big problem.

The breakfast, served in the level 1 restaurant, was excellent and the staff were very helpful, providing some great restaurant and activity recommendations and arranging our travel for us when leaving.

Room Tip: Choose a lake front room, we loved our room with double sized balcont on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

It's located just in front of the lake at menagio. Clean, simple hotel. They got nice coffee for breakfast, bread, cheese. Nice lake view while eating. You have to request for wifi password when you checked in the hotel, then only they will pass you the user name and password. The fan in the room is a bit noisy. And you may heard shower sound from the room next door. So, it's quite annoying when heard any weird sound. Other than that, everything is alright. But, I may choose staying at belagio instead if menagio in future, maybe belagio seems more shops or happening when we doing day trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choy_yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We requested a room with a lake view when we booked our room. Little did we know that our room also faced the road, the motor-bike parking area and the outdoor restaurants and bar seating areas. With no air-conditioning in June, it was warm enough to need the windows open at night and it was so noisy until midnight and later that it was difficult to sleep. The noise of delivery trolleys, leaf blowers and motor bikes leaving commenced around 7am in the morning which made sleeping in also difficult. If noise isn't an issue for you, this is a great hotel. The breakfasts are good, the room generous and comfortable, there is a lift and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is no parking on-site but we found a free parking spot on the street about 5 minutes walk away.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The location was lovely—situated on a quaint lake-front square in Menaggio. Our room didn't have a lake view, however it was clean although fairly basic. The breakfast was excellent. A perfect home base for exploring Menaggio and the other towns along the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calluna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed room 4 for 2 days , super clean room with a great lake view and has a balcony to relax any time of the day.Hotel has nice breakfast and friendly owners.Central location in Menaggio.
Highly recomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozgurbjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
642 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
829 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Corona

Address: Largo Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 3, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: £102 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Corona 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located family run hotel which offers to its guests a spectacular view on Lake Como. The hotel HAS BEEN TOTALLY RENOVATED. REDEVELOPMENT OF ROOMS AND BATHROOMS, FURNITURE, COMMON PARTS (RECEPTION AND BREAKFAST ROOMS) INTRODUCTION OF SELF-HEATING / AIR CONDITIONING, MINI-BAR & Wi-Fi CONNECTION IN EACH ROOM. TRANSITION from 2 to 3 stars - from 21 to 24 rooms. It is located in the pedestrian area in the main square of Menaggio and is within walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars, shops and one of the most beautiful promenades on the lake. It is the ideal accommodation for those who wish to come by public transport as both bus and boat stops are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It's on shore and mid mountain position makes it an ideal starting point for all kinds of excursions. The tourist office is conveniently located next door to the Hotel where information on the variety of itineraries are available. The spectrum of activities range from trail tracks day trips by car, by boat or mountain bike. If you are looking for a holiday that combines tranquility, pleasure and nature, than you have found it... WiFi is available in all hotel and is free of charge. The Hotel has not a private parking space but it is allowed to park for max 30 min in front of the hotel in the yellow spaces, or inside the street/square if the yellow spaces are alredy occupied, to unload/load Your staff. Driving along the lake side road you will find the first 200m. payment parkings; blu spaces 1 € per hour, 8 am – 8 pm. Than the white spaces, 24h free parkings. Max 400 meters away from the Hotel. THE HOTEL DOES NOT HOST GUESTS WITH SMALL CHILDREN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Garni Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Corona Hotel
Hotel Garni Corona Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing