We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Hotel
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean and basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

i loved this hotel basic. clean. staff great. good deal on prices
beside venezia bus stop going into venice 20 min journey every half an hour
across the road trevisio bus stop for coming home from venice
last bus home 9pm there are other buses but i am not sure of the numbers or routes they take
on arrival best to go from venice roma station as we got pretty lost when we got of at mestre
we met a lovely local italian girl who gave us a lift to hotel otherwise we may have been looking for hotel for ages

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moulismes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    87
    78
    38
    34
See reviews for
42
111
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

This hotel was dated and horrible to stay at. It's quite far from Venice itself and requires a bus trip. If you don't mind the bus trip fine but it is a fair walk away from the busy centre where all the shops are, let alone Venice itself. I was expecting more. Staff weren't friendly. I would not recommend this hotel. There are a couple of hotels near it that are chain hotels and would probably provide better standard. Venice is expensive so if you are looking at a tight budget then you will have to stay a fair bit away but I'm sure there are some bargains to be had at hotels with better quality rooms and slightly closer to Venice itself. The hairdryer was the most unique contraption I've seen in a long time. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mestre hotels

Derbyshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

We had a great stay here. The hotel is clean and comfortable and a sensible price for visiting Venice. The staff are very friendly and helpful and are used to advising guests about visiting Venice. Buy a 'travel card' from the Tabbac a 100 yards up the road and this will give you access to bus and water bus transport to and around Venice. Very good value. The bus stop is right outside the hotel. 20-25 minutes into Venice. It is a 20 minute walk if you are so inclined into Mestre itself, but the restaurants are worth it. Very good and very reasonable, unlike the prices in Venice itself. Plenty of free street parking with about 3 or 4 spots in the hotel grounds itself for 9euros a day. Perfectly safe on the street though. Very quiet at night with the all important air conditioning too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMickey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

The location is terrible. The rooms have not been remodeled in probably twenty or more years. The carpet is stained, old, and dirty. The beds are so old that you can't sleep comfortably. And we found insects in our room. We were in the room for about ten minutes and decided to leave immediately. We received no refund for finding insects in the room. BASICALLY, DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailingach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

This hotel takes you back in time and i don't mean classic- think retirement home. Decor in the hotel is grey but our room was kept very clean and tidy by the very nice maids every morning. Our room had a nice sized bathroom and a great power shower but we had to be careful as the shower basin was very low and was not covered so susceptable to flooding the bathroom out. There is also a foot bath and a retro hairdryer which looks a bit like a mini vacum cleaner hose!

We had no troubles checking in (we arrived early and could check in) our double bed however was two single beds pushed together but we didnt mind as it was still quite comfy. We had a fridge/ mini bar in our room and a small TV built into the corner of the ceiling. We also had a balcony not much of a view with the main road directly in front of the hotel but was "nice"

Make sure you bring good walking shoes- The hotel is quite away from anywhere! To walk to Mestre centre is about 15 mins and if you want to walk to the train station it will take you a good hour- dont even try walking to Venice! Good news is that the bus stop is right in front of the hotel and to buy bus tickets the 'Tobaccheria?' shop is only a 2 min walk down the road from the hotel- where a very friendly gentleman is willing to help (it helps if you can speak a bit of itallian!) buses to Mestre station/ centre are fairly freequent and buses to Venice is every half hour. Friendly english speaking reception staff will let you know the time table and which buses to take.

Mestre is very quiet and peaceful during the early afternoon (bearing in mind this is March!) and shops are closed until 3.30pm (with some restaurants not opening till 7pm) Everything is open in Venice, note that the last bus back to the hotel from Venice is at 9pm otherwise catch the number 2 bus to the old hospital and walk back to the hotel- also note that there is a underpass you will need to walk under but it is well lit.

Breakfast is served in a small seating area by the tinest bar area i've seen! But it is nice. A small selection of things to eat- cereals, rolls, boiled eggs, juice. tea, coffee. Waitress brings you salami and cheese and croisants with jams, butter etc.. a small breakfast which is adequate.

Overall it is a nice hotel- a bargain compared to staying in Venice. Hotel staff are great and very helpful but having stayed in 3 star hotels before i would class this more as a 2 star- would be nice if there was tea making facilities in the room. Me and my partner had a fantastic time in Venice/ Italy and we were out touring most the time so it didnt really matter that our hotel room wasn't the Ritz! Stay here if you want the basics - cleanliness, good service, a good bargain and to be away from the hustle and busle of the city.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodles9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2008

I stayed at this Hotel for 2 wks Holiday with my Husband & 13yr old daughter. we had the best time ever! It was GREAT! Fantastic Reception staff very friendly, as were the Breakfast staff, maid would make a breakfast tray up for my husband as he slept in and would have missed breakfast. rooms were comfortable and cleaned daily, bed linen and towels changed daily also.easy to get to Venice, bus stops outside the hotel just to the left. 15 min ride. 10 mins walk into Mestre center, cross over the road by the bus stop turn right, walk till you get to another zebra crossing, then you cross back over so you are on the same side as hotel again. a few yards you will see a small crossing that takes you under the bridge, walk under and keep going till you get to traffic lights, on the corner to your right you'll see a pizza restaurant (Sconta) and next to that is a lovely Chinese, both are brill.

  • Liked — The Staff and....How close it is to Venice
  • Disliked — car park charge 9 euros pn. Bar did not have Red Wine, but they let me buy my own from a supermarket. liked that
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy-John25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

Stayed here for 5 nights in October 07.

I hadn't researched Venice in enough detail before this trip so was a bit shocked when I realised how far out of Venice the Club Hotel is.

The reception staff are lovely, can't do enough for you..
The hotel though is very grim...The room was 'grey' and was really old and tired.

Breakfast wasn't very good - there is a bus stop outside the hotel to get into Venice - Which gets very busy.

However, I know I have down rated this, but it did serve a purpose and it cost hardly anything. When I return to Venice though I will save more and stay on Venice and not in Mestre. Its too inconvenient for getting back on an evening from Venice on the bus.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank travel_mad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
1.6 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airmotel
Airmotel
#40 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
4.9 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#37 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#26 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel

Property: Club Hotel
Address: Via Villafranca 1, 30174, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Hotel Mestre
Mestre Club Hotel
Club Hotel Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing