We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after our Mediterranean cruise and it was a quick taxi ride from the port. Also it's an easy walk to the train if you want to go into Venice. The room is big with a comfortable bed and a fair sized bathroom.
Our only complaint is that the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything in the hallway and outside. No privacy for noise wise at all!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Taryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Definitely one of the nicest modern hotel rooms I have stayed in for a European 4* rated hotel.
The front desk staff where extremely friendly and helpful.
The barman was fantastic, and the cocktail prices where very good (I wish I had went down to the bar the night before)
Two minutes (if that...) from the station. The station is one stop from Venice. If you don't want to pay the super high prices for a hotel room actually on Venice island, then this is a great hotel to stay in. The immediate surrounding area is a bit grubby but if do decide to eat local prices are incredible value for money. I will certainly stay in this hotel again when I return to Venice again with my wife. To finish off as we had a late flight decided to get coach to airport, 5 minute walk to coach station, and nice modern coach took us to the airport 6 Euro each (As opposed to 40 Euro by taxi)

Room Tip: We was in room opposite side to station & main road, and we never heard any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolhand27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I was traveling with my family from Rome in the night train and we arrived early in the morning (6 a.m.) in the nearby Venezia Mestre train station well before the check-in time. Of course we were not expecting to enter in our rooms at that time but it would be nice to have a warm welcome and some interim solution until our rooms were ready to be used. Instead the air conditioning was put in freezer mode inviting us to leave the hotel. At that early time rooms 247 and 249 were being prepared for us. We took our breakfast at the nearby train station and went for a short walk in Venice. When we returned after lunch we were told that our rooms have been changed from 247 and 249 to 124 and 125 at a lower floor (usually lower quality rooms). No explanation was given to us for this change. It should be said that I requested a quiet room but these new rooms were far from that, not only the sound insulation was poor but the street was quite crowded until late night. Besides these issues the hotel is a reasonable value for money in the current hot Venice hotel market.

Room Tip: Run away from rooms x10 to x26 if you want to sleep well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Hotel is one train stop away from Venice. The location is perfect for pre and post cruise. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and warm. There are good restaurants closeby and American fast food brands.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We selected the Best Western Bologna Hotel in Mestre after reading the Venice Travel Forum here on Trip Advisor. We are in our 50's and recognized that Venice in July would be hot and packed with tourists, and we did not relish the idea of dragging our luggage onto the vaporetto, up and over bridges, and through a maze of narrow side streets. Additionally, we were looking for a place that would be economical, close to the train station, clean, and with air conditioning. BW Bologna turned out to be all these things and more. We easily booked on-line for a 2 night stay in July (Saturday and Sunday), but what we did not realize was that the 2 nights we booked just happened to be during one of the largest festivals held in Venice: The Festa del Redentore, an annual 2 day religious festival with fireworks over the Giudecca canal.
In spite of the fact that this is one of the busiest weekends in the year for the area, the staff at BW were amazing. One of this hotel's best assets is the staff, who are all very service focused. Because of the festival, almost all public transportation schedules were disrupted, and many of the Venetian restaurants did not have seating available due to reservations that were pre-booked months before. Elena at the front desk patiently answered our one million questions, and we watched as she and her colleagues patiently repeated the answers for many others who had the same questions. Every question was met with a genuine desire to help out the customer. Tips and suggestions were offered on things we hadn't even thought of.
The hotel was very clean and modern, and quite large by European standards. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was fairly spacious with a large shower separate from a bath tub. Breakfast was included in our price and had a large variety of items including bacon, eggs, and made to order coffee/espresso drinks.
We bought a travel pass which covered the vaporetto and the bus back and forth between Mestre and Venice. BTW the bus ran very frequently and the stop to go into Venice was across the street from the hotel. When we departed Mestre, we took the airport express bus to Marco Polo airport; the stop for that bus was about a block down from the hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Venice and the area, and you are looking for an excellent hotel for much less than what you'd pay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank len_leen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel because it was across from the railway station and bus stops to Venice, also because we were planning to take the train to Switzerland later
Very modern and clean with included (good) breakfast
Staff was a standout; friendly, helpful advice given with genuine wamth
Some reviewers found the area mediocre, but I fail to see why, found a great restaurant minutes away and shopping, just ask the staff what is where!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toowoomba4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here two nights before a cruise. Directly across a four lane street is the train station to venice in 10 minutes. From the airport we took the local bus, (which is a nice coach with plenty of room for luggage underneath) and were at the bus station right down from the hotel in 20 minutes. Buy the ticket inside the airport by the exit door. We walked with luggage about 100 yards straight down toward the hotel, no problem at all for us 3 with 7 bags!!! Hotel had free wifi which daughter loved, quiet room on third floor facing station, and breakfeast was descent considering the Euro just kills us when we travel!!!. Felt safe and ran the entire town of Mestre every morning including a laundry mat down the road that we used prior to the cruise. Do be aware that Train strike do happen, which we found out the morning of the cruise!! We walked across the street to the local bus bought three tickets and rode the bus right to the port. about 10 bucks compared to taxi rip off of $150 us from hotel...which were booked by serveral people that were still waiting as we got on the bus. Great hotel highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank weberskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#15 of 58 in Mestre
2,432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#7 of 58 in Mestre
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#5 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £72 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing