We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for easy access to Venice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during the 1st week of June. We arrived at Marco Polo Airport and took the public bus to the hotel. It took about 30minutes to arrive at the hotel. The bus stop is right across the street from it.
We arrived 2 hours before check in and we allowed into the room. Front desk agents were very nice and spoke Italian, Spanish and English. It made communication very easy for us.
The room was spacious for European standards and the bed was comfortable. In room WIFI was good. Breakfast buffet was part of the room rate.
Location was great you can take the bus or train into Venice. We took both. I strongly suggest the train as it is faster. We had to take the bus the 1st day because there was a train strike.
This hotel is a good option. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 2,378 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Best Western Bologna was an excellent choice for our trip to Venice. It's incredibly close to Mestre's trainstation (just cross the street). You'll be in Venice within 15 minutes and the train fare is cheap (2,5 euro return).

The hotel itself is amazing. Nice lobby, nice staff and excellent rooms. Our first room had a problem with the ventilation. We told the staff and the immediately changed our rooms. Great service!

Our new room was excellent. A bit noisy if you open the windows, but overall great. Nice, big bathroom and super clean!

Mestre itself is not very romantic. But if you want to eat near the hotel, there are a few options. Even for vegetarians. There's is a falafel place nearby, but a better option is a small pizzeria. It's on the same road as the train station, just go right when you face it and walk for a few minutes. The pizza's are nice and you can take them to go as well. Better still: eat in Venice :) But if you had a long day and want to relax in your hotelroom, it's a nice option!

Anyhow... Bologna hotel is highly recommended for a city trip to Venice! Much cheaper than staying in the city itself, you can park your car and have a beautiful place to sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed a night before and after a cruise from Venice. Nice modern hotel, good rooms, and very nice bathrooms. Very convenient location opposite Mestre Railway station and near bus routes. Breakfast reasonable and the hotel has a restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have been using Best Western properties on various occasions on our travels across continents. They have a certain standard and always meet expectations. This one was no different with a very warm welcome thrown in for good measure. Much appreciated after a long drive from Amalfi to Mestre (10 hrs). The lady at the reception (I forget her name & am sorry for that) went out of her way to help us (she could tell how tired we were) and had us guided to our room while she checked us in, had our luggage sent, the passports delivered in a sealed envelope after the check in.

The location is awesome. Right across from the train station, making it the most convenient and easy commute to Venice.

The rooms our spacious - in fact the best of all the hotel accommodations we used in Italy. We had requested a triple room since we were traveling with our 13 year old son. They ensured we had a big room with a partition separating our sleeping space from our son's. We even had our own small private balcony! Breakfast is very good and filling, with a decent spread, included in the room tariff.

The lady at the reception even suggested a great place to dine (we were keen on stepping out the day of our check in). She spoke great English (a huge plus in Italy trust me) and guided us on who to buy our train tickets from, at the station, to Venice. She helped us with whatever assistance we required. In fact the entire staff is friendly and helpful. This place is total value for money with great hospitality and comfort - a pocket friendly lovely experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veissali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were stuck at the Venice train station at 10pm with all of our luggage and an over tired and frightened 5 yr old. Our train was late and we had missed our connection. The wonderful girls at Best western Bologna gave us a rooms at a discounted rate, were friendly and gave great advice, I also witnessed the ladies dealing with a very rude and extremely difficult customer with calm professionalism. Our rooms were clean, huge and comfortable and the bathroom was divine. Breakfast was delicious and they served hot textured milk with my coffee! Staff were very friendly, made us glad to be stranded. Thank you, you made a tense and stressful situation so much easier.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9bulolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel was better than expected. Location is great, across the street from the train station, making it an easy commute into Venice. The rooms were spacious, clean and modern. It's very difficult to find a reasonably priced triple room in the Venice area and this was perfect. The breakfast was excellent for a hotel.
Front desk service was superb. They recommended a seafood restaurant nearby which was far better than anything we had in Venice. We were planning to take public transportation to the pier to board our cruise ship but the front desk staff insisted we take a private transfer which they booked for us.(it ended up being cheaper than public and saved us all of the hassle) Lastly, we realized 2 days into our cruise we had left $100 in the safe at the hotel!!! It was another day before we were able to contact them by email. The manager assured us that YES they had our money and it was $300 not $100 like we thought. He offered to wire the money to us immediately. We were so thankful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants quality but does not wish to pay the high price of staying in Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie5271989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Ok, here is the Good:
-Great location and very easy and convenient to get into Venice (you can buy tickets for the train & bus at the front desk)
-Beautifully designed, modern interior
-Good breakfast included in price of room
-Good sized room and bathroom
-Great restaurant & bar inside hotel for lunch & dinner
- Great staff- especially at the restaurant, bar & breakfast room
-Price is great for what you get
Here is the Bad:
- We had a room facing the street and every time the train went by (every 10-15 min) the room shook like there was a earthquake- ALL NIGHT LONG
- Bed was hard as a brick (I have found this is normal in Italy)

All in all, as long as you get a room not facing the street and you are on a budget, this is a great hotel with a great local restaurant attached with fabulous food.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room facing the street and train! I am sure the ones facing the back are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisat415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#15 of 58 in Mestre
2,210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#7 of 58 in Mestre
1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
793 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#3 Family Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £70 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing