We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service in the hotel”
Review of Hotel Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Piave
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“poor service in the hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Generally not good enough for its money 69-71euro/night.
-there is wi-fi internet access, but it is 2 euro/1 hour
-mini refrigerator in the room was dirty
-you can hear what is goung on in the rooms around
-hair drier was not functioning properly and was not fixed for the time of my

stay there (4 nigths)
-making reservation online 1 month in advice provide you with more expensive

breakfast then on the place. I bave been charged 8 euro/day for breakfast,

while on the reception it cost 7 euro/day.
-stuff is not helpful and tend to lies in order to save efforts.They claim

that can not leave the reception unattended, but escort the new visitors to

their rooms if they are outside the hotel, in separate building.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MiroslavGeorgiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    161
    197
    99
    100
See reviews for
103
278
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2010

It was good considering the room rate they offered as compared to the other hotels in Venice. The room was airy and clean. The breakfast buffet was the best here compared to three other 2 & 3 star hotels we stayed in italy. The staff were helpful too. With just about 5-6 mintues walk from the train station it was conveneint to get from Mestre to Venice by train anytime and we also took the opportunity to go to Padova for a day.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annkuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We were looking for a cheap hotel in Mestre not too far from the train station. Most of those who were really close were a bit pricey or looking kinda shady or simply didn't have the rooms for 7 people (the size of our group). After walking further towards the city centre we found Hotel Piave in a quiet little street about 3 blocks away from the station.

The hotel had a great looking lobby so we thought we could give it a try.

It all started with the "bald, tough looking reception" guy. He was rude and unfriendly and even though he did his job properly, it seemed as if we were a nuisance to him. If you do not have the patience to deal with people, especially foreigners who are excited about visiting a different country, well, FIND ANOTHER JOB then. I remember on our second day we went down to the lobby before going out for dinner and we asked him for a bottle of wine from the bar. He said "I'll be right there", and we had to wait for about 5 minutes until he finished whatever it was that he was doing at his desk. And once again, when he finally came to serve us, it seemed again that we were a nuisance to him. Just pitiful...

Ohh yeah, the rooms... The rooms were clean but horrible. I don't really care if they look simple (after all, we usually travel on a budget) as long as you feel comfortable, which wasn't the case here. We got one of the rooms on the 4th floor and it was tiny, no AC, with dark green curtains that would feel old even in my grandmother's house and with very low ceiling. We all felt claustrophobic. The TV was at least 20 years old. The bathroom wasn't too tiny but the showering "box" was so small that I could barely move inside it (and I'm a fit guy).

The only good thing about the hotel was the breakfast. The room where it was served was very large with loads of space and tables. The food was very good, with a great variety and the lady taking care of it was really nice and friendly (maybe she should be up front, uh?).

Overall, I don't recommend this hotel. There are about 2 or 3 other hotels in the area that I'm sure are better than Hotel Piave.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IgorUKBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mestre hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The good:
-the hotel is clean
-the rooms are of good size (caution... some rooms aren't in the main building - ours was a 40m walk to another building)
-location is close to Mestre train station

The bad:
-It says air conditioned, but IT IS NOT air conditioned and if you are in Italy during a heat wave in July, you need air conditioning - this REALLY put a damper on our stay
-Very rude staff - he kept telling us to wait until he could show us our room while he typed away on his computer; however, I could see his screen and he was on Facebook the entire time
-The TV did not even turn on
-Tiny bathroom (the shower was essentially overtop of the toilet)

Would not stay here again, but at least it was clean

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sutter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The reason we choose to stay one night at Hotel Piave was primarly the price, parking, location and breakfast. We arrived around midnight, and left around 0800 next morning for Venice, so we didnt want to spend too much money on a hotelroom.

The location for visting Venice is great, we had our car parked at the hotel during the day we were in Venice. The hotel can be tricky to find if your driving from the airport, but its no problem from the railway/bus station. Big yellow signs show direction.

Rooms are tiny and clean. Bathroom are even smaller, looks like u have to shower with the toilet (we didnt try the shower)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiserundt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed at the beginning of June for a couple of nights to primarily visit Venice. The hotel is really easy to find from the Mestre train station as there are big signs pointing the way. All staff were really friendly except for the night porter who was a little grumpy. Our room was on the first floor and was a bit on the small side but was clean with a massive bathroom. The shower was integrated into the bathroom with just a curtain to go round it (like a wet room) however we found this a bonus and useful for us. No balcony or view but as we were out first thing each morning and back late evening, this wasn't a problem. We both found the bed and room very comfortable however we could have done with 1 english station on the tv and tea/coffee making facilities.
As regards to location, this hotel is absolutely perfect for a trip to Venice without paying the outrageous prices you pay on the island itself. Mestre train station is 5 minutes walk away from the hotel and it costs 2 euros return (buy the tickets from the main newstand) to the island, trains come every 3-4 mins and are easy to locate on the departures board and the ride itself takes less than 10 minutes. I don't think safety in Mestre is much of a problem as we returned quite late in the evening around 10pm and felt perfectly safe, however like most places I probably wouldn't recommend a solo female walking round there at night.
We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that and the wi-fi isn't free (after the first 15 minutes which is free) which is a downside :( . Overall for a ridiculously good price paid for a decent hotel. Will definately return when we next visit Venice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_animals66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

First of all, getting there: Dont take a cab from the airport ... go get on the bus that takes you to Mestre, there is only one bus station in Mestre, get out and go look for McDonalds and walk up the street with McDonalds at your back. Go about two blocks and look for yellow signs that say HOTEL PAIVE ... just follow the signs. Getting to Venice from there... well, the cheapest way is by bus..trains are expensive. Okay, so not the hotel. The room was so small there was not even a place to lay the luggage. We had to leave our passports at the desk for over an hour after we checked in and the guys who work at the front desk are rude. However, the breakfast is wonderful, the room is clean, and the bus trip to Venice is short and the hotel is conveniently located. I don't see how anyone can rate this hotel as more than one star, maybe from the delicious breakfast, but the rooms are old, and there is not even a single channel on tv in English. I would think a 3 star would at least show the BBC news or CNN, but America has higher standards for hotel rating systems. But then again, it is just over $100 a night and we were there to go see Venice not sit in the room. (I would recommend to a friend to reserve a room with a balcony)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaCouple2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#51 of 58 in Mestre
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regit
Hotel Regit
#30 of 58 in Mestre
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#26 of 58 in Mestre
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#25 of 58 in Mestre
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piave

Property: Hotel Piave
Address: Via Col Moschin 6/10, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Mestre, near the railway station, Hotel Piave is the ideal solution for tourists who would like to reach Venice in a convenient manner yet have space to breathe in a Hotel with a peaceful family-run atmosphere, in a setting dominated by warm colours and where attention is paid to everything even in the tiniest of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piave Hotel Mestre
Hotel Piave Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing