We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smart Hotel Holiday
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Far from Venice”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

While this place is far from the city of Venice, the hotel is clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff is friendly. I was with a tour group, so I'm glad I did not have to do the driving. The breakfast was fine. From what I was told hotels on Venice Island are VERY expensive. I don't remember the name but ther is a VERY good pizza shop within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBR0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMARTHOTELHOLIDAY, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Smart Hotel Holiday, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your stay at the Smart Hotel Holiday.
We are very glad to read that you were satisfied with our quality of the rooms
and felt comfortable in our beds! This is very important for us!
Also we are happy to read our staff was nice and friendly.
Usually tour groups stay at our hotel as we have a very convenient location to
travel to Venice and the surroundings and 10 minutes drive to Venice Island
Hope to have you in a near future as our welcome guest we send you our best regards.
Smart Hotel Holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    241
    134
    31
    26
See reviews for
117
337
18
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is only for tour groups. It is too far outside of Venice. The hotel does have a shuttle into Venice but the times are not great. They charge for wi-fi. The food in the evening was good but breakfast is to be skipped (unless you like cut up hot dogs). The rooms have thin foam rubber beds and are compact like a college dorm. The supermarket is a 10 minute walk from the hotel (along the back alleyway and to the right at the main street).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jubliladaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMARTHOTELHOLIDAY, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hotel Holiday, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at
the Smart Hotel Holiday
We are so sorry to read your expectations regarding your stay weren´t
satisfactory.
There was probably a misunderstanding regarding wifi as we have free wifi
access to our single clients there is a rate but only regarding groups.
The Hotel is located in Mestre just 6 km outside Venice Island 15 minutes in
our hotel shuttle or 25 minutes by public transportation that runs every 10
minutes. In our website we show our location.
We are also so sorry to read that you didn´t appreciate our breakfast our
hotel serves an american buffet breakfast, we will check with our staff to try
to make the better quality standards.
For any further information please do not hesitate to contact us again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for day use only but it was just what we needed. We'd just done a weeks cruise and was on a late night flight back to Australia so we needed somewhere to drop our bags and shower. I contacted the hotel via email asking for a room for day use aand they got straight back to me. They oranized the pickup from the boat and the drop off to the airport both very good.

The room was big,well set out and the bed comfortable even though we didnt get to us them. The front desk staff,Vanesse was very helpfull and told us how to get the bus into Venice. We spent the day there but caught a cab back as we were running late.

For anyone wanting a hotel just outside Venice this hotel is the one to use. If we would to come back again I would stay here if I didnt want to stay in the heart of Venice as its half the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gidgie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My family came from Argentina to visit me to Italy and we all stayed at the Smart Hotel Holiday in Mestre. After more than 15 hours of traveling, this hotel was everything they needed and wanted: they got some good sleep and got ready for an intense couple of days of exploring Venice. Good beds, good new bathrooms, a nice restaurant of a simple menu and awesome quality of food, and outstanding staff that took care of all our needs and helped us plan our two days in Venice. They were also very flexible and accommodating of some last-minute requests and booking changes.

They sell tickets to the Venice transport network, have good maps for sale and simpler maps for free, good parking space and a shuttle that can pick you up or take you to the airport for 10 Euros.

Only thing to consider: there is no good transportation from Venice city to the area of the hotel late at night. If you are exploring Venice late, plan on getting a taxi to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiniGuaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were an extended family of 15 and the overall experience of our stay was excellent. The staff was courteous and helpful and went out of their way to arrange transport for us and our 23 pieces of luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 200Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Congratulations for the hotel website photographer because the reality is totaly different. I would rate this hotel 2 stars instead of 4. Rooms are small and old, bathroom comfort is very basic and they don't change the towels when you ask to. There is no shuttle to Venetia (public transport). The reception sells buss tickets to Venetia but, you can use the vaporetto ticket for the public transport. Staff is not friendly. Breakfast is very poor. When we checked out, the receptionist charged a few euro's more then mentioned on the bill, I noticed this when we had already left. I call this steeling!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMARTHOTELHOLIDAY, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Smart Hotel Holiday, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest, we are really sorry to read your stay with us was so terrible.
Our rooms have been refurbished one year and a half ago and a full
refurbishing was made in the 2010.
We are located in Mestre just ten minutes away drive from Venice and we DO
have a shuttle to Piazzale Roma every 15 minutes and public bus 5 minutes away
from the hotel, so there has probably been a misunderstanding.
Regarding the bill if you had any queries we could have helped you upon check
out.
At the departure you have been charged of the city tax, wich is not going to
the hotel but to the comunity.
We are also sorry your towels weren't changed when you requested we will pass
this information to the maids.
Many thanks and best regards,
Smart Hotel Holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Rude Girl at check in. The website is unclear that if your flight is in the morning, the shuttle can't take you with out notifing them the day before (10 hours wasn't enough time) The response "you can take the bus" was dumb when traveling with oversize luggage. 25euro cab ride. Also, arriving at Mestre Train station at 10 Pm with no tram available in a questionable area? Since the hotel is no where near the Train station, another 25 euros. The rooms are cute and small, and the breakfast just ok, but the extra price of taxis made it unreasonable and the check in girl, worst ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#38 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bologna
2.6 mi away
Villa Barbarich
Villa Barbarich
#1 of 58 in Mestre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel Holiday

Property: Smart Hotel Holiday
Address: Via Dell'Essiccatoio 38, 30174, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Smart Hotel Holiday 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New concept with spacious rooms and deluxe modern design standards with wi-fi and satellite TV, an excellent restaurant serving traditional Venetian food private parking and internet point, meets the needs of all types of customers being suitable to the comfort required by memorable vacation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smart Hotel Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Venice
Smart Hotel Holiday Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing