We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Plaza hotel is right across the Mestre train station where there is a Mac donalds and convenience store. An Ali supermarket is a 5 minute walk. There are also Chinese and Asian restaurants nearby for travelers looking for rice and asian food.

A good location for travelera.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMT333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Located right across the street from the train station, approx 10 minutes to Venice. After spending 12 days on a ship in a tiny room and turn around bathroom this hotel was pure luxury. The room and bathroom was the size of a small apartment. Very modern, marble bathroom. The tub was 6 feet long! The only complaint with the room was there was no air conditioning( not unusual in Italy). The room was warm, we slept with the large window open. the ' continental breakfast' was a full buffet that was continually being refilled. The cappachino machine was a treat to start the day. Very helpful, courteous desk staff. Good location for visiting Venice and close to Marco Polo Airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2450rosslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is great transit hotel option if you're passing through Italy and catching a glimpse of Venice. It is right in front of the train station. The rooms were nicely appointed and the food in the cafe in the lobby is very good. The service was good and the staff are friendly and knowledgable about how to get around. We opted to stay in the classic rooms, which were fine but they have newly renovated rooms as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicho S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here 3 nights to visit Venice before leaving on a cruise. It's directly across the street from the train station which is really convenient. This hotel was less expensive than in downtown Venice but with the train right at your doorstep, you could be there in about 10 minutes. Free wifi was also nice! The staff was friendly in the hotel. The adjoining restaurant was good but the staff working there were not very friendly. But, if you want to cut down on cost of visiting Venice, this hotel is a good choice. They also had an excellent breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fitzhoyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for two nights and what can I say..... Fantastic service, very flexible, helpful staff, brilliant location with only a 10 minute train journey into Venice. If the fact that it is outside the train station puts you off, don't let it as you cannot here the trains at all.

I would recommend booking your excursions through the hotel too as you get a good discount.

The food at the Soul Kitchen is also out of this world.

We would definitely recommend staying here and would come and stay again when visiting Venice.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room at the front on the eighth floor (top floor) and you could not hear the noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Plaza for 4 nights in October. We stayed in one of the older rooms (part of the hotel has been updated) and the paint and carpet were definitely in need of updating. Our first night we faced the train station and it was very loud (we were on the 7th floor) -- i would suggest asking for a room facing one of the other roads.
Other than the last woman we dealt with when checking out we found the front desk staff very unfriendly and the valet actually yelled at us for bringing our own bags down at the end of our stay.
THe restaurant is good but fills up quickly so make a reservation for dinner or arrive at 7 p.m.
As of October they turn the air conditioner off in the hotel and it was very hot during our stay. we had to have our window open the whole time we stayed there.
There is a continental breakfast each morning that is very busy. Not great coffee but at least a selection of bread, fruit, cheese, meat and cereal.
Overall the location is convenient to see Venice but i wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the train station--that road is very loud and busy this hotel has newer r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank healey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Most of the front desk staff, the waiters in their restaurant (especially the older guy) very unfriendly. The front desk made us feel when asking questions (that any tourist would ask), that we were a bother, therefore answers to our questions were not forthcoming and incomplete. For example we wasted 1/2 day going back and forth to their downtown because the clerk didn't bother to tell us stores there dont open for shopping until the afternoon. Which I think would be an important piece of information that should of been mentioned considering we were enquiring at 10 AM where we could go to shop. Room size was adequate for three of us, but it didnt look anything like what is shown here on this website. Having the train station and bus stops across makes getting around Mestre or getting to Venice easy.
Breakfast not bad, good variety to choose from, but at times they would run out of stuff then we were waiting for them to restock.
As to their restaurant if they gave better service as did the restaurant in the Best Western (across from the Plaza) did, they wouldn't have to tact on 10% under the ruse that the 10% service charge was for napkins, knives forks....yes that was what the waiter told me when I asked him what the 10% was for. The last night we decided to eat somewhere else found the restaurant at Best Western(think the name is Bologna) what a difference night and day, service with a smile...what Canadians are use to. (Could be why we met a bunch of other Canadians there having dinner). If you plan to stay 1 night I guess Plaza will do, but if you plan to stay longer as we did (3days) try Best Western or shop around. From our personal experience Mestre staff need to learn to be more friendly or it could be they do no have enough experience dealing with all types of people and how to treat them all the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lodend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#7 of 58 in Mestre
1,413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
793 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,498 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £49 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing