We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location is everything”
Review of Hotel Bellavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellavista
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“location is everything”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel wears it's 3* well - you get what it says on the box. Food is typical for an Italian 3* is simple, generally well cooked and plentiful. Continental breakfast only but again as much as you can eat. Rooms are on the small side but kept very clean. The hotel is small and the staff get to know you quite quickly and are always ready to help. A good grasp of basic English is common and the reception staff have a good grasp. The owner never smiles but the feel of the hotel is friendly. The major PLUS point is the hotel's position. Nearly every room has full uninterrupted lake views better than most on the lake and a balcony. The pool and restaurant are also lake side again uncommon on Como. The ferry dock, town square and promenade and bus stop are all outside the hotel. We would recommend for touring, walking and cycling trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    129
    60
    32
    28
See reviews for
42
198
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on 10/9/2013 - 11/9/2013. Hotel located very well. The promenade starts from it. Near it there is a public parking which was full when we arrived. A parking place in 8 Euro cost for one day was offered to us. We eventually found a parking place few minutes walks from there. Room small but very clean and well maintained. Bathroom size very large and comfortable. Wi Fi reception OK. Our room addressed the street and not the lake.
On the floor that we stayed on, elevator didn't reach room level and we need to carried the luggage up few stairs. No hustle but just note it. Breakfast was good. We sat on the terrace with Como lake view

Room Tip: If you want to add money to room price ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItzikLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Mixed feelings... The two young women on reception were fantastic when we arrived. Very accommodating and helpful. The concierge, a young guy, who seemed to the concierge, cleaner and repairman was also ever-helpful and smiling. The elderly couple who ran the hotel made it difficult to feel welcome.... They made every customer feel as if we were causing them inconvenience by our presence, and all staff had to ask their permission every time we requested something.
That being said.... The hotel is very basic, it has not been renovated in a long time. Breakfast is basic, but the dinner we had there was very good, and the wait staff were helpful and pleasant. The views across the lake is also very good.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

expect basic and you wont be disappointed,The hotel is tired and in need of a refurb,dont expect a cooked breakfast because there isnt one, the only good thing about the evening meal was that it was hot,packet soup, instant mash and over cooked meat and fish were order of the day, one evening main course was scrambled egg with sprouts both good in their own right but I have never had them together. The rooms are basic with out of dated furiture , no english TV, and no fridge in the room.
The matriarch who runs this family hotel does not take criticism gladly ,God forbib you ask for anything, she should not be in the service industry her negative attitude seeps into every aspect of this well placed hotel even the staff come across as terrified of displeasing her.
The only saving grace of this hotel is that is on the lake with excellent views.

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suseigreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Menaggio hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Should be removed from the brochures .Should have read prior customers comments. Please do read the hotels reviews first. Be Warned!! Ran out of food at breakfast. Doors locked at 11:10pm lights out. Offered scrambled egg and SPROUTS for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank printer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I only wish I had believed the terrible reviews I had read about this hotel before going, because if I had, I would not have picked this hotel. Bellavista - the positive parts: the view is lovely and the coffee at breakfast was drinkable too. That is it people - I can not find another nice thing to say about this hotel. The receptionist (young lady) was nearly polite & nearly helpful. The older man & lady were rude, indifferent and clearly could not care less about package holiday customers - we were treated like second class citzens and felt like one too. At breakfast and dinner we were not permitted to sit anywhere near the lake to enjoy the view this hotel has but at our allotted table four rows back, away from the lake. The tables with the beautiful views near to the lake were kept for the restaurant customers rather than tour package guests. We sat in a row with other Thomson and Ingham's guests two tables deep - I honestly felt like I had been placed on the naughty table at school. The food was awful - another guest commented to me that it wasn't that bad. My view is 'not that bad' is not good enough. We were in Italy - the country of gastro food and were having to make do with the very poor, luke warm effort served by this hotel. Breakfast was bearable but with little selection, but again poor compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Italy. Our room did not have air conditioning or a balcony and certainly had not been refurbished any time in the last twenty years. It was fairly clean although certainly not spotless. Some tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked & the hand held shower/bath tap dripped continuously, adding to the stain already on the bath. The bath towel I was given was threadbare & had a small hole in it & my bed sheet had been lovingly darned by someone. The beds were uncomfortable and pillows thin but in all honesty I coped with this ok. We were at this hotel in early August and it was extremely hot - we very stupidly thought we had booked a room with air conditioning but apparently we had not. We spoke to the receptionist to ask if we could move room, pay extra or get a fan to help us cope with the heat in our room. The answer was a very clear no. There was no discussion or debate about this, it was our fault for booking in August when it was hot. I then complained loudly and enthusiastically - I asked if they ever read their reviews on trip advisor to which she very smugly stated - no. I suggested maybe they should and make some improvements according to comments. It was at this point the older man stepped in and stated he would see what he could do re a fan. Credit where credit is due - a fan was delivered to our room the next day, making our room a much more comfortable temperature. I thanked the older man but again this is where the hotel staff come into a class of their own, he just dismissed me. According to the hotel receptionist, on the third floor there is only one room with air conditioning - this is not room 103 .

Room Tip: Don't go here - I can't recommend this hotel at all based on our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MazzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at The Bellavista. It is well named, the views across the lake where stunning. The hotel was clean and the towels etc changed daily but that is where the praise stops. Most hotel staff and owners are proud of their hotel and eager for visitors to have a good experience, not here. The owners were unfriendly and unhelpful, and this is echoed by the staff. No one smiled, an occasional curl of the mouth was seen by at least one guest! The food was poor, the pasta courses were fine but other courses ranged from dire to ok. This is a country with a wide range of ice creams, cakes desserts etc but every night we were offered icecream, fruit salad and only if pushed, the occasional piece of cake, without cream or sauce. We discovered on the second day that the menu was the fixed price deal for the terrace restaurant at 26 euros a head, for 3 courses. We chose to eat out one night, a much better quality meal, with coffee came in at the same price, but the wine and water were cheaper. Finally there has to be mention of the beds, they are firm which is not unusual in Italy but you only get one very thin pillow with the constituency of a paving slab. A fellow guest asked for a replacement softer pillow and was met with great hostility and amazement. Would we return, no - for a similar price there are much better hotels in this area of the lake.

Room Tip: If you do go, choose a lake view, balcony and ask for a room one 1,2,or 3 as the balconies on 4 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doeplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
2,930 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
121 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellavista

Property: Hotel Bellavista
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 21, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellavista 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Menaggio, directly on the lakeside, Hotel Bellavista enjoys a magnificent panorama across the heart of Lake Como. The view of Bellagio is amazing, unique, because we have the best position in the center of the lake.The spacious veranda of the "Ristorante del Porto", the solarium with swimming pool and the terrace enable guests to relax to the full in a wonderful setting. Just 150 m from the ferry boat and water bus landing stage and 50 m from the bus stop. The hotel offers comfortable rooms all with satellite TV and safe. Tea room, bar, free WIFI in the whole hotel, lift, garage, car park, private mooring for motorboats. 18-Hole golf course 2 km. Away (Menaggio & Cadenabbia Golf Club) with special arrangements for Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellavista Hotel Menaggio
Hotel Bellavista Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing