We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel has friendly staff and is directly opposite the train station and shuttle bus stop for the airport. The beds were very comfy and the room was spacious and clean. If you want the room made up just put the sign on the door. The breakfast was fine, no rush and a good variety. There is an excellent pizzeria along via Piave where we went every night with our daughter. It is as near to a trattoria as you will find here. We walked on the side opposite the park. It was Ristorante Pizzeria San Marco, the pasta was wonderful. The train to Venice is only 1euro 20 and only takes 10 mins. A great hotel if you are visiting Venice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    1,010
    294
    76
    52
See reviews for
403
966
90
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Plaza hotel is right across the Mestre train station where there is a Mac donalds and convenience store. An Ali supermarket is a 5 minute walk. There are also Chinese and Asian restaurants nearby for travelers looking for rice and asian food.

A good location for travelera.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMT333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Located right across the street from the train station, approx 10 minutes to Venice. After spending 12 days on a ship in a tiny room and turn around bathroom this hotel was pure luxury. The room and bathroom was the size of a small apartment. Very modern, marble bathroom. The tub was 6 feet long! The only complaint with the room was there was no air conditioning( not unusual in Italy). The room was warm, we slept with the large window open. the ' continental breakfast' was a full buffet that was continually being refilled. The cappachino machine was a treat to start the day. Very helpful, courteous desk staff. Good location for visiting Venice and close to Marco Polo Airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2450rosslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is great transit hotel option if you're passing through Italy and catching a glimpse of Venice. It is right in front of the train station. The rooms were nicely appointed and the food in the cafe in the lobby is very good. The service was good and the staff are friendly and knowledgable about how to get around. We opted to stay in the classic rooms, which were fine but they have newly renovated rooms as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicho S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
210 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here 3 nights to visit Venice before leaving on a cruise. It's directly across the street from the train station which is really convenient. This hotel was less expensive than in downtown Venice but with the train right at your doorstep, you could be there in about 10 minutes. Free wifi was also nice! The staff was friendly in the hotel. The adjoining restaurant was good but the staff working there were not very friendly. But, if you want to cut down on cost of visiting Venice, this hotel is a good choice. They also had an excellent breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitzhoyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for two nights and what can I say..... Fantastic service, very flexible, helpful staff, brilliant location with only a 10 minute train journey into Venice. If the fact that it is outside the train station puts you off, don't let it as you cannot here the trains at all.

I would recommend booking your excursions through the hotel too as you get a good discount.

The food at the Soul Kitchen is also out of this world.

We would definitely recommend staying here and would come and stay again when visiting Venice.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room at the front on the eighth floor (top floor) and you could not hear the noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Plaza for 4 nights in October. We stayed in one of the older rooms (part of the hotel has been updated) and the paint and carpet were definitely in need of updating. Our first night we faced the train station and it was very loud (we were on the 7th floor) -- i would suggest asking for a room facing one of the other roads.
Other than the last woman we dealt with when checking out we found the front desk staff very unfriendly and the valet actually yelled at us for bringing our own bags down at the end of our stay.
THe restaurant is good but fills up quickly so make a reservation for dinner or arrive at 7 p.m.
As of October they turn the air conditioner off in the hotel and it was very hot during our stay. we had to have our window open the whole time we stayed there.
There is a continental breakfast each morning that is very busy. Not great coffee but at least a selection of bread, fruit, cheese, meat and cereal.
Overall the location is convenient to see Venice but i wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the train station--that road is very loud and busy this hotel has newer r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank healey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bologna
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#10 of 58 in Mestre
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#14 of 58 in Mestre
2,199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing