We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bellavista
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Lac(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonenga(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Merloni(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garden(Menaggio)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alberghetto La Marianna(Cadenabbia di Griante)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
74
137
66
39
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
137
66
39
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake comobreadlakeside roomdining roomcroissantshalf board basiscontinental breakfastbooked this hotelthird floorstreet viewrecommend hotelthree starextra costtea or coffeepool area ispastafantastic location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at The Bellavista. It is well named, the views across the lake where stunning. The hotel was clean and the towels etc changed daily but that is where the praise stops. Most hotel staff and owners are proud of their hotel and eager for visitors to have a good experience, not here. The owners were unfriendly and unhelpful, and this is echoed by the staff. No one smiled, an occasional curl of the mouth was seen by at least one guest! The food was poor, the pasta courses were fine but other courses ranged from dire to ok. This is a country with a wide range of ice creams, cakes desserts etc but every night we were offered icecream, fruit salad and only if pushed, the occasional piece of cake, without cream or sauce. We discovered on the second day that the menu was the fixed price deal for the terrace restaurant at 26 euros a head, for 3 courses. We chose to eat out one night, a much better quality meal, with coffee came in at the same price, but the wine and water were cheaper. Finally there has to be mention of the beds, they are firm which is not unusual in Italy but you only get one very thin pillow with the constituency of a paving slab. A fellow guest asked for a replacement softer pillow and was met with great hostility and amazement. Would we return, no - for a similar price there are much better hotels in this area of the lake.

Room Tip: If you do go, choose a lake view, balcony and ask for a room one 1,2,or 3 as the balconies on 4 are brick walls so when you sit down you cannot see over them.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doeplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

In August I stopped by for a piece of cake (mediocre), a cup of coffee and some mineral water on the terrace - the view was lovely, but the service surly. The waitress made it quite clear that I should have brought cash when I handed over my card at the end, I left with an uncomfortable feeling and shall not return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Peony_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

When visiting we had the same experience like some other reviewers said. We stayed two nights last minute and were met with a really unfriendly staff. They didnt feel like helping us at all. Good think we had a room with aircon because the place was small and facing the street, so we couldnt leave the window open.

The breakfast was not as expected, lacking choice and you had to be fast. If you're the last to have breakfast, there's not a lot left!

Dont try to have a drink at the bar, they dont feel like helping nor serving. The bar closes at 11 but ordering at 10.30 was frowned upon!

The only really friendly member of the staff was the cleaning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We travelled around Lake Como, and it is blessed with many great views, but few are any better than from the balcony of room 204. The pearl of Bellagio to the right, Varenna to the left and the expanse of the central lake before you.

It would be a shame to miss this hotel, the room we stayed in was recently renovated in a clean and elegant style, with everything you would need. We booked the hotel directly and were checked in by the same Lady who took the booking, she has been charming and helpful through out. We owe her a thanks. The restaurant has a wonderful terrace on the lake, making Bellavista a very real dining experience. Coffee and croissants for breakfast over looking the lake is a special way to start the day, and our new friends have convinced us the Fish they had for dinner was the best they ever had.

The room was kept spotlessly clean though the diligent work of a very dedicated member of staff, who gets special mention as she repeatedly rearranged her schedule to accommodate us.

We mixed our stay with days by the lovely pool and have had the best of both worlds, which can be rare on Como, so I hope this review gets others to have as much fun. The view is exceptional, the location special and both should be enjoyed.

Room Tip: 204 with beautiful lake view from the balcony and vigorous air con.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you are looking for charm, friendliness and good Italian cuisine, then avoid the Bellavista Hotel. It fails to deliver on all three.

On arrival at the hotel (after being delayed and following a 3 hour transfer) we were greeted with indifference. Apart from a request for our passports, no other communication was forthcoming and we were sent with our cases to our 3rd floor room in a rickety lift.

The room (303) was small, dated and very tired. Although we did had a lake view, we had no air conditioning. (Only one room on this floor according to the receptionist has air conditioning.) Throughout the week the room was stifling and we slept with the doors open. We did get a fan for the room when we complained about the heat, yet this was after fierce discussion with reception. Customer care is not a priority of the hotel.

Unfortunately B&B was not available with our Thomson's booking, thus we booked half board. We would always prefer to venture out to eat. The food at the hotel was dire throughout the week, on par with poor quality school dinners. Equally the service was poor. No one ever explained where dinner was served; how we ordered; what the desserts were, nor at any stage did anyone ask how we found the food. Timing between courses was dependent on how busy the "other restaurant" was. The cold breakfast was adequate but repetitive. Staff had to be asked to replenish low food stocks, rather than this happening as a matter of course. On a positive note, the coffee at breakfast was fine, as was a lemon sorbet we had one night.

The management and waiters of the Bellavista are clearly not interested in their package tour guests. Instead they are preoccupied with their passing trade customers in the restaurant, who are afforded with a veranda Lakeside view, and their European clientele who have booked directly, rather than through an English tour operator. It feels like the hotel operates a two tiered, segregated system. The re-furbished rooms below us, which do not appear to be offered to Thomson clients, reflect this.

The hotel's location on the Lake is ideal - near to the ferry terminal, the bus stop and the centre of the resort. This could be a really lovely place to stay if the package tour rooms were upgraded; the staff were sent on an intensive customer service training course; and the quality of the food improved significantly.

Overall our holiday was enjoyable but we would definitely not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 303 and make sure you have air con. Reception told us that only one room on our floor had air con. The floor below has been modernised.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJB12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews