We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience on average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonenga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonenga
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good experience on average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Rooms more cheaply furnished than the impression given by the pictures, however balcony very useful and view splendid. Rooms were cleaned daily very well. Minimum depth of swimming pool at 80cm prevented our 3 year old from using it. Breakfast was ok but spartan and could run empty if you arrived too late. Restaurant quality was below standard for this region, however Menaggio center is only 7 minutes pleasant walk away. The lobby wifi could reach our room, but bandwidth was low, and flacky. Overall we were satisfied with our stay for 7 nights, but at 180 euro per night, the minor faults mentioned above pulls the rating down to 3 stars.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Axel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    12
    5
    14
See reviews for
19
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We booked Sonenga because it looked good nonlinear. What a mistake! When we arrived, we drove up for a look and instantly regretted our decision. There is no way this hotel is 3 star, although it charges like it is.

We called to see if we could cancel. He said yes that was fine. The next night during dinner he called me go see where we were, was angry, denied speaking to me (even though it is in my call log), told me he was charging a no show fee and then hung up on me.

Thank god we didn't stay there!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Menaggio hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Rome
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel and still unsure of why I chose it. It is up a hill - don't be walking with any luggage. A taxi should charge (8 Euros - for 5 minutes!) but they charged us 9 because his car was new. Yussef from the hotel will do it for 5 in his pocket.
The reception was closed when we arrived and we had to wait for someone to show up. We had booked the room online. It was cold and we were subsequently told that there is no heating in the rooms booked online but we could get one for an extra 10 Euroa per night - we really had no choice it was very cold. Not surprisingly we could not get a receipt for the extra 20 euros for our 2 nights just a car salesmans smile as it went into the pocket.
A previous review got a warning - not us! Woke up - no water - yes no water at all. When approached staff were not interested and certainly not in any hurry to do anything about it - oh there was any extra charge for the 'community'. No apology for no water, no suggestion of any 'discount'. Hotel restaurant offered a special meal deal - thank goodness we didn't take it - same food must cheaper in town.
Won't be back - ever. You shouldn't put yourself through this - pay extra elsewhere if necessary

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vjawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

I'm writing this review solely as a warning to those who, like I did, may have booked this hotel online because it seemed to be the most accessible during the Lake Como off-season. Please do not do this!

I booked two nights (during my honeymoon) at the hotel Sonenga though their on-line reservations engine, which I found out too late was not actually powered by the hotel itself, but rather through booking.com. I received a prompt confirmation number via email though booking.com, but, unfortunately, upon reaching the hotel (again, during my honeymoon!) sadly discovered that it was not open. (I learned while reserving hotels for my honeymoon trip, as I'm sure everyone reading this has, that many hotels around the lakes in northern Italy are closed for the winter.)

Thankfully, we were able to find another hotel in Menaggio that was open. But not before calling the reservations number for booking.com and being told that they had no idea that the Sonenga was a seasonal hotel! (We also later received an automated email from "noshow@booking.com," much to our chagrin.)

When this hotel is actually open, it might be a nice option. But it is located on a hill above the lake, and isn't easy to get to via GPS (the GPS unit we had in our car had difficulty finding the address of the hotel) and poses a bit of a hike on foot to get to the lake (10-15 minutes of walking may not be difficult for anyone who walks regularly, but may be off-putting for folks used to driving everywhere). However, if in a room with a view of the lake, I bet the view would probably be nice.

My ultimate advice would be to call (or email?) ahead to the Sonenga to make sure it's open when you plan on visiting. Apparently it has a pool (which we saw no sign of from the outside, I'm afraid to say), and that might be nice to visit during the summer months.

Good luck with your stay! And please reserve smarter than I did.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
5 Thank IreneMarried2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalunya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

This hotel dosen’t meet the minimum standards for a three star hotel. For instance, the door that acces to the reception is always closed. The same happens with the door that gives you acces to the fitness and the sauna. We did ask for the timetable and each day we had a different answer, but the fact was that the doors were always closed. Only open the reception to do check-in and check-out, previous waiting a long time after ringing a bell.
The rooms are spacious but the furniture is simple, old and not very functional. The bathroom, small, bad distributed, small shower, uncomfortable and full of lime ... which gives the feeling of dirty and poorly preserved.
Breakfast offers very little variety and there is a handnote saying that you can only eat one crossiant! ... In addition in the dining room we found a cockroach.
There was a note informing customers that as the hotel was full, they could run out of water! ... Not hot water ...not water at all!
We decided to shorten our stay ... but it was impossible because after talk with the owner, he told us that if we wanted to leave we had to pay the entire stay, despite the cancellation policy did not say anything about it.
WE DO NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL THIS HOTEL !!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2008

We had a wonderful experience at Hotel Sonenga with our two teenage daughters. The hotel is definitely a trek from the downtown area, but for us, that just added to the adventure. The best part of travel is experiencing life like the locals. Hotel Sonenga is located in a residential neighborhood at the top of a steep ramp and step climb. We took a taxi to get to the hotel with our luggage, and of course the driver knew Roger, who was ready and waiting for us when we arrived. Once there, the place was wonderful. It has a beautiful pool to lounge by, and breakfast on the deck was thoroughly enjoyable. The pool also has a bar that will prepare a light lunch as well. Breakfast had nice European style choices. The rooms were clean and efficient; and the views spectacular. As long as you know that this isn't downtown, it is a great find.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BraintreeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2007

Hotel Sonenga makes traveling in Italy one of the best experiences a couple could have! Roger and his family makes your stay there so relaxing and informative. The hotel is very clean, breakfast wonderful and we would stay there on each trip if possible. The little town of Mennagio is not a tourist trap and the Lake Como is awesome.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank lossola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menaggio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#9 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#5 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#7 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#3 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonenga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonenga

Property: Hotel Sonenga
Address: Via Monsignore Emilio Poletti 8/b, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonenga 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonenga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonenga Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing