We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Room without space to swing a cat”
Review of Hotel Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Piave
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just stayed two nights in the smallest room since solitary confinement was invented! There was insufficient room to open both suitcases, about 250mm across the end of the bed (the bathroom opened off this space) and the smallest en suite bathroom known to man (it had a shower, bidet, basin and toilet, all in about 1.6m x 1.6m). I hate showering with the shower curtain damply sticking to me - yuk!

The WiFi didn't work when we were in residence (said to be a provider fault) and as a result we could not pay the parking fee by credit card. On the plus side the room was clean, but for one large cockroach (now dead!), and it was close to the railway station (only $1.25 Euro to Venice main station).

I accept that we chose to stay here because of the cost, but take my advice and either stay in Padova and catch the train to Venice for the day, or bite the bullet, pay the extra and stay in Venice itself (but check the size of the room before booking).

Room Tip: We were in a separate building round the corner from the main hotel which looked like a converted ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Good location from train station however not much to do in immediate area. Best to have dinner on the island as much better choice of restaurants - wifi was very frustrating - logs you in and out every 5 minutes. Walls are paper thin - We could hear next door snoring and going to the toilet and the general noise of people in the morning was frustrating!! Room didn't feel very clean however cleaner came in every day to make beds (they don't give you a choice, there was no 'do not disturb sign') they just wait until you've left (you leave key at hotel)
Hotel staff were friendly and breakfast was ok....

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AmyAlice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have stayed in room 111 for the period 24.05 - 31.05 2014 in Piave, Mestre. During our checking out early this morning today we have been threatened by the receptionist employee on duty as a criminals! We have been threatened with police! The behavior of your colleague was rude, arrogant, extremely aggressive and threatening. He has even not checked in advance in your hotel system that everything - every single cent! - has been duly paid the previous evening and that your colleague then has clearly marked on all papers about room 111 the sign "PAID". He has not even looked or checked in your hotel software or in the hotel ledgers (as it should be the normal procedure for all coming check outs during the night watch!) and he threatened us all the time with prison! I have SMS statements from my bank for the transactions, I have even shown to him the payment receipt from the previous evening but he just continued to be aggressive and to threaten that he will call police and to do all he can to cancel our flight! I have not enough words even to describe his behavior - I visit Italy for years, I visit Venice for second time, I have visited hotels all over the world including countries less civilized than Italy. This is the first time in my life when I am so disgusted from a hotel service. As a result we were not able to catch the transfer bus to Marko Polo Airport on time and to buy a ticket and we have almost missed our flight! We were lucky to catch in the last possible minute a taxi which costs EUR 35.These guys really succeeded to spoil my nice holiday and even my impression for the Italian hospitality and Italian kindness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emiliya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The room is small but clean. There really is no place to set luggage and the bathroom/shower/bidet is very small. There is air conditioning. It is close to the train station, and there are decent restaurants close by. I think next time, we would have spend a little more to get something with a bit more room.

Saskatoon, SK, Canada

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

"who R you?"... this is what I heard from the guy at the front desk on my arrival, and it was the weirdest welcoming that I've heard in a hotel..

Thanks God rest of the stay was OK. The breakfast is decent and No 2 that passes from the main street 50 meters away every 10 minutes connects you to Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbalsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

As we were arriving late at night and departing early the next morning, by train, we needed somewhere close to the station to stay for the night. Our stay was only brief so we were keen to get somewhere reasonably priced, always a challenge around the Venice area. The Piave seemed to satisfy these requirements.

Indeed the hotel is just a short walk from the hotel and easy to find. On arrival we received a warm welcome.

Our room was small, but clean with seemingly new bedding and towels.

A very adequate breakfast was served in the spacious dining room.

All of the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitlocksEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for two nights here. The rooms were good and the staff were friendly. Comparing other Venice accommodation, the prices were less expensive. They also had a descent breakfast. It is 5 minutes walk to the Mestre station where you can take train to Venice. Also one can get bus to Venice from the bustop which is closer to the Hotel. There are also a descent Indian restaurant and an Interesting Pizzeria on the Piave street.
Recommended !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaathrkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#27 of 58 in Mestre
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#51 of 58 in Mestre
922 reviews
3.6 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#28 of 58 in Mestre
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piave

Address: Via Col Moschin 6/10, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: £29 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Mestre, near the railway station, Hotel Piave is the ideal solution for tourists who would like to reach Venice in a convenient manner yet have space to breathe in a Hotel with a peaceful family-run atmosphere, in a setting dominated by warm colours and where attention is paid to everything even in the tiniest of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piave Hotel Mestre
Hotel Piave Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing