We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and well located pre-cruise hotel”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Terrebonne, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Affordable and well located pre-cruise hotel”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is well located in front of the bus and train station. You can take the bus or the train to Venice and it will take only 15 minutes to get to Roma or Ferrovia Stations where you will be able to board the Vaporetto. You can purchase your daily or multi-days pass at the Café right next door to the Hotel. The room was a classic room, not too big, but enough to be comfortable. Very clean, a bathroom with shower, an in-room safe and mini-bar. If you use it, you fill in the form, checking the items you have taken and give it back to reception at check out for billing. Don't forget to put the key card in the slot if you want light in the room. There is an excellent complimentary breakfast with a vast choice of cold and hot food. Hotel and Limo service were prepaid. Check in and check out went smoothly. The staff is very helpful and considerate. I used their limo service from the airport to hotel/ hotel to ship. The cost was 35 and 30 Euros for a total of 65 Euros which is a little cheaper than a taxi in a large and clean Mercedes car with very courteous drivers. When we exited, after picking up our luggage at the Airport carrousel, the driver was already there with a sign bearing our names. I believe that using this hotel service is the fastest and safest way to get to destination. The drivers did not expect a tip but were mostly thankful when I gave them a 5 dollar bill. I found the hotel area safe and I did not see anything abnormal. I would definitely stay there again as it is very well located, convenient at an affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    1,020
    296
    77
    52
See reviews for
411
975
92
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right outside Venice Mestere train station. Wonderful rooms. Comfortable bed. You can catch a bus to Venice island from right outside the hotel(every 15 min or so). It takes 10-15 min to reach Venice by bus. Or you can take train. In house restaurant is very good. Yummy food. Free WiFi. Good locality. Not many restaurants around but as I said the in house option is good. We had a good time. Will definitely recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaurav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
constanta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

When you go to Venice, you have several choices: either stay in the lagoon in a luxury hotel if you can afford it, or stay in Mestre in a very good hotel for 30% money (of course for badly romantics there are cheap options in the lagoon with filthy hotels). You have to spend less time with the travel to the lagoon. In this case Plaza is what you need. Right in front of the railway station and bus station. If come from the airport you can take the shuttle (and earn 50 euro by not taking a cab) that will leave you 200 m from the hotel.
Venice is 20 min. by bus or train, and you can jump directly in the water bus. You can buy tickets or several day pass directly from the reception. and earn precious time.
Everybody traveling to Venice by car must think that you can't park your car elsewhere but in very expensive parkings, if you can find a free place.
I won't spend your time with room and food quality, other reviewers have done it. Also if you need some food and drinks by your own, there are excellent supermarkets and small restaurants (even Chinese!) around the corner.
I also strongly advise you (if you had time) to take a one day trip by train to Verona and Vicenza .

Room Tip: Take a back view room. It is more quiet and every morning you can have a spectacular view of the Dol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackickx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijas, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for only one night, but I must say it was a very good experience. The room and private bathroom were large and comfortable and the breakfast buffet had lots of choice. Staff is very friendly and provide maps and area information. The location is great as it is right in front of the Mestre train station where trains leave for Venice - 10 minutes and you are there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japekan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

It was far from the island of Venice,the train station was right across the street which was great.
The room was large and very clean.The food was alright,nothing to rave about.
I requested a change of rooms which proved to be difficult,eventually I was granted my request.
I would prefer to pay more for the room to be able to be right in the heart of Venice.
This hotel is just too far and a taxi cost 20 Euro from the bus station,I feel the price for the room was reasonable but there is nothing to visit in Mestre worth seeing.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and it was quiet facing east.No problem with noise. Facing the railway sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The best thing about the Plaza in Mestre, just across the water from Venice on the mainland, is that this hotel costs less than half what it would have had you picked a hotel on the island of Venice itself. And yet, being right opposite Mestre station, you can be at the Venizia St Lucia station in the heart of Venice in less than 30 minutes after stepping out of the hotels revolving doors. There is a convenient bus service to Marco Polo airport near the hotel, although we took a cab and got to the airport in less than 20 minutes.

Food options in the area are limited and the hotel's own Soul Kitchen restaurant does not do room service (at least they don't advertise it) and opens only in the evening for dinner, when it rapidly becomes very crowded. The rooms we stayed in were on the smaller side but spotlessly clean, and the bathroom was nice enough. The complimentary breakfast is a very crowded affair in a very small dining room where people are always trying to steal tables from you. They keep running out of plates and cutlery, and the spread, while decent, is certainly not 4 star quality.

On the whole, it's a nice 3 star level hotel (not genuinely 4 star as advertised) in a convenient location at a good price. Value for money.

Room Tip: Not a hotel for views, pick a front room if you prefer not to look out over rooftops. Lower floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SL9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The only redeeming quality about this hotel is that it is directly across from the train station. That puts Venice within a short, cheap train ride away. Also available in the train station is a McDonalds and a convenience store.

The room I was in was quite old and in need of refurbishment. The area below the window was showing water damage and the lights in the room (all on the wall) were very harsh and unpleasant. The plushness of the bed was only slightly removed from the feeling of sleeping on the floor.

The bathroom felt at least a decade newer than the bedroom. Unfortunately it had little shelf space and it made getting ready in the morning more difficult. The apparatus that controlled the height of the wand for taking a shower was worn out which meant the spray nozzle would slowly drift down to the bottom extremity. The floor drain (which inside looked rather nasty) constantly gurgled with use of the sink.

Free WiFi was available and worked fine, but make sure to get the current password from the desk since the one printed in the room literature is not correct. The hotel could provide better service to their customers and probably save a lot of calls to the front desk by putting some stickers on the key envelopes that specify the current password.

The public areas of the hotel were pleasant. I greatly appreciated the open, bright staircase that was directly across from the elevators.

The buffet breakfast in the morning was terrible. The 'food' ran right through me. Dirty dishes sat on tables for a half hour, which left nowhere for new guests to sit.

We ate dinner at the Soul Kitchen restaurant, off of the hotel lobby. The food was surprisingly good but the service was very poor with what looked like two waiters doing almost all of the servicing and busing for the entire place. We were charged for items that we ordered but never arrived. Tired after a full day in Venice, our patience had run out with the place, so we just paid and left.

The bottom line is that I would recommend skipping this place and instead pay the price to get a proper Venetian hotel out in the lagoon area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#10 of 58 in Mestre
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing