We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes a good base for a short stay”
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Makes a good base for a short stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Although we booked the Ambasciatori Hotel we actually stayed in the sister hotel - Delfino next door. Our room was clean and spacious and the staff were polite.
The hotel is well located with a frequent bus service to Venice running from just outside with tickets for sale in the hotel however, there were very limited options for dinner in terms of local restaurants unless we went into Venice.
The hotel restaurant choices weren't very child friendly although they did offer the option of a spaghetti dish. Breakfast was good with lots of seating and choice and everything well stocked.
Overall good for a short stay and for use as a base to explore Venice whilst escaping the crowds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReluctantTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    388
    295
    111
    115
See reviews for
208
533
33
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

pluses: Nice and clean rooms; very well placed (next to the bus station and close enough to the train station - 10 minutes walk);

minuses: poor WiFi connection in some parts of the hotel and restaurant;

Room Tip: Higher floor have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sorin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having read some of the negative reviews about this hotel I was a bit concerned that I would be unhappy with my choice. However I am so happy I decided to keep my reservation, the hotel is fantastic. It is within walking distance of all the attractions and once you get your bearings Rome is just waiting to be explored. The building is traditional Italian and I think those who are reviewing this need to bear that in mind. If you are comparing it to a fancy new 5 star hotel in Dubai, it isn't 5 star. However it is a good quality hotel, the staff were polite, helpful and there was always someone on hand to help. The chamber maid came in twice a day and our room was always clean with fresh towels and linen. The breakfast was nice and we were all able to enjoy something from the buffet. The hotel is next door to the Hard Rock Cafe, which was great, when you wanted a reasonable priced beer after a long day sight seeing!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baia Mare, Romania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed only for 2 night at the hotel Ambasciatori , the room was clean with a lot of space; i love the location of the hotel because croos the street you can take the bus for Venice (take arround 10-15to get there) and also is 10 min walk from the town centre.
The staff was helpful and nice; and also the hotel has a parking place so îs a great place to stay if you travel by car.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank World P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

booked as part of a 6 day Rome/ Venice short break this Hotel was excellent value. We did not experience any of the poor service mentioned in some reviews and could not find fault with any element of the Hotel. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food and service were more than acceptable

Dennis, the barman was a real pro.....and turned out a mean (very large) cocktail for around 6 euros....great for a pre dinner drink.

Understand this is a 15 minute bus journey from the main attraction of Venice but the booking fees are really competitive (we booked flight, this hotel B&B, and train journey from Rome for £379 per head !)

an excellent choice for a short break to Rome

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allanKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is the hotel we booked for in our holiday deal with citrus holidays it was a travel zoo deal. But when we arrived they told us we were in the sister hotel next door hotel delfino, they told us it was the same. But it didn't look it the lobby area etc was a lot nicer, posher here, plus the staff were friendly (not so at the hotel delfino). The rooms on the pictures look a lot nicer too. We were told we could have breakfast in either hotel so we tried a breakfast in each hotel. They were very similar (not brilliant) breakfast. I would've preferred to stay where we had booked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisonc1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I just say adequate, because of the location, once in the rooms you may agree they are in need of updateing. It would be nice if there was a hot pot for boiling water in the rooms.

The internet here is very unstable...

The phone may ring for a long time before the front desk answers. There could be a better indication on the phone for calling the front desk. As the reception button on the phone did not work. It took some time for me to figure out how to call downstairs. It is a good thing it was not an emergency.

Located in a small town, there is a large supermarket of the next block where you can get some very nice olive oil to take home. Just go out the door and make a right.

Across the street it the bus stop for getting to Venice, tickets may be purchased at the smoke shop just behind the bus stop.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have bathtubs, so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bologna
1.0 mi away
Apogia Sirio Venice
Apogia Sirio Venice
#21 of 58 in Mestre
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Property: Ambasciatori Hotel
Address: Corso del Popolo 221, 30172, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Mestre
Ambasciatori Hotel Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing