We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply gorgeous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lido di Menaggio

Lido di Menaggio
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
314 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Simply gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Menaggio has the best waterfront promenade of all towns on the lake, wide, long, paved, full of flowers and fountains. Right off it is a very nice pedestrian centre with a couple of small churches and a comparatively wide main piazza with cafes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IlyaBurlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    22
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We thought we would try the lido out, unfortunately after being there only 30 minutes I managed to get a large splinter wedged into my foot approx 2 inches long from the decking boards. When seeking medical help we were faced with none and left to deal with it ourselves. Finally I managed to get someone to speak a little English, they offered no help and directed us to the local hospital to have it removed even though there was a medical centre a 5 minute walk away which they never told us about. We went back to the lido to claim the 27 euros we had paid (not cheap) and was told they would not reimburse, to say we were disappointed was an understatement. Very disappointed by the service and reaction I was just grateful that it wasn't one of my child's foot it went into!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Well.....we were looking forward to visiting the lido and had researched it before we arrived in Lake Como. We were very disappointed when we walked to the Lido to find that it was shut. It had no details of re-opening and members of the local community advised us that the owners had been in trouble with the authorities and had been forced to shut.

It was only on our last day when we rode out of the area that we saw the Lido had re-opened.

I dont know for what reason this was shut but in the height of summer it would have been nice if the sign was more informative other than "closed".

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent_Jode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good place to spend a few hours but quite expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were staying in Menaggio and visited the lido a few times. There are two pools with a small one for the kids but larger for the adults. You will need a bathing hat to swim here. There is a large sandy area where you can hire sun loungers, umbrellas and there is a beach area to get into the lake. You can also hire beach huts. There is a play area for smaller children. There is a cafe and a seated area. We chose to go on the sand and swim in the lake. It is quite expensive but cheaper after 2pm €5 per adult, €3 for a lounger and €2 for an umbrella.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RJT456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Thought it would be fun to experience a lido and swim! Unfortunately, the lido was a little expensive to get into. Once we got in, we realized that the pool was so packed that we wouldn't even be able to swim. Also, the pool required swim caps (which we did not have) and did not want to be forced to buy since it didn't seem so relaxing to swim in a crammed pool! We tried to get our money back but it didn't work. Not what I had expected

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Eeaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lido di Menaggio also viewed

Menaggio, Lake Como
 

Been to Lido di Menaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing