We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable, not central but very well connected, great breakfast”
Review of Hotel Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Piave
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The hotel is in Mestre, 15 mins by train or 25 by bus number 2 to Venice. We (my husband and I) were initially looking for something more central, but prices were sky-high, so we opted for this hotel, and we did not regret our choice.
Staff... well, this seems to be a hot point in most reviews: our first meeting with staff was a baldish and cinical guy at the reception who enjoyed making some little pseudo-funny remarks on anything and everything . Anyway, I cannot say we experienced a lack of service: he took us to our room, which was located in a dependance in a different building round the corner, gave us a city map with some travel info, and allowed my husband to print our boarding passes for our flight to Stockholm, which we appreciated.
The room was great! It was a large quadruple, with 2 double beds, tv, fridge, large bathroom, 4 windows, and very, very clean. 10/10!
There's a supermarket on the high street with a good selection of cheeses and hams, including local ones.
We went to Venice by bus, and when we came back and went to the reception to get our keys there was a different guy, who was having a loud conversation in a pretty surreal English with a guest of the hotel. The topic was air-con...: "No, I not turn on the air conditioning, if you are hot you must open window. No, i turn on air conditioning when is hot, very hot. Open the window" and literally put the phone down there and then. Now, there were 25 degrees, and it was very humid, it WAS hot! Luckily we were in the other building, which felt cooler. His attitude was something!
Breakfast costs 8 euros, but I can assure you it's worth it: one of the best breakfasts we had in Italy! Croissants, butter, jams, honey, salami, ham, cheeses, cereals, fruit salad, juices,white and wholemeal bread, biscuits, teas, milk, yoghurt, coffe/cappuccino machine... plenty of choice!
On our second evening there was a really nice, polite and helpful guy at the reception. He kindly enquired if we needed anything, we chatted a bit about where we were from, our wedding, where we were directed... he double checked (unprompted!) our airport coach timetable for the following morning, and it turned out we had the wrong info, if he hadn't checked we would have missed it! The morning after he called a taxi ffor us to get to the coach station (it's not far away, but at 6:30am dragging your luggage about is not very funny).
The only flipside we experienced: some prostitutes in the neighbourhood, but having said that, we just tried not to pay attention.
One general advice: take with you some mosquitoes repellent, in Venice you'll need it!
We would go back and recommend this hotel, it was not expensive, it's clean, breakfast is great and Venezia is easily and quickly reachable :)

Room Tip: try to get a room in the dependance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delfina71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

For all the earlier reviews regarding the staff, my daughter and I found them absolutely lovely and really helpful. Maybe other visitors to the hotel acted rude because what we experienced at arrival was they immediately put you at ease and the person who welcomed us spoke really great english and was easy on the eye lol. The rooms were immaculate and the bath you could turn it into a jacuzzi. The pics on this site do no justice to the hotel, i was expecting a horrible bathroom but it was actually one of the nicest bathrooms i have ever seen. Breakfast was better here than a 4 star hotel we stayed at on the same trip. Great hotel would highly recommend x

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carla10005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My friends and I stayed in this hotel for one night whilst in Venice as we couldn't find budget accommodation in the city on such short notice. Directions from the train station were good (only a ten minute walk - also good), but we quickly felt that the area wasn't wonderful - lots of people sitting around in the area and we felt slightly ill-at-ease.

On checking in, the guy at reception left us rather frustrated. He was really unfriendly, unhelpful, recommended the most expensive restaurant in the area. He insisted on holding all of our passports and to our horror stored them with the room keys behind reception - literally in the pidgeon holes behind a wooden screen that slides... we saw some other passports there too... EXTRAORDINARILY DODGY AND UNSAFE PRACTICE. I'm rather attached to my passport and the potential to go missing there is dreadful.

He offered us breakfast for €8 per person... for a continental breakfast! At least twice as much as it'd cost elsewhere. Needless to say we declined.

He informed us that we'd be staying in a building next to Hotel Aaron around the corner... in other hotels somebody would bring you around but nope... found our own way.

Can't specifically remember the WiFi prices other than that they looked way more expensive than everywhere else we'd stayed and we didn't avail of it for that reason.

The room itself... beds were fine, surprised pleasantly to find a fridge, tv, clean bathroom with hot shower. However, the shower is in a bathtub with NO WALL FITTING, and NO SHOWER CURTAIN/WATERGUARD. Pretty ridiculous and uncomfortable.

We paid €33 per person per night which in hindsight is a reasonable price but the whole experience left us cold. Not happy. Would not recommend. Definitely not.

Room Tip: try another hostel/hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmnire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Hotel's location is simply great. It's 3-5 mins away (walking) from the train station and 1 minute away (walking) from the bus station. So, as soon as we got down from the train we saw the sign to the road Via Piave. We kept on going straight on the road and saw a bus station from where we took a right and then a left from the first crossing ... that’s the way to reach the hotel from the train station Mestre (Stazione di Venezia Mestre). The rooms are very clean but are small. There is a good variety in breakfast and tasty too. As it's near the bus and train station, it's very easy to commute between Mestre and Venice Islands. We used the train as we heard every one talking about the traffic on the roads from Mestre to Venice Islands. And, before leaving the hotel we took the map from the reception, as at Information center it's paid. Information center is at the station so we bought 1 Euro tickets for going to Venice Islands and remembered to validate the tickets @ the yellow machines. As the Information center is only open till 9 pm so we bought to and fro tickets @ once. In the hotel we only got 15 mins of free Internet, after that we had to pay. And we could only use the Internet at a particular place, which is bad. We had a early train from Mestre to Milan, so didn't had time for the breakfast but Mr. Giuseppe was nice to serve us coffee as the breakfast was not ready. Overall, our experience at the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnehag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Very good localization - close to the train station. Rooms are really small - just to fit your luggage. Staff is indeed unfriendly (especially the bald guy at the reception is cynical). Breakfast is not included in price (+8 euro and it is not worth it). This is the only hotel were they added additional taxes and administration fee. There is wifi, but they charge 5 euro per hour !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistralll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This hotel is 2 minutes walk from railway station to get to Venice. Very clean and furnished in traditional Venetian style. Restaurants within walking distance. Selection of food at breakfast is massive. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnsmedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The hotel is situated in a quiet street near Via Piave boulevard in Mestre, at 200 m distance from Mestre railway station and 50 m from bus station (Bus Nr.2 to Venice 10-15 minutes ride).
I had a double room at third floor, small surface with bathroom well equipped and very clean. The radiator inside the room was working only by half, without the possibility of adjustment.
The walls are poor insulated, you cam hear all the noise from the other room.
I haven’t encountered any problems at the check-in/out or during my stay in the hotel with the personnel of the hotel.
The breakfast is an open buffet with lots of choices and well organized.
At the reception you can ask for free map of Mestre and Venice.
I recommend the hotel for its good price and conditions.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michou002002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#27 of 58 in Mestre
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#51 of 58 in Mestre
922 reviews
3.6 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#28 of 58 in Mestre
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piave

Address: Via Col Moschin 6/10, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: £29 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Mestre, near the railway station, Hotel Piave is the ideal solution for tourists who would like to reach Venice in a convenient manner yet have space to breathe in a Hotel with a peaceful family-run atmosphere, in a setting dominated by warm colours and where attention is paid to everything even in the tiniest of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piave Hotel Mestre
Hotel Piave Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing