We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, budget pillows.”
Review of Hotel Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Piave
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Budget hotel, budget pillows.”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 days last year and this can only be described as a budget hostel with private rooms. The bed was incredibly hard and we were only provided with one pillow each and two very scratchy woolen blankets to use over the sheets. The windows had daunting metal roller shutters so you could air the room securely but as our view overlooked a car park/yard we weren't overly bothered for opening them!

The reception staff took our passports the day we checked in and then promptly scolded us the next day for not having them with us when we went in to Venice as we could 'end up in jail for days without them' which given their insistence on taking them the day before should have set the alarm bells ringing really!

The WiFi was chargeable and cost an absolute fortune for what surmounted to a connection that could quite possibly have been outdone by paper cups on string!

One of my favourite moments in this hotel was probably when I had the audacity to ask reception for the use of an iron, at which point I was glanced up and down and informed that I should use the laundry next door but not the same one as them as 'We Venetians aren't like Europeans and Americans, we have the nice clothes' A nice, scathing moment!

The shower cubicle in the bathroom was absolutely tiny so showering became some sort of acrobatic challenge and the fittings were all incredibly dated with no towels provided.

Breakfast can probably be described as 'continental' in a fairly loose term and there's not really any sign of any staff during this time, although given how unfriendly they all came across, this probably wasn't a bad thing!

On the plus side this place is only a 5 minute walk from the train station and a couple of restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    161
    197
    99
    100
See reviews for
103
278
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pitesti, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Piave hotel is a good choice if you want to visit Venice for a few days. Is very close (300 meters)to the bus station , you travel to Venice for 10 minutes by bus and reach to Piazzale Roma to take vaporetto. The room is good for the purpose , to rest at the end of a tired day , the bathroom it's ok , clean ,breakfast is buffet ,the stuff is very kind and want to help you.
I am glad that I chosed Piave Hotel , once again, it has a good position for visit Venice !And the price was OK

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is situated closely to the Railway Station (about a ten minutes walk) and also to the main square in Mestre: Ferretto. The rooms are not very large, but they serve the purpose. The bathrooms are very small, and the ventilation in here is not quite good. The breakfast is varied, but the coffee is very poor. The stuff is nice and can give some useful information about the surroundings. All in all this, it is a good place to stay if you plan to visit Venice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is affordable and well situated (less then 10 minutes from the Mestre railway station).
The rooms are quite small, but clean. The bathrooms are not so great, because there's no delimitation between the shower and the rest of the bathroom (bidet, garbage can and lavatory) and it's difficult to take a shower without getting water all around.
Also, the pillows are quite hard, not very comfortable.
Breakfast is quite OK (you have ham, cheese, boiled eggs, all kinds of cakes, cereal, etc. - basically, everything you might enjoy), but the coffee is not that good (soluble on the automatic machines and long watery tasteless coffee in the coffee pitcher).
The only real problem we had was during the last night, when the heating system stopped working in the middle of the night (in January). I woke up with a cold the next morning and though it wasn't their fault (they didn't know it was broken), it kind of ruined the experience for me.
The staff was polite enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisstinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The location of this hotel is the best bit of all. We found it quite easily, and there were various sorts of public transportation available within minutes walk. The breakfast was continental, but it tasted lovely and was well presented. Everything was clean. However, the staff were not friendly at all, and neither were we received well. The room was small, and even though i had booked a double room, we were given a room with 2 single beds pushed together - very uncomfortable. When leaving, we were not asked how our stay was etc. They need to improve in their customer service skills.

Room Tip: Good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mestre hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

As everybody said before, excellent location. Excellent breakfast. Nice room, but the doors are thin and we could hear everything on the hallway.
Good beds. Small bath. Polite staff.
Overall is good and could easily be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Location - The best benefit of this hotel is its location. It is very close to the Mestre rail station - 5 minutes walk. Staying at such a low price so neat to Venice is a gift by itself. There are plenty of trains from Mestre rail station to Venice Santa Lucia, so it is easy and convenient.
Front Desk - The staff at the front office is good. I mainly interacted with the person who is there at night and he is indeed very polite and helpful.
Food - I have not taken the breakfast there, so I cannot comment. It is 8 Euro per person. Otherwise, you just come out of the hotel and try the small coffee shop right in front of the hotel. It is cheap and it is very good. Croissants and coffee were superb.
Price - this hotel is economical and good value for money. I paid 45 CHF each night and the room is good enough for that price.
Room condition - the rooms are good, clean. Bathroom is OK, could have been little bigger. The hotel looks little old and needs to be upgraded. But that's fine for me - I didn't go there to spend my entire time in the hotel. I enjoyed Venice instead

Regards,
Pallab
pallabmukherjee.wordpress.com

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pallab2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#51 of 58 in Mestre
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regit
Hotel Regit
#30 of 58 in Mestre
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#26 of 58 in Mestre
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#25 of 58 in Mestre
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piave

Property: Hotel Piave
Address: Via Col Moschin 6/10, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Mestre, near the railway station, Hotel Piave is the ideal solution for tourists who would like to reach Venice in a convenient manner yet have space to breathe in a Hotel with a peaceful family-run atmosphere, in a setting dominated by warm colours and where attention is paid to everything even in the tiniest of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piave Hotel Mestre
Hotel Piave Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing