We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Costanza
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
limassol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice option”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stay here if you are travelling to Venice by car (there is parking) or if you do not want to spend a fortune on accomodation on the island. The rooms are basic (but comfortable in size) and clean. It felt more like we had rented a room rather than stayed in a hotel but it did what it was supposed to do.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor (room next to the door), easier to get the things in and out of the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apollonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    211
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
158
384
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Okay, so you're not in Venice proper, but who cares when you've got a staff to care for you like they have at the Hotel Villa Costanza. What's right? The people who work there, the rooms, the price and the location. The bathroom was also very nice so nice I need to mention it.

You're within a few blocks of the train station with quick (and cheap) access to Venice and a jumping off point for places like Murano and Burano. Definitely would recommend this hotel for those people who aren't afraid for a bit of adventure on the bus or train into Venice. And yes, riding both is quite the adventure. Having stayed both in and outside of Venice, I'd now definitely stay in Mestre.

When I started to look for a place to stay for 2 nights at the starting off point for our trip to Croatia, it was becoming impossible. We were renting a car in Venice and flying into Italy because it was just more convenient. All the B&Bs and hotels wanted a guaranteed 2 nights. We were flying to Venice as our jumping off point so agreed to spend one day there looking around. Hotel Villa Costanza was willing to rent to us for 2 nights - Friday and Saturday.

Really can't say enough about the staff. During our 2+ weeks in Europe in September these folks were the best - absolutely the best. In fact when we left the young lady who ran the desk said she was so sad. And you know what? I believe her. You won't go wrong by staying there.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a very quiet street. We had the window open and were awaken by the church bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieHeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

After reading all the great reviews we decided to book this hotel. We stayed 4 nights and were very pleased! The staff was fantastic! The rooms were very clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. Breakfast was good, under 8 euros per person. Free wifi and its fast!
Just a short walk to the bus stop or train station. We chose to use the train. Round trip for the 2 of us was 4.80 euros a day. This was a great place to stay while visiting Venice!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel was very clean. The rooms are very modern.
The location was great for visiting Venice. You are a 2 minute walk from the bus stop or the train to get into Venice. I would definitely reccomend this hotel to anyone who would like to visit Venice but not spend too much on a hotel in the actual city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle U.K.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Staying in Mestre proved to be perfect not only as a base to visit Venice but also due to the Railway station also to get to Verona.
The Villa Costanza is a great hotel with modern bedrooms, great bathrooms and excellent service from the staff.
It is only a 5 minute walk to the railway station whilst being a quiet location.

Room Tip: To get the A/C to work you must have the windows closed and you may need to contact reception to act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_J57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Modern Hotel, very clean and modern room, with all the facilities, breakfast was very complete, good location, easy to get to Venice (train station 2 min walk and bus in the corner). Last but not least, very friendly employees (compliments to Monica and Demetrio:) ). We recommend this Hotel for its excellent relation between price, quality and location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarida_Costa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I read with amazement the positive reviews of this place!

We arrived from travelling for 1 month, and the 2 guys behind the desk just looked at us as we struggled with luggage. One even came out onto the sidewalk to look, and then walked back in empty handed. One then walked us up to our room on the 2nd floor as we again dragged luggage by ourselves onto the elevator. There was not even a suggestion of an offer of help.

Calling the front desk at 11pm to leave a wake up call for the morning, we were asked if we would come down immediately and check out now so we could "pay". When I reminded him that the room was prepaid, he suggested that I come down now to pay the 4 euro pp tax. I declined, and told him that I would check out and pay the tax when I actually left the hotel. Yikes!

Mestre itself is a scary place. We were propositioned walking from the Mestre Station to the hotel at 8pm on a Sunday night by a scary looking lady in fishnet stockings. She just screamed "cento euros" (100 euros) at us. I guess that was her starting price. Now I know why there's a giant condom dispensing machine right on the main road.

Choose another hotel, and certainly don't come here if you are women travelling alone. It did not feel safe at all. Prostitutes, gypsies and guys right off of the boats.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiltboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanzasco, Direttore at Hotel Villa Costanza, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
We are sorry for the short and unpleasant experience of the guest (young 30/40 years) at our hotel and we would like to reply to what they wrote about.

In all likelihood, if they could have stayed few days more at the hotel like other customers, interacting with the staff and taking advantage of the services offered, testing the quality, professionalism and friendliness they would certainly have a different memory, maybe positive.
We believe that the hotel and services offered free of charge sometimes gives a higher category or at least generate the customer a higher expectation, but we would like to remember that ours is only a small 3-star hotel where some services are not compulsory, for example restaurant, porterage, reception and bar 24 h , etc. ..
In any case, the staff is always available to help when they see customers in trouble, but in this case the two guys had with them a couple of trolleys not too bulky and in the absence of any requests for help the two boys at the reception (one of the two was not on duty and was leaving after having finished his shift) did not believe it was necessary to intervene.
Usually, in order not to delay the early check-out at 5:00 am with the booked transfer to the airport the Management suggests customers to pay the city tax in the evening, before departure as the reception service is not open before 7:00 in the morning, so we try to give better service to the customer.
The review is useful, because for future cases we will clarify the concept in advance.
For the episode occurred at the railway station with the lady of the road that bothered them, we cannot say anything but the fact that, as in any other city of the world, the station area is very convenient in terms of logistics but is not always well populated (especially at night).
Anyway we believe that it is questionable penalize the hotel that is located 250/300 meters from the station in a quiet residential neighborhood.
In any case, from every criticism, even if sometimes not justified, we can obtain positive elements to constantly improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
1.5 mi away
Villa Barbarich
Villa Barbarich
#1 of 58 in Mestre
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#10 of 58 in Mestre
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Quid Hotel Venice Airport
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#11 of 58 in Mestre
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Costanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Costanza

Property: Hotel Villa Costanza
Address: Via Monte Nero 25, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#1 Family Hotel in Mestre
#5 Best Value Hotel in Mestre
#10 Business Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Costanza 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Costanza is a boutique hotel, one of the few hotels classed as a superior three-star. It stands 250 metres from the railway station of Venezia-Mestre,creating a welcoming, relaxing ambiance in a valuable nineteenth-century building,restored with ancient materials with a wide car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Costanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Costanza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing