We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Piave
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have stayed in room 111 for the period 24.05 - 31.05 2014 in Piave, Mestre. During our checking out early this morning today we have been threatened by the receptionist employee on duty as a criminals! We have been threatened with police! The behavior of your colleague was rude, arrogant, extremely aggressive and threatening. He has even not checked in advance in your hotel system that everything - every single cent! - has been duly paid the previous evening and that your colleague then has clearly marked on all papers about room 111 the sign "PAID". He has not even looked or checked in your hotel software or in the hotel ledgers (as it should be the normal procedure for all coming check outs during the night watch!) and he threatened us all the time with prison! I have SMS statements from my bank for the transactions, I have even shown to him the payment receipt from the previous evening but he just continued to be aggressive and to threaten that he will call police and to do all he can to cancel our flight! I have not enough words even to describe his behavior - I visit Italy for years, I visit Venice for second time, I have visited hotels all over the world including countries less civilized than Italy. This is the first time in my life when I am so disgusted from a hotel service. As a result we were not able to catch the transfer bus to Marko Polo Airport on time and to buy a ticket and we have almost missed our flight! We were lucky to catch in the last possible minute a taxi which costs EUR 35.These guys really succeeded to spoil my nice holiday and even my impression for the Italian hospitality and Italian kindness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emiliya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    157
    193
    98
    99
See reviews for
103
270
32
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The room is small but clean. There really is no place to set luggage and the bathroom/shower/bidet is very small. There is air conditioning. It is close to the train station, and there are decent restaurants close by. I think next time, we would have spend a little more to get something with a bit more room.

Saskatoon, SK, Canada

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
202 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

"who R you?"... this is what I heard from the guy at the front desk on my arrival, and it was the weirdest welcoming that I've heard in a hotel..

Thanks God rest of the stay was OK. The breakfast is decent and No 2 that passes from the main street 50 meters away every 10 minutes connects you to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbalsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood UK
Level Contributor
194 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

As we were arriving late at night and departing early the next morning, by train, we needed somewhere close to the station to stay for the night. Our stay was only brief so we were keen to get somewhere reasonably priced, always a challenge around the Venice area. The Piave seemed to satisfy these requirements.

Indeed the hotel is just a short walk from the hotel and easy to find. On arrival we received a warm welcome.

Our room was small, but clean with seemingly new bedding and towels.

A very adequate breakfast was served in the spacious dining room.

All of the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitlocksEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for two nights here. The rooms were good and the staff were friendly. Comparing other Venice accommodation, the prices were less expensive. They also had a descent breakfast. It is 5 minutes walk to the Mestre station where you can take train to Venice. Also one can get bus to Venice from the bustop which is closer to the Hotel. There are also a descent Indian restaurant and an Interesting Pizzeria on the Piave street.
Recommended !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaathrkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morecambe
Level Contributor
172 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Small rooms, but accommodation round Venice does not come cheap particularly during Easter.
The breakfast was OK, and the small bar quite comfortable.If you are using public transport, get a Venice Card before you arrive; you then 'key in' the code at any of the machines; there is one outside Mestre Station, and you can travel all over Venice without paying 7 Euros every time you step onto a Vaporetto.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room in 'The Annex'. It is a few hundred yards away and not very good. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for a week in March 2014. The bus from the airport drops you outside the railway station which is at the bottom of the road leading to the hotel. We bought a 7 day return ticket.(ATVO) online. You can also buy vaparetto (water bus) tickets online for use in Venice itself. The voucher you get is exchanged at the airport by the car hire desks.
The hotel is easy to get to, a short walk from the station, the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was cleaned every day and soap and shampoo was replenished daily. The room did not have drink making facilities or a refrigerator and the hair dryer was ok for drying but not styling as lacks power. The bed was firm but comfortable. There is no hot breakfast provided but there was a good selection of cereal, pastries and meats and cheeses on offer, served 7 - 9.45.
Public transport (train and buses) is cheap (1.25 euro each to Venice on train), and a car is not necessary to get around.
Overall a good hotel for the price bracket and a good base for Venice and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#23 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#48 of 58 in Mestre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Roberta
Hotel Roberta
#43 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regit
Hotel Regit
#32 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#9 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piave

Property: Hotel Piave
Address: Via Col Moschin 6/10, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Mestre, near the railway station, Hotel Piave is the ideal solution for tourists who would like to reach Venice in a convenient manner yet have space to breathe in a Hotel with a peaceful family-run atmosphere, in a setting dominated by warm colours and where attention is paid to everything even in the tiniest of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piave Hotel Mestre
Hotel Piave Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing