We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and large rooms”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Mijas, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and large rooms”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for only one night, but I must say it was a very good experience. The room and private bathroom were large and comfortable and the breakfast buffet had lots of choice. Staff is very friendly and provide maps and area information. The location is great as it is right in front of the Mestre train station where trains leave for Venice - 10 minutes and you are there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japekan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    1,018
    295
    77
    52
See reviews for
409
974
91
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

It was far from the island of Venice,the train station was right across the street which was great.
The room was large and very clean.The food was alright,nothing to rave about.
I requested a change of rooms which proved to be difficult,eventually I was granted my request.
I would prefer to pay more for the room to be able to be right in the heart of Venice.
This hotel is just too far and a taxi cost 20 Euro from the bus station,I feel the price for the room was reasonable but there is nothing to visit in Mestre worth seeing.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and it was quiet facing east.No problem with noise. Facing the railway sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The best thing about the Plaza in Mestre, just across the water from Venice on the mainland, is that this hotel costs less than half what it would have had you picked a hotel on the island of Venice itself. And yet, being right opposite Mestre station, you can be at the Venizia St Lucia station in the heart of Venice in less than 30 minutes after stepping out of the hotels revolving doors. There is a convenient bus service to Marco Polo airport near the hotel, although we took a cab and got to the airport in less than 20 minutes.

Food options in the area are limited and the hotel's own Soul Kitchen restaurant does not do room service (at least they don't advertise it) and opens only in the evening for dinner, when it rapidly becomes very crowded. The rooms we stayed in were on the smaller side but spotlessly clean, and the bathroom was nice enough. The complimentary breakfast is a very crowded affair in a very small dining room where people are always trying to steal tables from you. They keep running out of plates and cutlery, and the spread, while decent, is certainly not 4 star quality.

On the whole, it's a nice 3 star level hotel (not genuinely 4 star as advertised) in a convenient location at a good price. Value for money.

Room Tip: Not a hotel for views, pick a front room if you prefer not to look out over rooftops. Lower floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SL9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The only redeeming quality about this hotel is that it is directly across from the train station. That puts Venice within a short, cheap train ride away. Also available in the train station is a McDonalds and a convenience store.

The room I was in was quite old and in need of refurbishment. The area below the window was showing water damage and the lights in the room (all on the wall) were very harsh and unpleasant. The plushness of the bed was only slightly removed from the feeling of sleeping on the floor.

The bathroom felt at least a decade newer than the bedroom. Unfortunately it had little shelf space and it made getting ready in the morning more difficult. The apparatus that controlled the height of the wand for taking a shower was worn out which meant the spray nozzle would slowly drift down to the bottom extremity. The floor drain (which inside looked rather nasty) constantly gurgled with use of the sink.

Free WiFi was available and worked fine, but make sure to get the current password from the desk since the one printed in the room literature is not correct. The hotel could provide better service to their customers and probably save a lot of calls to the front desk by putting some stickers on the key envelopes that specify the current password.

The public areas of the hotel were pleasant. I greatly appreciated the open, bright staircase that was directly across from the elevators.

The buffet breakfast in the morning was terrible. The 'food' ran right through me. Dirty dishes sat on tables for a half hour, which left nowhere for new guests to sit.

We ate dinner at the Soul Kitchen restaurant, off of the hotel lobby. The food was surprisingly good but the service was very poor with what looked like two waiters doing almost all of the servicing and busing for the entire place. We were charged for items that we ordered but never arrived. Tired after a full day in Venice, our patience had run out with the place, so we just paid and left.

The bottom line is that I would recommend skipping this place and instead pay the price to get a proper Venetian hotel out in the lagoon area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Attractive location for low cost easy access to Venice (10-15min). Hotel going trough renovation process with older rooms in need of refreshment. Service and customer attention in dear need of improvement. Breakfast is a "discover at you own risk" adventure. The manager in charge on breakfast was devoting his energy to public relation chats with customers istead of managing his team to provide an efficient breakfast experience for guests. Tables not clean ultil last moment, dirty tableware pilling up, impossible to locate plates or silverware, in brief a non functioning breakfast room. Reception personal would also benefit of improved focus to guests needs and attention to communication.
Conclusion, a relatively cheep hotel near an expensive location where you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PostcardSender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Plaza 10/3/2013 through 10/7/2013. After a 10 hours of flying we went to bed. The next day we requested clean sheets. Being an experienced traveler, I marked our bed sheets. Upon arrival to our room late the second night, our sheets had not been changed.
To late to request housekeeping. we kindly and respectfully asked the front desk for our bed sheet chang. Also, marking the sheets in a different spot, 3rd day the same. 4th day I was very upset. Long talk with the manger, asking to comp one night room. We got two bottles of water from the mini bar for free. I would never stay here again. It was recommended to us because it was near the ship docks to begin a cruise. One stop from Venice train station. There were 36 people in our group. We all ate at the restaurant called Soul Kitchen in the lobby. Needless to say, no one ate their again. Bad, terriible service, and mediocre food, and expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Plaza for 1 night in September. The absolutely best part of this hotel is it's location. If you are travelling to Venice by train the Hotel Plaza is right across the street from the mestre train station so this was very convenient when travelling with luggage.
It was also very close to the port, we were getting on a cruise ship the next day and our taxi ride was about 5 mins.

The hotel was very clean & service was ok. There is not much to do in mestre and around the hotel so I would say that this hotel is really good for anyone who is "passing by" or wants a cheap option close to Venice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#12 of 58 in Mestre
423 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,235 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing