We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A descent hotel, but strictly for businessmen..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Laguna Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NH Laguna Palace
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Athens
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A descent hotel, but strictly for businessmen..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

I have been to Venice, as a member of a group for a trip to north Italy. The last part of our trip was 2 days in Venice and we have stayed in NH Laguna (cheaper for groups I suppose..).
The hotel is a modern one, with big rooms, good sized bathroom (with a glass window to prevent the water out of the tube) , good toiletries (no body milk). The breakfast was just basic: scrabbleg eggs and bacon, 2 different jams (of average quality), bread, cheese, ham. The good things were the croissants (3-4 different kinds, with cream or chocolate, delicious) and the coffee from the machine, although you had to wait in a queue. And the breakfast area was in the other building- we had to walk outside for a while. Fortunately, it didn't rain..
But is is in the middle of nothing... Of course there are a few restaurants nearby, but in the night you feel awkward there.. The railway station is a litlle bit far away, and ok, you can have a water taxi if you dont mind the cost (they are so expensive...)
Another thing we noticed was the bad service of the reception. Reception gives little help- even for a map you have to ask.. One member of the group had a daughter who didn't feel well the night we arrived. They didn't give him even a thermometer for the child!! He had to walk a bit to find the station, where he found a thermometer from the reception of another hotel!!!
So, in my opinion, if you are there for businees and you don't mind the money for water taxis, ok. But if you are a tourist, prefer to go to a hotel in Venice (more expensive of course) or to a hotel closer to the railway station.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    844
    359
    160
    84
See reviews for
293
619
62
755
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a very up-to-date hotel just outside Venice. The rooms were clean and nice-sized for what you'll find in Europe.

It was break to have a hotel as close to an American hotel while being in Europe.

In our room, everything worked, was clean, and the staff was friendly. I wouldn't call it a complete industrial area. It is more of a commercial area. There isn't much within eyesight of the hotel. What you can see is good though.

NH runs good hotels. I stayed at their hotel while we were in Rome and had a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The Wi-Fi at this hotel wasn't the most reliable. It could've just been the day that we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scot1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is located in an industrial area with nothing much around except an organic supermarket across the road and a couple of restaurants nearby. Even the bus stop to the airport is about 5-10min walk away. Pictures online make this hotel look posher than it really is. Our room for three was old and worn. The shower was a bath tub jacuzzi that had blackish residue around the valves. The room also smelled musty. The AC was broken. Thank goodness it was just one night! The only good thing about this hotel is the breakfast selection but it really does not make up for what it lacks for a good vacation in Venice, well-located and clean lodging.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

LOCATION - This hotel is outside of Venice away from the hustle and bustle but is situated on the water from which you can order a water taxi into Venice. It is also located very close to the bus stops that go into the city (only 15 minute ride)

LQUALITY OF SLEEP - Excellent - I was in a small twin room sharing with a colleague but it was pleasant.

ROOM - The rooms were good, the bathroom had a very nice walk in and powerful shower. Very clean and new rooms.

DINING - Very nice breakfast and beautiful terrace outside the hotel that overlooks the water and boats where we have several drinks in the evenings.

OVERALL COMMENTS - Beautiful hotel, very stylish, modern and the staff were incredibly nice. Even when I missed breakfast they made me up a small breakfast and gave me water bottles for free.

If I returned to Venice on a personal trip I would absolutely stay here - lovely stay with a big of Venice class to it1!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneylover33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

When my wife and I arrived at the hotel, we were asked if we wanted to upgrade for 10€ per night. At first we thought it unnecessary, but when we arrived at our room (which was in the 2nd building), it had an odor of smoke, not that clean smell you expect from a room that has been cleaned for a new client. The carpet had an unkempt look to it, the mirror in the bedroom still had fingerprints from the previous client and the tv was a CRT 52cm screen. For a standard room in a 4 star hote,l this is well bellow par.
We went back to the 1st building and asked to see the upgrade. Parquet floor, no leftover smells, LCD tv - closer to a 4 star.
It seemed to us that the hotel is too large and the staff have difficulty in keeping it spick and span.
The doubt remains whether we were deceived into upgrading...

Room Tip: Compare your room to the upgrade they offer before deciding in which one to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We arrived for a 2 night stay at the NH Laguna Palace, and had the same experience as many others that we had a room in the other building. The hotel concists of two large buildings, or towers as some call them, with a nice marina in between. Anyway, the receptionist was friendly and checked us in, and pointed the way to the other building. Once you get outside there are a lack of signs or pointers actually telling you where to go, so after checking out the front, or if there was a tunnel between the buildings, we went around on the other side of the second building and found the reception. We recieved the keys and went up to the room.
I was actually quite happy with the room we recieved.. it was a large double room with the first room being a combined kitchen with a fridge and an extra bed (which became our luggage room), and the second room that was the bedroom with a large double bed. We also had two separate bathrooms. All very comfortable and spacious. Maybe we were lucky with this room, but I saw the standard double rooms aswell, and they were not small either. For the price paid the room actually was excellent. Air conditioning was working as expected, and the breakfast was very good also. This hotel is a little out of the way of things, but it's no big deal to stay there considering the elevated prices of hotels in Venice. The receptionists were happy to show us where things were on a tourist map of the town. It's a ten minute walk to the bus 4L to Venice and to a nice supermarket, and I'm guessing around 25 minutes to walk to the Mestre shopping area. Around the hotel you have a few options of bars and restaurants, and outside of the reception of the first building you have a bus stop that takes you to the Mestre railway station and bus terminal (line 32). All very convenient and comfortable, no big complaints from us, we were happy with our stay at the NH Laguna Palace.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ichi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is located about 3/4 of a mile from the train station. We actually arrived by car and upon going into the lobby were told we weren't staying in that tower and main area of the hotel, but the tower across the marina. the other tower was fine, but the main restaurant/bar was located in the main tower, so this was an inconvenience. The room had no actually desk, which was very strange to say the least, since the hotel is touted as a business hotel. Parking was charged at 12 euro per day and the garage was secure. I might stay there again, but think there could be better choices in the area for the same price for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EUROPEEXPERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
0.8 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#17 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Barbarich
Villa Barbarich
#1 of 58 in Mestre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#10 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Laguna Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Laguna Palace

Property: NH Laguna Palace
Address: Viale Ancona 2, 30172, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mestre
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#9 Business Hotel in Mestre
#17 Family Hotel in Mestre
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Laguna Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Laguna Palace hotel in Venice is characterized by its attractive contemporary design, great location in the city, and top-quality service and amenities. The hotel's conference center is a point of reference for business professionals. The hotel itself is made up of two main buildings, linked together by a flat and transparent glass roof. This splendid architecture makes the NH Laguna Palace hotel one of the largest covered structures in Europe. A marina sits between the two hotel buildings, offering water access to the canals that take you straight into the heart of Venice. Guests at the NH Laguna Palace hotel can comfortably reach Saint Mark's Square and water taxis may dock right at the hotel. NH Laguna Palace is a charming and enchanting destination, as well as the perfect to relax and have a drink in the summer. Elegance and sobriety are combined in this unique hotel, making it the ideal base for both business travelers and tourists. The NH Laguna Palace hotel benefits from a highly privileged location, a mere 15-minute drive from the Venice Marco Polo Airport and only 5 minutes from the Mestre railway station. If you want to spend a charming and relaxing stay near Venice, NH Laguna Palace is the perfect choice to reach this romantic city. The historical city center of Venice is just 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your NH Laguna Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Laguna Palace Hotel Mestre
Nh Laguna Palace Venice
Laguna Suites
Nh Laguna Palace Hotel Venice
NH Laguna Palace Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing