We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice but breakfast disorganised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good choice but breakfast disorganised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

A good value choice with bedrooms 2-3 times the size of ones in similar Venice hotels & half the price. The location is great, being opposite the train station & the bus stop for travel to Venice; both modes of transport are cheap,frequent & quick. The rooms are clean.

Breakfast was "interesting". They'd run out of plates, cutlery, muesli , fruit salad & scrambled egg. Everything came eventually, & there was a good selection, but they just couldn't cope at peak times. And the coffee was the worst we've ever had in Italy; yuk.

A tip re breakfast....the hotel is used by tour parties. They all put their day's agendas in reception. Try & avoid the hour before that day's departure time & you should beat the problem I've described.

Bar Enjoy next door is highly recommended..... a good selection of hot & cold snacks al day, great coffee & friendly owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterbb300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    986
    287
    75
    49
See reviews for
391
945
87
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is exceptionally located in front if the Mestre train station. Trains go to Venice-St. Lucia every 10 minutes and you are inside of Venice. The cost and room space you gain is way much than what you will get inside of Venice. The rooms are very modern and spacious. Breakfast is complete and it is included in the rate. Free Wifi is also included and accessible in all hotel areas. There is a restaurant in the hotel lobby that is good for drinks, snacks and lunch. They serve dinner as well but it was average. There are better restaurants nearby. Every time I return to Venice I would stay at this hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmejias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Right opposite the train stations, and a few minutes from the Airport Bus drop off point.
A few minutes to the Train station. 12 minutes to Santa Lucia and you're in Venice.
We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are a reasonable size, and pretty quiet.
We had a very relaxing time here.
Breakfast was plentiful, and the Soul Kitchen is a nice place to relax for a drink or dinner.

Check in and out can get busy, so choose your time to leave!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

For us it was the best choice. The location is excelente, in front of the rail station and the bus to airport. It's better than stay in Venice Center where you have to climb stair with your luggage. the train trip cust € 1,40 and take 10m to Santa Lucia Rail Station.
The breakfast is excelente, with eggs, bacon, sausages, fresh fruit, croissants, etc...
There is two tipes of rooms the modern ones and the oldest ones, I don't know the price range, but the modern ones are fabulous...

Room Tip: Modern rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We very much enjoyed staying here. The rooms are a little worn but that is the only bad point I can think of. After seeing the small ugly rooms in Venice and watching people pulling their luggage around the city.No roads in town so guess who moves your luggage you! It is right across from the train that only takes a few minutes to get into the city. The breakfast was very good. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter. The train station is in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgal044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Here for a short business trip in May 2013.
I stayed at the Hotel Plaza in Mestre which is no more than a 10 min. train ride to Venice. The hotel itself was very clean, also the room I stayed in. Rooms are nice but slightly old.
My room's view faces directly at Mestre Station although Mestre is not a really a very pretty area. At breakfast, they offered all of the a good spread of items and everything was very fresh and plentiful. This hotel is crowded and seen to receive many tourists from all around the world.
Front desk staff were amazing, very helpful and. Train tickets to Venice can be purchased from the front desk. There are also many other convenience shops around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_ncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I don't think I can expect more from the hotel. It may not be fashion, maybe a little bit old. But considering the price including breakfast, the perfect location just opposite to the mestre train station, I am fully satisfied this is the best choice to stay. Room is big enough, but decoration is a little bit old, staff are very nice with recommendation on food at Venice. Breakfast is good. Just a few steps to the train station to go to Venice and when you back late, no problem, very convenient cause close. A restaurant on the ground floor looks nice. I just like it and will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lover J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#9 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#11 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Lastminute, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing