We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated - impersonal - industrial est”
Review of NH Laguna Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Laguna Palace
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Isolated - impersonal - industrial est”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed here for one night as part of a tour group with The Travel Department. Please Note Travel Department: don’t us this isolated hotel, it is such an anti-climax, surely you could find a better hotel. The hotel is build in two sections (called towers), when we arrived at the first tower were told to go to the other tower which was a long walk from there to be greeted by another reception area. The meals and breakfast were operated in the First tower. There was no internal connection between the 2 towers. It is built of Glass and Steel. I felt it was a train station as so many large groups were filtering through. It seems to be build for this ‘group booking’ only, - no night life around the area as its in the middle of an industrial estate. No tea/coffee making facility in rooms or any other place in hotel. There is no direct transport to it. Bad ending to my holiday here.

Room Tip: Not treated as a guest, too much of a distance between the 2 parts of hotel. Cold Comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    882
    372
    162
    85
See reviews for
305
644
64
787
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Extremely rude, unhelpful staff and most of them do not speak English, the ones that attempted to speak English didn't do a great job of it. Noisy rooms, noise from street on one side, change rooms noise from boats banging on other side. The door system is that you scan your key card it makes a very loud buzzing sound for ten seconds when the door opens - when in bed you can hear all the other people on your corridor going into their rooms.

The air con is a joke, in the first room it didn't work I rang reception they couldn't understand, so I eventually just tried to sleep in the heat. An hour later I was awoken by hotel staff knocking on my door giving me towels, it was midnight they obviously thought this is what I rang for (if I had needed towels, i would have been dry by then anyway).

The menu for both the room service and restaurant is not in correct English so it's a surprise what you are going to get and all that is available on room service is frozen meals and pre made sandwiches. When I asked if I could get food from the restaurant to my room I was told no. There is very little option on both menus and even then the food was awful. For breakfast the eggs I got were definitely not cooked and the dinner was saturated in oil and the portions are small.

The location is bad. Far from Venice and not much around the hotel except supermarkets and a few cafes.

On the plus side the rooms are clean but I will never stay there again and recommend anybody else not to stay there. The staff definitely don't seem to want people staying there as they will not try help you with anything, not even information about Venice. They where all alike but one in particular Sandra spoke some English but rolled her eyes when I asked for information.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The location was poor if you wanted to enjoy Venice. The room was big and clean. The bed was very hard and the ac was very poor unable to control the temperature from your room. First time we ran out of soap in a hotel.each tablet was for a single use.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pecaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIE
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Rooms ok, clean. Breakfast typical Italian (not too many choices, but ok.). Taxi to Piazzale Roma € 20.-, Water Taxi € 200.- Problems to find a Taxi back from Venice. It can be recommended, if you dont need a small or an expesive room in Venice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1meweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

When arriving at a 4 star hotel you do not expect to be asked to go back out and walk about 200 meters to come to reception number two. then to find out if you would like a drink in the bar you will need to return to the other section of the building. or for breakfast the same thing. Room ok but could have been designed with some more thought and emotion.
Then when finally getting to the bar you feel like the staff are almost asking why you are there and should you not go back to your room as you are disturbing their evening.

sorry Did not like it

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squashhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Pros: The stuff was helpful, hotel room was very spacious for our standards and extra clean, unique view from our room.
Cons: Breakfast had fresh products but poor variety

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria_tr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed as part of a tour of Italy through Trafalgar Tours. Since the time we stayed there a relative went on the same tour and were lucky enough to be booked at a different hotel.

I must say the rooms and the hotel weere very clean and modern. By European standards they were large. Our gripe is more about the fact that it lacked any personality. If you are going to stay in Venice or the vecinity you want some character. The tour guide even went as far as to compare it to a prison ( a nice prison, but a prison all the same).

The rooms were extremely warm but the thermostat was diabled and we had to suffer through two uncomfortable nights. Thankfully we were able to open one window a small amount right at the head of the bed to get some air in the room. This of course caused us to lose some privacy. Right across the street there was a 24 hour gym that was open and an office was manned all evening directly across from our room.

The food for breakfast was just average but dinner was excellent the first night and easily our worst meal of our entire trip on the second night. The vegetable soup was very good but the pork chops served were as dry as shoe leather. The service was between fair and poor with a definite attidude from the manager. To get to to the dining room for diner you had to go out one building and walk around to the other building.

All in all I would say this is a hotel for business travelers to the area but definitely not for tourists given its sterile environment and distance from Venice proper.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nytraveler604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bologna
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#9 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Barbarich
Villa Barbarich
#1 of 58 in Mestre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Laguna Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Laguna Palace

Property: NH Laguna Palace
Address: Viale Ancona 2, 30172, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mestre
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#9 Business Hotel in Mestre
#17 Family Hotel in Mestre
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Laguna Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Laguna Palace hotel in Venice is characterized by its attractive contemporary design, great location in the city, and top-quality service and amenities. The hotel's conference center is a point of reference for business professionals. The hotel itself is made up of two main buildings, linked together by a flat and transparent glass roof. This splendid architecture makes the NH Laguna Palace hotel one of the largest covered structures in Europe. A marina sits between the two hotel buildings, offering water access to the canals that take you straight into the heart of Venice. Guests at the NH Laguna Palace hotel can comfortably reach Saint Mark's Square and water taxis may dock right at the hotel. NH Laguna Palace is a charming and enchanting destination, as well as the perfect to relax and have a drink in the summer. Elegance and sobriety are combined in this unique hotel, making it the ideal base for both business travelers and tourists. The NH Laguna Palace hotel benefits from a highly privileged location, a mere 15-minute drive from the Venice Marco Polo Airport and only 5 minutes from the Mestre railway station. If you want to spend a charming and relaxing stay near Venice, NH Laguna Palace is the perfect choice to reach this romantic city. The historical city center of Venice is just 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, NHHotels, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH Laguna Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Laguna Palace Hotel Mestre
Nh Laguna Palace Venice
Laguna Suites
Nh Laguna Palace Hotel Venice
NH Laguna Palace Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing