We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Starting point for a visit to Venice”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 6 April 2014

very clean and comfortable hotel, great service, very friendly and helpful hotel staff, convenient location across the street from the train station, discounted parking at nearby public parking garage

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lady2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

I chose this hotel for its location. Facing Venice Mestre railway station. We spent 2 nights in Venice, which allowed 3 days to explore this region.[including a high speed train trip to Florence]
The hotel's location is perfect for the traveller. hence it's popularity with coach parties.
The reception staff were courteous and efficient. We had a room on the 6th floor. It was clean and comfortable, but with no drink making facilities. The beds were comfortable and the bath room had bath & shower.
Breakfast on the first day was a bit chaotic due to the high numbers of coach travellers. the staff were rushed off their feet and we had to wait for a table to be reset. The second day it was a lot quieter and we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast. I have to say that the food was adequate; they do cater for the mass transit market. Cereals, cold meats,bacon, sausage and scrambled egg [I think it was?] A variety of breads and cakes and fruit. Normally food in Italy is outstanding but I have to say here it was average.
The staff were friendly and hard working and unobtrusive.

When we arrived at Venice Marco Polo airport we went to the hello venizia information desk to get ATVO coach tickets to Mestre, however they only sold ACTV tickets [11 euro return] So instead of a direct coach we ended up on a municipal NO. 15 bus that went around the streets.
After checking in we caught the train from mestre to Venice Santa Lucia [Euro 1.25]

The first sight of the Grand Canal is fantastic, we walked through the streets to St.Marks Square.
Day 2 we caught the Italo train to Florence [Pre-booked through the SNCF website] A marvellous high speed train that travelled at 290 Kph. What a contrast to the clapped out machine that took us to Manchester Airport!
The Italians have the style.
We hired bikes in Florence from the railway station [5 euros for 5 hours] we could vsit the places you can't reach on foot. Enjoyed delicious ice cream & a tuscan meal before heading back for the 2 hour journey back to venice.
Day 3 we bought a 12 hour travel pass [18 euros] which enabled us to travel on the vaperetto. A great way to see venice; The number 2 took us along the Grand Canal. After a tour of San Marco we caught the 4.2 around the island, visiting Murano, along the way. back to San Marco, Finally the No. 1 back along the Grand Canal.
Venice and Florence are two beautiful cities; You don't have to spend a fortune going in all the museums & art galleries. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the cities and discovering the places off the beaten track. Go and explore; they are fantastiscal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WheelPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Hotel Plaza in Mestre is a very reasonable place to stay to tour Venice. It sure beats dragging a suitcase up and down endless bridges in Venice. I stayed on the backside of the hotel where it was very quiet. I had an updated room (426) with a very large bath with double sink and a huge shower with a large rain head that worked very well. The bath was 3 times larger than the tiny baths Italian hotels often have. The room was spacious compared to others I have stayed in Rome. The only thing I missed in the room was a coffee maker. The wifi worked perfectly.

The breakfast was excellent and a good value. I generally had to skip lunch everyday since I was too full from trying all the delightful things at breakfast. This hotel gets a lot of Asian tour groups but it was not really a problem unless one was checking in or out at the same time they were. Reviewers who complained about nothing to do in Mestre obviously did not go walking around! I highly recommend taking a 1 to 2 hour circular walk to Piazza Ferretto in Mestre City center and back. Ask hotel for map and directions. It is a very pleasant walk on the street Via Piave (next to hotel) and returning by street Via Cappuccina about 2 blocks away. Unlike others, I thought the food at the hotel’s Soul Food restaurant to be overrated. I personally preferred some of the other local neighborhood restaurants behind the hotel about 2-3 blocks away just off the street Via Piave.

Riding the train was a little challenging the first several times since almost nothing is in English and the signs are confusing. I found purchasing train tickets across the street at the train station’s ticket office is much easier than doing so in Venice where there is no listing for returning to Mestre. (In the machines you have to type in “VE Mestre” to find the correct listing and not Mestre as one would think.) Keep in mind that all local trains from the Venice stop in Mestre so just get on after validating your 1.25 Euro ticket.

This was my 3rd visit to Venice and I certainly found this hotel to be more convenient over staying in Venice itself (unless you love dragging your suitcase around endlessly for a good workout!) I suggest you leave that job to the masses of silly tourists who have not done their homework. There seemed to be no shortage of suitcase dragging tourists in Venice even in March.

Room Tip: Get a high floor on the back side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ed999StLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Very convenient location right across the road from Venice Mestre rail station. Rooms are comfortable and service excellent. We had a small issue with room heating adjustment and the same was addressed in less than 3 minutes.

Reception was very helpful and proactive. Provided all the information and even local transportation tickets (at no extra charge). The restaurant is also nice with a decent choice menu.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Chose a room on higher floor to lessen the traffic noise from train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janix500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel is located in front of the train station and also the buses when you late for train from Venice stop in the hotel as no 1 or 4 and it takes less than 10 mint drive from Hotel to Venice.
The rooms are big and clean, food ok, the stuff in the front desk are speaks very well English and helpful, the price per night include breakfast is good

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel was very easy to reach by bus from Marco Polo airport, just across the street from the bus terminal and the train station. Check in was quick, staff friendly,informative and helpful ,our room was on the sixth floor, it did tend to be a bit warm but we just opened the window and it was fine. There was a good selection for breakfast and once we had filled up the station was across the road with quick transport to Venice. Would happily stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were 2 adults with 1 child staying at this hotel for 3 nights and we opted for the Nova family room.
We arrived into Treviso airport as we were flying with Ryanair and with only hand luggage, it was fairly quick and convenient to get out of the airport and onto the bus/coach station where we took a 20 minute Barzi coach journey straight outside the Hotel Plaza (oppositte Mestre Station).

Upon arrival, the hotel lobby looked better than we had expected, very clean and modern and we were greeted with friendly staff. Unlike other hotels, there were no porters taking our bags up to our room or showing us around, however, there were lifts and it was easy to access our rooms.

The room itself was large and airy with two king sized beds and finished to a high standard. The bathroom was also beautiful and had a walk-in monsoon shower fitted in, however, I was slightly disappointed to see no bathtub.
There was also a hairdryer provided in the bathroom but I usually take my own on holidays with me as the ones in the hotels aren't always so great but this time I didn't even need to unpack mine as I was very satisfied with the one already there.
We didn't have space in our luggage to pack an iron but took the advice of other reviewers and had phoned the reception when we needed one and they came with an iron and ironing table straight away.

The hotel room did have a mini-bar fridge but hardly any more space to put anything else in there besides their products, which was a problem as we wanted to store our own bottled water and drinks in there (we have a picky 3 year old plus saves having to pay extortionate prices).
We also did not have a kettle with tea and coffee facilities in the room, which was a downside too.

The breakfast was great with a good variety of foods, definitely not to miss! We haven't managed to try the soul kitchen but it did look lovely inside.

The location of the hotel was brilliant with frequent buses to and from venice and of course right opposite the mestre train station. There were plenty of shops and people around which made us feel safe too.

Our flight back to London was at 9:55pm and check out is usually at 12 noon, they could have extended it for another hour for free but we didn't feel the need to as they had a baggage room where they would keep our things, which meant we had another day to tour around venice freely.

Overall, we enjoyed our comfortable stay here, we loved the modern decor and did not have the need to complain about anything, we would definitely stay here again if we were to go back to Venice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poppy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#7 of 58 in Mestre
1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#14 of 58 in Mestre
2,457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £52 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing