We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, not great service”
Review of Kappa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kappa Hotel
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Clean rooms, direct bus to Venice. Service could be improved.

We stayed 2 nights and we needed to catch a 10am RyanAir flight from Treviso airport which is not in Venice. It would cost €100 to take a taxi there, so we booked a car to take us to Treviso for €60. However, it was last minute and we needed to print the ticket to show the driver. We asked the front desk for help and even though they had a printer sitting right there, they refused to help us, even saying "it's your problem, it's not my problem". Watch out for the woman with the dark hair, one of the 3 receptionists. She's extremely unhelpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittaperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aersana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Kappa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Madam, thank You very much for You helpful opinion.

About the "not my problem - Your problem" the "dark hair receptionist" confirm that never she said that words; we believe in her, because being on training stage she's learning english too and at the moment she's not able to pronounce english words, except greetings....

The Hotel is a "Family running Management" and of course pretend to print at 11 p.m. your fly ticket (service not included in the price but of course free of charge and hopefully by our Guests appreciated...) could be difficult....

The early morning after this request certainly would be solved, considering the 10 a.m fly.

For last, if You ask for a taxi we call a taxi, if You ask for a rent a car we call for You a rent a car...without driver of course more convenient than a taxi.

Thank You again.

Best Regards.

Francesco & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

The location is not bad. About 20mins bus ride from Venezia train station. It's better for backpackers as there's no elevator (only stairs). Breakfast was not fantastic but there's an excellent italian restaurant recommended by the receptionist nearby & a fruit stall which sells the freshest fruits. In general, location was not bad, service was good & most suitable for backpackers.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhi X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Guys.. if you are willing to save some money but you still want to have privacy... this is your place. Is not luxury at all but has everything you need, internet, toilet, good and nice bed, and something important, normal breakfast is you are not a big eater...really easy to find, just take like 2 from mestre station *15 min... it is just 25 min from venece centrum... close by to Marco Polo airport, around 25 euros for a taxi... very nice staff and at last I would say go for it...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Kappa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Hi Alexander....Thank You!!!!

Francesco & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

First let me say I ended up liking it, but settling in was a nightmare. Upon arrival two out of four lights in the room didn't work. The house staff fixed one, but after 6 nights here one of them still doesn't work. They DO have good hot water, and being a budget traveller that can be iffy in some places. However, at least in my room, taking a shower was virtually impossible. I am not a big person but the shower was so small that every time I moved some part of me knocked the shower handle and turned the shower off. I dropped the soap and literally had to step out of the shower to have enough space to bend down and pick it up. The shower also had a weird half door / half shower curtain rig. You also had to step up to get into the bathroom, a definite hazard at night.
Figuring out the electrical was like a Rubik's Cube. Which adapter for which outlet? Some worked in some outlets, but not in others. I plugged my iPad into one outlet to charge overnight and had success. Plugged it into another the next night and ended up with a dead iPad.
Good heat in the room, but could feel a little like an oven. Rather than try to figure out how to turn down the old radiator at 3 a.m., I opted to just open the window.
The smell as I entered the room hinted of mustiness and I detected mildew under the wallpaper. The wallpaper was also curling away from the wall underneath the window.
Some good things to note are that the room was a good size...bigger than those in central Venice, the price was very reasonable and, once I surrendered the idea of taking a shower, the ultimate impression was that it's a reasonable deal, clean enough, with a helpful staff, nice selection of things to eat at breakfast, and in a nice neighborhood.
A caveat to the aesthetes who have come to see the beauty of Venice...the trip to the Mestre from the airport, and then from the hotel into Venice will hurt your eyes. Keep your head down and read your tour book until you arrive at the Piazzale Roma.

Room Tip: They'll accommodate you if you ask for a quiet room, but specify that you don't want it next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lli34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Kappa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

In only one word and this time in italian... INCREDIBILE!!!

If you stay abroad You have to organize Yourself with adapter (that we immediatly gave You of course free of charge...); the Hotel electric system is completely certified by italian law and new...certainly different from american requirements (forbidden in Italy...) but I repeat in accordance with italian law and safety.

Maybe You never found a solution with Rubik's cube too...

Finally it was enough to ask the room's change, but it's easier to write after departure, isn't it?

During Your stay no complaints or "help me" received, except the adapter...

Using the word "Nightmare" about Your stay in our Hotel, You confirm to be not agreed at Kappa Hotel in the future.

Respect is very important for us.

Best Regards,

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel, but i was very happy with my decision to stay here. I took the train from Milan to Venice Mestre station, then hopped the number 2 bus to the hotel. The bus stop is right across the street from the hotel. Kappa Hotel is just a short 20 minute ride from Venice, then it is a lovely 30 minute walk to Piazza San Marco. (St. Marks Square.) The staff was lovely and very welcoming. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We have stayed in this hotel twice before and have been satisfied. However this time we were very disappointed. Firstly he decor of the hotel generally was tired. There was very little choice for breakfast compared with previous visits. We were without shower gel for 3 days despite asking twice at reception and nobody seemed to know where it was kept. Lastly, the room was not cleaned to a very high standard, dirty glasses were left dirty and stick surfaces were not cleaned. I regret that if we visit Venice in the future we will not be staying at this hotel again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunkymunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Kappa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Sir, thanks a lot for Your review.
Normally our Guests reviews are very good, Yours is a little surprise... during Your long stay (4 nights) I was unlucky because by You never bad news or complaints received.. I'm very sorry for the not satisfacting communication between the Staff and me.
Actually (low season) are working lots of students in our Hotel, it's a work training part in the Touristic School Project of Tourism Institute "Gritti" in Venice Mestre.. could be possible some problems (shower gel...) caused by inesperience.
About the cleanliness, it's the biggest surprise! It's enough to read all the other reviews...
I would appreciate a good comment about the room's price (about € 50.- per ROOM per night)...but so is. A payed service must be perfect.

Hoping to see You in the near future, thank You again.

Best Regards,

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

To start:Very good 3 star hotel for visiting Venice and even Padova ! The bus stop is just in front of the hotel with direct bus to Venice bus station from where you can get water bus or just walk * be advised that the walk from here to center of Venice is not short but very pleasant!!! ( be sure to have a map for Venice because we were just wondering along the streets admiring and you can easily get lost on the narrow ones ) .Another bus from in front of the hotel takes you directly to Auchan supermarket ! Also near are bars , good pizzerias and food stores.The area is pretty quiet.Rooms clean,furniture ok with everything you need, TV with international channels.Reception service very ok and helpfull.You can ask them for tips on restaurants, they even have bus tickets ( bus line from hotel also gets you directly to train station to catch a train for Padova or a bus for Lido di Jesolo for the beach ) .
Breakfast is pretty ok for this kind of 3 star,variety I considered OK.
Now for the ''bad'' things about this hotel:a little bit aged, not very renovated, and for me especially as male the bathroom is very very small and the shower cabin is like a ''mad house restraint''..it was very hard to make a shower.
But overall, for visiting Venice, the price for bed and breakfast considering that you can easily visit Venice by bus, you have food stores and restaurants near with normal not venice prices, I recommend this location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trapioan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#27 of 58 in Mestre
253 reviews
2.2 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
452 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#17 of 58 in Mestre
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
496 reviews
5.2 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
420 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Nuova Mestre
Hotel Nuova Mestre
#24 of 58 in Mestre
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kappa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kappa Hotel

Address: Via Trezzo 8, 30174, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Mestre
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#20 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £41 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kappa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small, beautiful house, renewed into a hotel from a typical venetian villa of the beginning of the '900 century , wil welcome you in a warm and friendly atmosphere.For those who choose not the historic centre of Venice but wish in any case to get a quick access to the centre. Its advantageous strategic position towards Venice as well the quietness of the residential area in which our house is located make Hotel Kappa at the same time a good starting point both to visit Venice of course, but also to give a look at Mestre city centre which is at least worth a visit for its old beautiful Square (Piazza Ferretto) and attractive shops and typical venetian restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kappa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kappa Hotel Mestre
Kappa Hotel Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing