We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you don't mind being away from Venice by a bus or train drive (10 mins, 1.30 Euro one way) this is a perfect hotel. Also it is very suitable if you were planning to travel and catch trains to other destinations.
We booked premium room, and it was top notch! Bed so comfy and a lot of space. Breakfast was good as well, though a few additions would not hurt.

Room Tip: We would suggest PREMIUM ROOM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CRAZYHORSE694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Mestre is not Venice. Yes, it is a bit cheaper but on balance not worth the aggravation of a ten minute train ride or a longer bus ride. It is a Ryanair destination (Treviso airport is nearly an hour away by bus). Buy your tickets from the shops etc. rather than the stations which are crowded. Also remember to validate your tickets or a fine WILL be imposed if they check.
Hotel Plaza is fairly modern but quite ugly and functional from the outside. It is however just opposite the Mestre station. The rooms are OK but bog-standard modern rooms. The reception staff all seem to be busy but are attentive. We didn't have a plus for our bath, mentioned it, and the maintenance man was with us in 2 minutes. Breakfast was very good with a large airy room and both hot and cold buffets. We spent two busy days in Venice Centre and it was not enough. In Venice try to stay away from the main tourist spots and you will be rewarded with fairly deserted canals and alleyways. Climb the bell tower at San Giorgio for the best views (a stop opposite San Marco on a vaporette). Try the restaurants and bars off the beaten track. Better value in all respects. Our first experience of Treviso airport and not a pleasant one. Slightly better once you get through the check-in and security.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tattybuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The location of this hotel, just across the railway station in Mestre, is more than convenient. The personnel was nice end happy to help. They also offer a discount for parking. The room was of average size with standard three star amenities. The breakfast was OK, nothing special but OK.
There is nothing special about this hotel, but if you come with a car to Venice and you are not planning to enjoy the hotel itself it is excellent choice. It’s situated next to the parking house, and using the bus or train you are in Venice in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank IvanDrazic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here last month on a short trip to Venice and it was great. The hotel room was very large, the bathroom was a good size and the hotel was clean and modern. So convenient that it was right across from the railway station, we were able to cross the street and hop on a train to Venice for the day. There is not much to do in the Mestre area where the hotel is located, but the hotel itself was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Plaza is a good choise for the ones who does not want to stay in the centre of Venice. (I wonder why people love doing this!) The transport to venice is quite easy from hotel plaza. You just cross the street and take the train to the venice. There was nothing negative in our stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lifegoaltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were travelling by a train from Rome to Venice, hence this hotel made a good location as it is situated right across the road from the station. We stayed at this hotel on 10th and 11th of July 2014. The rooms were were neat and clean and good. The bus and train stations are just opposite the hotel. It takes just about 15 minutes by bus to reach the Venice bus stop. If you buy the 12 or 24 hour pass for the water bus it is also valid on the bus to Venice. I had one problem though at breakfast, there were no omelets being served and when I asked for one they said its chargeable and they could serve it. This came as a big surprise as I have never heard of hotels asking for a charge for an omelets at breakfast. Maybe this is the Italian way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank bdhandhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We are very happy with our room tonight. Both comfortable and quiet. Our meal at Soul kitchen fabulous including staff. We trust that our breakfast and check out will be as good in the morning. So convenient accross the road from Mestre Station.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank bodetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#7 of 58 in Mestre
1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £52 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing