We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great base for Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel Plaza is in a great location for spending a few days in Venice , there is very little to do around the area of the hotel but the train station and the bus stop are across the road .The bus takes just 10 mins to get into Venice and runs every 10 mins.
The hotel sells tickets for the bus and the vaporetto we paid €35 for 3 days unlimited use for the bus and vaporetto which was great value.
There's a McDonalds in the train station but the soul kitchen cafe in the hotel has a great menu and is nice for a drink after a day of walking in Venice.
There's also free wifi in the hotel and the rooms are of a high standard and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Another great bonus is that breakfast is included with all rooms and the buffet was well stocked with plenty of hot and cold foods good coffee and juices.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DamienMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    981
    287
    75
    49
See reviews for
388
941
87
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The location is great since it is next to the train station which takes you to Venice in 10 minutes.
The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable.
The breakfast is also great.
You need to pay for the parking and I think that the hotel charges you 2 Euro a day over the parking charge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Udi-aslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for one night before going on a cruise out of Venice. Very easy location to drive to with ample parking in the same street. Directly opposite the station which takes you into Venice for €1:20. A short walk across the bride to Piazzale Roma and you can catch the Peoplemover to the cruise terminal for €1:00. Alternatively, take a taxi for €30-35. Hotel was really quiet with excellent rooms with the deepest bath I have ever seen. Excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay here again rather than the more expensive hotels on Venice itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed for 4 nights,trip to visit Venice.Booked a superior room with breakfast.
Positive things about the hotel: 1.right to the opposite side of hotel there is the train station and bus station,very easy to reach Venice....went only by bus- nr 2,around 15 min
2.great restaurant ( soul kitchen restaurant)
3. big room
4. bus from marco polo airport stops in front of the hotel( mestre stazione station)- bus nr 15
Negative things about the hotel: 1.bus frequency to Venice not so good,always bus full
2.not a 4 star bathroom,but ok
3. noise in the room at night coming from the hotel's turbines,bed and pillows not very comfortable
4.poor breakfast comparing to other 4 star hotels,more like a 3 star hotel breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeDeeTimisoara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel and were very happy with our choice.
The hotel was literally across the road from the railway station and we could purchase railway tickets from reception at the hotel --- they needed, as do all railway tickets in Italy, to be validated in the machines at the station but being able to buy them at the hotel was a bonus.
It only took 10 minutes to reach the main Venice station on the island.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large and very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was fantastic.
We missed having a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities but this seems to be the norm in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at the Plaza Hotel in Mestre for 2 nights in July at the suggestion of our travel agent back home. Boy, what a great find. The location was ideal (you are right across the street from the Mestre Train Station), a 10-minute train ride into Venice. The breakfast was more than adequate, the room was a good size, clean, and quiet. The staff was very courteous and friendly. You simply can't go wrong staying here... use the money you'll save on this hotel on restaurants in Venice! :) To get here, we took an approx 30-minute bus ride from the Vencie Airport (tickets can be purchased from vending machines in the baggage claim area).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Fantastic hotel in an awesome location.

We had a nice roomy room, which was pretty large by euro standards.

The only one complaint I would have is that the wifi would drop out every now and then. So very minor complaint.

The hotel is right next to the train station which makes going to and from venice a 5 minute trip. It's amazingly easy to get to from the airport as well via the public bus. It literally drops you off in front of the hotel.

The hotel is dead quiet as well.

Buffet breakfast was the best we had in Europe so far.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaveh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#10 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#11 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing