We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a stunning location”
Review of Hotel Garni Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garni Corona
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife & I stayed here in June. The position of the hotel is fantastic right on the square with perfect views of the lake. We had a room on the second floor with a small balcony & the room itself was very nice & clean. It overlooked the square & Ristorante Paolo & views across the lake to Varenna & Bellagio.
It is a 10 minute walk to the ferry & about 5 minutes to a bus stop for Como, Lugano & all the other villages on the Mennagio side of the lake. The breakfast is plentiful with cheese, ham,boiled eggs, rolls, bread, croissants ,fruit, cereals & yoghurt every day. The staff are very friendly & helpful.We had to catch an early bus to Como on our day of departure & the girl on reception ensured that we could eat breakfast before 8 & enable us to get this bus. A very kind gesture.
The hotel is very central for bars & restaurants & you are given a key to let yourself in at night.We really enjoyed our stay in Garni Corona & would definately recommend it.If you want a superb location at a reasonable price book a room here with a lake view. It certainly will not let you down.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bergkamp616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was perfect base for us for a couple of nights while exploring Lake Como. The room was spacious and clean and the property was located within a short walk to the ferry for Bellagio and Vanerra. There are a few dining options nearby, as well as a few small shops.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel and would stay again. Our rooms faced the lake and had a balcony so would highly recommend that. The rooms were clear and the location of the hotel is terrific not only to explore the town but also to take the ferry to the other villages.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KR5984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very nice comfortable little hotel on the waterfront. Excellent breakfast buffet, plenty of local restaurants. Bellagio is a short boat ride away.
Slight negative although there is a lovely balcony, we found it a little stuffy unless you kept the doors open. Friendly helpful staff.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at this hotel on the plaza in Menaggio and it was great. Small hotel and most rooms have a great view of Lake Como. Rooms are spartan, but clean and functional. Staff was helpful, courteous and kind. It's family owned and operated. No AC in room so windows are open at night and there is some crowd noise from the restaurant below, but bearable. Several great restaurants within 5 minutes. Also, close to ferry for side trips to Bellagio on Lake Como. Complimentary breakfast is typical European. Our room had a balcony, which was great in the evening for a glass of wine and lake viewing, but hotel didn't have wine glasses, so had to use water glasses. We would return here in a heart beat. Views from most rooms are spectacular, including the snow covered peaks of nearby mountains.

Room Tip: Seek a room with a view of Lake Como. All rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOSEPH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Clean, modern, well run and absolutely perfect for wine-on-the-balcony in the late afternoon or evening. Some of the second and third floor rooms have balconies with a beautiful view across the lake to Belaggio and Varenna as you wait for the sun to set over the Alps in the distance. It can also be fun to simply sit with a bottle of wine and watch and wave to people on the promenade or square. The hotel is right on the piazza, so no problem with early or late dining, and the street running up-to and around the church is lined with shops of every kind. You are within easy walking distance of the water-buses, so you won't need to rent a car to enjoy visiting many of the interesting towns in the Lake Como area. For example, it is just a few minutes by boat to Tremezzo and the lovely gardens at Villa Carlotta. Mid May was a good time to visit as it was not yet too busy with tourists or too cold and rainy, and the flowers and trees were beautiful. Wi-Fi was available, and we were impressed with the room rates considering its location.

Room Tip: If you want the best rooms, be sure to book early (6 months or more), confirm the room number and vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Friend_of_IEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

While the staff are excellent and the room is spacious. A little bit dated but good for a 2 Star establishment.

Since we were only here for 1 night just decided to go for the room that is off from the main square. It was a tad noisy due to the hussle & bussle of the main square. Also there was some sort of construction going on. The floor boards did squeak a lot I must say.

The staff being a family run hotel was very friendly. Our breakfast consisted of breads, various croissants, yoghurt, cereals, biscuits, 3 types of juices, fruit and a small selection of salamis and hams. Also they offer espresso machine coffee when you sit down which is nice. Overall breaky was decent.

Overall, I can foresee the balcony and front facing rooms to experience noise from the main square and being near 2 restaurants and a bar I can see the noise to be pretty bad. Also the cooling systems for summer could be a problem. Air con shud be installed during the hotter summer months even though we were all good.

A good score of 7.5/10 from me.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DChewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
643 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Corona

Address: Largo Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 3, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: £102 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Corona 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located family run hotel which offers to its guests a spectacular view on Lake Como. The hotel HAS BEEN TOTALLY RENOVATED. REDEVELOPMENT OF ROOMS AND BATHROOMS, FURNITURE, COMMON PARTS (RECEPTION AND BREAKFAST ROOMS) INTRODUCTION OF SELF-HEATING / AIR CONDITIONING, MINI-BAR & Wi-Fi CONNECTION IN EACH ROOM. TRANSITION from 2 to 3 stars - from 21 to 24 rooms. It is located in the pedestrian area in the main square of Menaggio and is within walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars, shops and one of the most beautiful promenades on the lake. It is the ideal accommodation for those who wish to come by public transport as both bus and boat stops are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It's on shore and mid mountain position makes it an ideal starting point for all kinds of excursions. The tourist office is conveniently located next door to the Hotel where information on the variety of itineraries are available. The spectrum of activities range from trail tracks day trips by car, by boat or mountain bike. If you are looking for a holiday that combines tranquility, pleasure and nature, than you have found it... WiFi is available in all hotel and is free of charge. The Hotel has not a private parking space but it is allowed to park for max 30 min in front of the hotel in the yellow spaces, or inside the street/square if the yellow spaces are alredy occupied, to unload/load Your staff. Driving along the lake side road you will find the first 200m. payment parkings; blu spaces 1 € per hour, 8 am – 8 pm. Than the white spaces, 24h free parkings. Max 400 meters away from the Hotel. THE HOTEL DOES NOT HOST GUESTS WITH SMALL CHILDREN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Garni Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Corona Hotel
Hotel Garni Corona Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing