We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms and value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 September 2007

Great location right in front of the station, yet no noise from the traffic.
Mestre seems like some kind of industrial town, and there are lots of Asians living around the train station area. Relatively inexpensive chinese food can be found around the corner (left of the lobby entrance) of the hotel. Inexpensive when compared to that in Venice island itself!!
Ask for the south wing which is newly renovated, and with big and spacious rooms with modern decor. Kudos to the designer for putting a speaker in the bathroom!
This hotel even managed to please my fussy and critical middle-aged mother!
Only drawback was the double set of doors at the lobby. You'll know when you try going through them with all your luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pepp205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 2,353 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2007

This hotel is one short train stop (10 minutes) from the Venice Train Station. My wife and I stayed there on our first anniversary trip and were not disappointed. I have high-standards with hotels and was definitely concerned heading to Europe and hearing about how the rooms were smaller, not as clean, etc. The Best Western was a perfect hotel for the first leg of our trip.

We stayed in the Best Western three nights.... The front desk staff was very helpful throughout the stay and even had very good English-speaking skills to help (I didn't know much Italian). The rooms were extremely clean and large for Europe and had all the amenities. GREAT-sized bathroom with a wonderful shower. The bedroom had lots of room too - the only difference from a U.S. hotel was the European style bed (read: no box spring, just a mattress - but still fine). A free safe and iron board and iron (not all Europe hotels have them) was also helpful. Basically, everything was comfortable.

The breakfast here was very good too - even had hot eggs. Plus, there were more styles of juice than I could figure out and it was FREE every morning. Nice way to save a few bucks.

The train ride was fine .... 10 minutes each way for 1 EURO. I guess that wouldn't be good if you had a big family, but for a couple or singles, it was fine. The train runs so often, we never had to wait more than a few minutes. Mestre isn't a bad city (at least around the hotel), but we didn't do any "exploring" there. We ate dinner at one restaurant in Mestre the first night and it was among the best of our trip!

This "hotel snob" (as my wife calls me) would DEFINITELY recommend the Best Western in Mestre. It's a good alternative to some of the overprice hotels in Venice!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rob CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

Mestre is like Slough.
Mestre is not in Venice. Staying in Mestre to Visit Venice is like staying in Slough to visit Windsor. The best way to experience Venice is in the evening when the tourist glut has left, things calm down and you see the real thing. So stay there.

The Mestre hotel is clean and functional and like a smart 3 star, having just been redecorated, rooms are nice but not 'warm'. Bar staff very pleasant.

There ARE much much better 4 Star hotels in Italy.

food was disappointing - especially for Italy:
Evening Snack: panini dry & tasteless
breakfast eggs rubbery unseasoned
bacon fatty & not good
fruit juices medicinal
coffee REALLY bad, which is surprising in Italy

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

Hotel Bologna has some definite pluses. Easy cheap parking directly behind hotel and so very easy to park and get luggage to hotel. An efficient check in. Very near station for Venice and yet no noise from trains at all. Room very clean with decent bathrooms and good air conditioning [essential for hot August days] . Sparkling white sheets and towels. Nice bar area with cheap drinks and snacks,

However our overall impression was not wholly positive. We had booked a junior suite for us and our teenage son directly off the hotel web site. This was described on web site as having a double bed and two singles. What we actualy got was a very small room with with two singles pushed together and another tiny interconnected small room with a single bed in it [the bathroom was in between the two rooms]. In both rooms this size was such that one hardly had room to get by the beds and had to edge around side of room to get about. There was no possibility of sitting anywhere other than on the bed and three people could not watch the tv at the same time unless you all three lay on the two singles pushed together. The room decor was basic and in our view highly remiscent of a hospital side ward. As reported the breakfasts were good but one morning the queue was so long and slow moving [around 20 people in front of us] that we gave up waiting and did without. The hotel is being rennovated and hence lobby is half decorated and work was going on on stairs. Whilst not noisy this gave the hotel a messy and half finished feel.

Vencie is spectacular wherever you stay and you are obviously not going to spend much time lounging around the hotel room but if we went again we would not choose this hotel.

.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Although a little skeptical at first given it is not really in Venice, my overall experience after leaving Hotel Bologna was great.

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Bologna in early August for the start of our honeymoon. Upon arriving at San Marco Airport, we took the bus (very inexpensive) into the Mestre Station which is just across from the hotel. Although the hotel looks a little dated on the outside, the inside is very much updated. Check-in was straight-forward. We were given a fourth floor corner unit...excellent! The room was quite large and the bathroom equally spacious. The decor is contemporary with all-new furniture. A flat-panel TV has CNN International and hookups for a video camera in the wall. The hardwood floors provided a change from the usual carpet found in most places. The shower was double the size of most stalls in the U.S. The place was quite clean and a min-bar fridge is provided. At night, it was very quiet. The surrounding area does have limited restaurants to choose from so I would recommend spending most of the day in Venice (the train ride is inexpensive and no more than 10 minutes with frequent runs). The included Breakfast was one of the best of any hotel I have stayed in. The only minus was no internet access from your room thru the hotel (there is a national service that you can subscribe to for Wi-Fi but it's costs were quite high). Internet service is otherwise available only in the hotel lobby for a low fee (2 Euro's for a half-hour). The computer is somewhat out-dated with sticky keys but should be ok to check e-mail.

Our honeymoon included later stops in Florence and Rome and I can say without a doubt that Hotel Bologna was the best. I would say that it is better than most moderately priced hotels in the U.S. I would certainly stay here again. For all you fellow travelers, save the headache of navigating thru Venice's streets with your suitcases to find your hotel and consider this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hipoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western Hotel Bologna in Mestre. This should be the only place to consider staying at if you want to visit Venice. The price was great, the breakfast was wonderful, the staff were friendly and helpful and best of all the location is tremendous. Turn right out of the hotel lobby and cross the street into the train station. 10 minutes and 1 euro later you are in Venice. No parking hassles, no luggage to traipse thru narrow streets, no water taxis to drag your suitcases on and off …… it’s the easiest and cheapest way to see Venice.

The rooms are large and modern. The room features firm beds, a nice wall-mounted flat screen TV, a minibar/fridge and a safe.

Breakfast was excellent and included hot scrambled eggs, bacon, pastries, bread rolls, fruits, yogurt, juices, coffee, cold meats and cheeses, which were all included in the room rate.

If you turn left out of the hotel lobby the first building you will see is a gift shop that has a really nice assortment of Murano giftware and other nick-knacks. The owner was a pleasure to deal with and his prices and quality were much better than most of the tourist trap shops in Venice.

When we return to visit Venice we would definitely stay in Mestre and we would not consider any other place than the Best Western Hotel Bologna based on our wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TandPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

This hotel was easily the best we stayed in.

On arrival we were let into our room early. The room was really very modern and specious. All the facilities were modern and comfortable. The bathroom even had speakers in so that you could listen to music or the TV whilst showering! The bed was very comfortable and the air-conditioning was very quiet.

One of the best things about the hotel was the breakfast! The breakfast had everything, pastries, eggs, fruits, breads and meats, the most varieties of fruit juices I have seen, truly the breakfast was exceptional! The staff seemed friendly and helpful and we found the hotel location excellent opposite the train station and away from the hustle and bustle of Venice. Mestre is only 15 minutes by train or bus to Venice and the journey is lovely across a bridge over the sea. I would definitely stay here again as the hotel was excellent and also Mestre itself has some excellent restaurants including one only streets away from the Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank boozercow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#14 of 58 in Mestre
2,459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#7 of 58 in Mestre
1,397 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#3 Family Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £70 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing