We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Rate Tour Package Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apogia Sirio Venice
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 8 July 2013

On Priceline, I made a bid of USD100 per night and was supposedly given a 4 star hotel but ended up with this hotel instead ;( On checking Tripadvisor, I was shocked to see so many unhappy reviewers on TripAdvisor and on checking the hotel's website, I was even more shocked to find they are offering double rooms at EUR59 per night which at EUR178 for 3 nights is at 45% discount to the total price (USD343=EUR258) I paid via PRICELINE!

Priceline's response (standard) is as follows:

"We evaluate each participating property on many different criteria, including cleanliness, guest satisfaction, decor, etc. We screen participating hotels carefully and update our information constantly to ensure that you always receive the best available hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you feel that this hotel does not meet your expectations. While placing your request, you agreed to accept 4 or higher star hotel within the area(s) you selected. Hotel Apogia Sirio Mestre does have a 4 star rating.

All properties offered through priceline.com have been evaluated according to the specific star level standards that we have developed exclusively for our program and described on our web site. While you may feel that this property should have a different star rating or is rated
differently by other groups, we are confident that our evaluation of this property will meet your expectations.

When you placed your request, you selected the area you wanted to stay in and the star level of the hotel. When we found a hotel that matched your specifications, we immediately booked your reservation in order to lock in your rate and reservations cannot be changed or canceled, your reservations are non-refundable.

You must call us within 24 hours of making your priceline.com purchase and prior to your travel date, if you have a valid Best Price Guarantee claim. Please call 1-800-PRICELINE if you live within the U.S. or Canada. If you are outside of the U.S. or Canada, please dial
1-212-444-0022."

Hence I was stuck with this unfortunate situation and I had to go through the same horrible experience as the poor past reviewers did:

1) Location: Although it is not in the middle of nowhere & there's a bus-stop 2 minutes away which takes you to the Mestre train station (3mins) and Venice (12mins), the immediate surrounding area is populated by grime, shuttered shops, a fistful of small bars and trattorias, tiny forex/internet cafes, oriental grocery shops & general suburbia; nothing pretty nothing grand nothing much.. the only gem is the family Italian restaurant a couple of steps next to the hotel with the amazing 2.5 storey log wood oven inside and delicious thick grilled pork chop for EUR7! There's also a public swimming pool where the bus stop is, which can be a relief from the summer heat but is at EUR6 per person and the lap lengths are 25m only.

2) Rooms: Small, dated furniture, boring colors, uncomfortable beds, stained sink & grimy tiling, horrible bathroom amenities (hard soaps/foul smelling sachet shampoo), thin walls (woken up at 4am one night by the neighbour using their hair-dryer - a few sharp knocks on the wall sorted them out).. aircond is very strong & powerful though and my Italian has greatly improved from watching the TV since there are no English channels..

3) Staff: The phones don't work so you can't even call the staff and some staff are... shy? A response of: "No free internet; everyone must pay! EUR3 an hour" and he hurries to attend to something behind him and turns his back to you. Another man of a more jovial disposition would half-joke: "Look at the internet! Everything there!" before waving you goodbye. The ladies are more helpful with information on bus tickets (much cheaper to buy at the counter compared to on the bus), additional shampoo (nice smelling in tube form), maps, etc.

4) Food: We didn't dare try the breakfast for the first 2 days after the scoffing reviews on Tripadvisor but had to on the last day as we were rushing for the train and were pleasantly surprised that the food was actually.. edible.

Summary: We noticed tourist buses continually parked outside the hotel - guess this is the kind of border-town hotel with a semi-fancy lobby area for the brochure shots & substandard rooms & service best for big tour groups with tourists who just want to be put up for a night on their way to see Venice!

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room possible - because they can be absolutely tiny!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnChiongLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Apogia Sirio Venice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Reception staff very good and friendly.
Location - 10 minute walk from Mestre centre. 2 minute walk to frequent bus to Venice
Room - very good. Clean. Not one English speaking TV channel
Food - had breakfast only. Sparse. Worst bacon EVER- why bother with it.
Bar - no Peroni (Ran out) no Gin (ran out) !!!!!!!!!! & the dry white wine was medium.
OK for a one night stay on way to a cruise, but if I stayed longer I would have wanted to re-organise it !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICKRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApogiaHotelsGroup, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Apogia Sirio Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
We hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best regards
Staff Apogia Sirio Venice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here for three nights and the only good thing I can say about our stay is at least the staff was apologetic for everything that went wrong!

The rooms are very small, you have a very small safe (not big enough for an ipad) and fridge inside and that's seriously it (no coffee maker, mini bar, cups, water...nothing!). We asked about the possibility of a third guest and they said the rooms are too small for a folding bed so we would have to take another room.

The internet (for which you pay 3£/hour) didn't work in our room so they moved us to another room, where it also didn't work. I was then promised that it would definitely work in the lobby, so I took my things down only to met other frazzled guests trying to get online, and together we realized that the internet actually doesn't work anywhere!! They did comp my internet but I never got to use it so...!

I asked for an iron, but they didn't have even one in the entire hotel.

The breakfast is honestly not worth waking up for (powder coffee out of a machine, crackers, jam, dry bread, scrambled eggs, and cheap sliced meats).

They charge you a "tourist tax" which cost us 18£, still don't understand what it was.

Aside from the hotel's issues, my main advice for people considering this hotel is STAY IN VENICE!! I promise it's worth the slightly higher price. This place is in a typical suburb, surrounded by factories and car dealerships. It took us roughly 45 minutes to an hour to get to Venice and you end up wasting so much of your time commuting (and the commute is truly an ugly one, going past a smelly lagoon and factories...completely unromanticises Venice). You need to take a bus to the end of Venice--Plz Roma (30-35 minutes not counting the wait time), then you take a boat from Plz Roma to the center (another 25-30 minutes). Like most tourists we wanted to spend our day sight seeing then shower (because Venice is really hot and humid) before going out to dinner, and with the commute time it was simply impossible/painstaking. If you stay in Mestre you don't get the Venice experience. Sometimes calling the hotel helps you find a better price.

Room Tip: We got to see two rooms and it appears that you have the choice between "garden view" aka...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bappetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApogiaHotelsGroup, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Apogia Sirio Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. I can see that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and with the service that we provided, and I would like to apologise for this.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again, and to restore your faith in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Hotel Apogia Sirio Venice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Two bus stations from the Mestre railways station and a few steps from the bus #2 (direct bus to Piazzale Roma, Venice), the hotel flashes 4 stars at the entrance but it merely has 3.

The rooms are spacious but humide and cold, the AC doesn't help since you cam choke with the dust its fan pushes in the room, hot water takes a good few moments to come by the pipes, you can hear (much) more than you want through the walls and it's going on and on.

For breakfast you can get only scrambled eggs, some ham and cheese, corn flakes, yoghurt and fruits; the coffee machine is a disgrace for Italy and, as a matter of fact, to anyone who previously ever had a decent cup of coffee.

Ever go back? Hell, no.

Room Tip: Try some other place
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApogiaHotelsGroup, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Apogia Sirio Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations.
We assure you that the rooms are cleaned daily and the water's problem were temporary.
We really hope to welcome you again soon in order to change youe idea about Apogia Sirio Venice.
Kind regards
Staff Apogia Sirio Venice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is great of our four days stay. All the reception staff were helpful and friendly.
Breakfasts had a not good, very very very basic. Taste was no nice. And cold too. Haven't Italian breads and another yogurts and fruits. Not a 4 stars, like 2 stars or 3 stars. The bedroom is comfortable and very clean and made up every day. But mini fridge is bad.
From hotel by bus to Venice about 40 mins. From hotel to train station walk about 25 mins.
IMPROVE breakfast and replace new TV and fridge. The hotel is 3 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolanta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApogiaHotelsGroup, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Apogia Sirio Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Jolanta,
thanks for your report on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you underline the staff's kindness. As far as breakfast and restaurant we working to rinnovate this department and in order to improve the service.We can assure you that the necessary actions will be undertaken in order to better our services and quality.
Kind regards
Staff Apogia Sirio Venice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

very nice hotel, for business of vacation reasons...both will be a good location. The service was good, breakfast a bit basic. At 250 meter from hotel there was a very good restaurant, suggested by the staff of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApogiaHotelsGroup, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Apogia Sirio Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Apogia Sirio Venice. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Especially your comments about the hotelstaff makes me very happy. We always try to give our guests the best service possible.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Staff Apogia Sirio Venice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed 1 night: good room, bad bathroom (really old), breakfast not at a 4 star level (eggs and bacon cold, only two types of fruit). The staff is friendly and helpful. Good location: you can reach Venice by bus in 10 minutes.

Room Tip: we stayed at the 6th floor and the bathroom was really old and small
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApogiaHotelsGroup, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Apogia Sirio Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the our hotel.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. We want to inform you that there are working in progress in order to improve rooms and food and beverage departement.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Apogia SIrio Venice.

With kind regards,
Staff Apogia Sirio Venice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
760 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Venezia Marghera hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
1.8 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#11 of 58 in Mestre
675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elite Hotel
Elite Hotel
#21 of 58 in Mestre
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apogia Sirio Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apogia Sirio Venice

Address: Via Circonvallazione 109, 30174, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £58 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apogia Sirio Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION a strategic location for your holiday HOW REACH US ? 15 Minutes from Venice! BY PLANE Only 20 minutes from the Airport Venice Marco Polo to the Hotel Sirio Venice.Leaving the airport you have to take the bus ATVO up to Mestre's station. Ticket's price is 6 € per person, luggage included. When you arrive at the station take the bus, line 2, direction Viale Don Sturzo up to the stop Hotel Piscina Coni. BY TRAIN It is possible arrive to the central station of Mestre in only 20 minutes on foot or if you want you can reach the Hotel in 5 minutes with the bus line 2 direction Viale Don Sturzo. The bus stop is Piscina Coni. BY CAR Depending on the origin choise the motorway exit Venice Center or Venice Est. On the orbital road take the Castellana exit and continue to the center of Mestre.Continue> HOTEL APOGIA SIRIO VENICE Located in the centre of Mestre, our Hotel Apogia Sirio is very close to the pedestrian area of the historical centre and the new Towers, and only 200 meters away from the new tram station, from where it is possible to reach Mestre railway station in few minutes. The Hotel Sirio in Venice Mestre is also in easy reach from the motorway exit of Castellana. The Hotel provides to its clients a full day reception service, a payment parking with restricted access, a internet point, free wifi, conference and meeting room. Apogia Sirio Venice is furnished of a bar and a restaurant in which it's possible to taste International and Regional dishes. The large air-conditioned conference room of the Hotel in Mestre in Italy is fully equipped for audio and visual presentations. The Hotel will make your stay in Venice an art city that is unique in the whole world - an absolutely memorable one, also through the variety of its comforts and its reliable and expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Apogia Sirio Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apogia Sirio Venice Hotel Mestre
Sirio Hotel Bassano Del Grappa
Apogia Sirio Venice Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing